A Life Worthwhile

There are few people, in my humble opinion, more worthy of quoting than C.S. Lewis.  He was a scholar and an author; a brother and a friend; and, later in life, he was a husband and a father to his wife’s children.  His literary appeal spanned from children to learned adults.
 
If you have not yet read any of his works I would greatly encourage you to.  Some of my favorite memories are of reading the Chronicles of Narnia to my daughter.
 
blessings, g
15 responses to “A Life Worthwhile

  1. No, I’m not sleeping yet. But I SHOULD be. I think I’m going to go try now. I LOVE C.S. Lewis!! We have quite a few of his books.
     
    Nighty night!

  2. Just in the last few months I started working my way through the Chronicles.  I just finished The Dawn Treader a few months ago.  Perhaps, now that Romania is behind me, I’ll finish those last couple of books in the series.
     
    Only problem is, I’m never ready to settle in for reading into well into the night, and whenever I start reading one of these books I don’t want to stop, so I end up staying up until 3:00 in the morning.
     
    I’ve had a hankering lately, too, to watch the film again…

  3. Besides blogs and bills, it’s been a long time since I really read anything. I should get back in the habit. Maybe I’ll read Narnia to The Princess, she loved the movie.
    Ya’ll pray for us while we’re at my in-laws. If you haven’t read it already, I blogged about it (the reason I’m upset with them) in 2 entries. Can’t remember the first part’s title, the second half is named Mother In Law story resumed, I think. I normally don’t carry a grudge, but I think with them, I’m way beyond grudges, I’ve moved on to distaste and disdain.
     
    We’ll be spending Thursday (tomorrow) night in Lubbock and will be at their house Friday about noon. We’re leaving Sunday morning to meet our oldest and Baby Jack (Yay!!) in Ft. Worth Sunday night.
     
    xoxo
    Dana
     

  4. I could not agree with you more.  Screwtape letters changed how I view the things that seem so random and inconsequential in my life.  A grief observed was a companion for my own walk through pain.  Mere Christianity reminded me that the God I serve is as real as the nose on my face, and the proof as they say, is in the pudding.  Surprised by Joy renewed my hope in God’s sovereignty.  Hands down my favorite Christian author. 
     
    By the way  "What?  You too? I thought I was the only one."

  5. Hi G!
     
    I love all good authors, but yes, he is particularly very good!
     
    Have you found out what is causing household items to go missing? Hopefully that mystery will be solved soon!
     
    Hugs, Lori
     
     

  6. Hey Gail,
    I like C.S Lewis works too. Have read all of Chronicles of Narnia too! haha…I read all 7 books in two days. that’s how I am, once I start, I cannot stop.
    I’m currently reading books by John Maxwell. They are great reads too!!
    Take care A Gail! HOpe your day is blssed!
    and yay…..so being a grandmother is better than being a mother eh??? hahaha…..perhaps…perhaps….yeah, you just enjoy the child and spoil her, while mummy does all the disciplining right? haaha *wink*
    Take good care!!!!
    **hugs** 

  7. There are many good Christian authors, but the thing that really stands out about Lewis to me is the respect he has earned from critics that usually have great disdain for theology.  God works in mysterious, and wondrous ways!  -cindy

  8. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve read the "Chronicles"- the 1st time in 5th grade- now my youngest is reading them.  I admire CS Lewis for his steadfast faith & have been intrigued by his friendship with JRR Tolkien (another fav author)- I LOVE that quote! It articulates perfectly what I’ve felt when you make that connection.

  9. the chronicles of Narnia are our favourites too ….
    all ‘ours’ had them read to them until they learned to read for themselves …
    all my sons still read a lot ,so all the bedtime reading is worth it,as well as being a joy to do
    maybe I will get them out of storage ready for Fergus …lol
    *blessings*

  10. me again …just got back form ‘serf retts’ space ..ages since I visited it ..thanks for telling me amazing news …well worth sharing around
    *blessings*

  11. I have to say that after readin the first Narnia books, i just had to continue, but somewhere along the way, I lost that enthusiasm, but I think next week I’ll continue my narnia reading, take good care and I’ll tell u all about the beach weekend when i get back, lots of love, bless our Lord and miss me, I’m not that sure I will miss ya, lol!!!! :-pblessings

  12. Hey Aunty Gail, ahhh…so you discipline Bells too??? ahhh, probably half heartedly! hahaha…just teasing. 🙂
    She’s gonna love you like crazy, cos you love her. 😉
    By the way, I was just going through Huckleberry finn again with some students…..and you know, towards the end, he plays a trick with his aunt, making things disappear. She knows she’s taken out 12 spoons, but when she counts she only sees 11. She knows she’s hung some bedsheets, but they’re missing. It’s all the work of Huck. NOw, are you sure Huck Finn is not hiding somewhere in your house??? hahaa….when I read that passage, I thought of you right awaY!!!
    ok you take care and have a WONDERFUL weekend!! Lots of love to you A Gail!!!
     

  13. loved those books…
    :o) smiles easy to give away they are free… :o) very contagious… :o) so pass one to anyone … :o) to people that you love… :o) and even to those you don’t… :o) in no time the whole world will be smiling :o)

  14. Reading the last chapter of Mere Christianity.  It has taken me about three weeks to read this book as I find I must often pause and think about what is being said.  Solid theology in this book.

Leave a Reply

