Obedience/Sacrifice

A while back I was reading my Bible and came across the following verse:  "Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the Lord?  To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams."  I Samuel 15:22
 
Obedience.  Is anything more difficult?  The command is heavy on my heart as I struggle through day to day relationships.  Why do I have to be nice to him?  Obedience.  Why do I have to offer her a ride.  Obedience.  Why?  Why?  Why?  Obedience. Obedience. Obedience.
 
The truth of the matter is that when I am obedient to God my life is so much better!  Contentment is mine because I know I have pleased my Creator.  What more does a child want than to be pleasing to his/her parent and to have His approval? 
 
Why, then, do I struggle with this?  It all comes down to the basic component of all sin:  PRIDE.  Hard as I try I can not think of any sin that does not begin with pride.   "My way or the highway," right? 
 
Well, the Lord has been quietly and not so quietly reminding me to to be obedient.  A dear friend of mine and I went out for breakfast this morning.  We got to talking and she said she was going to take a chance and tell me something that was on her mind about me.  Uh, oh.  Fear of rejection came over me.  What did I do wrong?  Well, this friend loved me enough to let me know that most of my problems would be resolved if I was obedient to God’s word.  Gulp!  First the scripture, a bunch of reminders in my day to day living and now a good friend confirming what God has been speaking to me about!  God spoke quietly to me and He spoke through someone else. 
 
Well, my pride shattered right there and then and I was near to tears (just a note – I rarely, rarely cry).   I told her that TODAY was the day that I was going to earnestly work on being obedient.  Praise be to God!  It was not a coincidence that my friend and I were both free this morning!  This was a divine appointment!
 
My day went much better than the last few have.  It is a struggle but I know that the Lord will see me through and grow me if I am obedient to Him.
 
What is your stronghold?  Whatever it is, I am certain that it is based in pride.  Think about it.  Pray about it. 
 
Blessings, g
4 responses to “Obedience/Sacrifice

  1. well, mine is also obedience, so I guess that sums it up, my being relunctant to read The Word, to pray and to testify.Yes shame on me! I know, this is my personal battle.love ya PS: The Lord speaks through His Word, prayer, brothers and sisters in Christ, the church, and circumstances, we have to remember that He is control, and that nothing that happens escapes His knowledge and perfect planblessings

  2. hi Gail, thanks for stopping by my space. Always nice to meet another Christian online. Thanks for the sharing today, obedience is sometimes so hard isn’t it? But yet when we obey, we find fulfillment, and sometimes we see a result. I will never forget the time when I felt God asking me to pray for a Buddhist Colleague. I was afraid and reluctant coz religion is a sensitive issue. I struggled against God’s prompting for several months. Finally one day, I grabbed her arm and told her I had to pray for her. I laid hands on her and prayed, and God led me to pray for a baby. She cried, coz she had been trying to conceive for a year. 6 weeks later she announced that she was pregnant! She tells me now, that it is only by miracle that God gave her a baby. Blessings!

  3. thanks for "congratulations" I hope that I pass the practical  part as easily .
     
    obedience is a hard one for most Christians I know …you are right in that when we are in God’s will things work out well
    *blessings*

Leave a Reply

