Banes and Blessings

 
For the past two weeks I have found myself in a position of either cracking up or finding the silver lining in situations beyond my control. 
 
Bane:  Our clothes dryer broke and the repairperson couldn’t come out for a week. 
Blessing:  We live around the corner from a laundromat and my in-laws live not too far away and were happy for the company should we choose to use their clothes dryer.
 
Bane:  Our central air conditioning bit the dust during a heat wave.
Blessing:  We never removed the large wall a/c unit in the living room which we kept as a back up and it cools down the entire downstairs which is the majority of our living area.
 
Bane:  In checking out The Boy’s closet to see what needed to be weeded out, I found the smell that has been permeating his room:  The Girl’s cat has been using the closet as a litter box Sick.
Blessing:  The entire closet got cleaned out.  By Himself.  (You don’t actually think I have the stomach for such things, do you?  However, I did do all the wash and dried said wash at the laundromat around the corner.)
 
Bane:  I cut my finger, requiring stitches, whilst preparing dinner.
Blessing:  I haven’t had to wash dishes! Wink  
 
Although I have chosen to receive the blessings stated above, I am still fighting confusion and depression over the situation with The Boy.  I didn’t sign up for what the alcoholism of my child means in my life.  What I signed up for was to raise a child in a good home who would grow up to be responsible, get married and give me grandchildren.  What I got is the need to go through recovery for an addiction developed by another person!
 
Life is not fair.  Nope.  It is not something we are guaranteed.  As ya’ll know, I am a Christian.  As a Christian, I believe that all things will work for my good – eventually.  I do not know how this trial is going to be used in my life to further God’s kingdom.  However, with everything in me, I know that my name is "written in the palm of His hand" and that He has not forsaken me.  No matter how I put myself down, my heavenly father cherishes me and wishes good things for me.
 
Bane:  Son’s alcoholism.
Blessing:  to be seen
 
Have a blessed week, g
 
 
18 responses to “Banes and Blessings

  1. Well, You are a trooper.  I like the way you see how everything turns into a blessing.  My thoughts and prayers are with you and your son.
     
    g.j.

  2. You seem to understand it and are looking at it all very right; finding the blessings and silver linings.
     
    I’ve alway noticed that after discomfort and inconvenience that everything will eventually iron out. The fingers will mend, winter will come… a year will go by and by then it is all just a learning experience.
     
    I hope you have a good week ahead!
     
    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers too.
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

  3. hey Gail, well, don’t let your hubby know you’re well enough to blog, less he makes you wash the dishes! hahaha..
    Whatever it is with the boy, and whatever will be , you’ll know. I’ve had difficulties in my life, but I see things in a diff perspective now..especially at my plcae of work. God used it for me to understand young people better. Pray that somehow…a blessing will come of this all.
    Take good care!
    hugs 

  4. Hi G — I just happened to come across this while surfing about this weekend.   I almost forgot that I saved it in my favorites to show you.  Is it a cooincidence that you stopped to say hello and I came here to see what’s new?  After reading your blog, I just had to smile because I remembered that I saved this in my favorites for you.  Go Here.
    No, you didn’t sign on for this, but I think God know you could handle it.  No many have the strength or love for the road you travel.
    Cutting finger to get out of dishes….dare I???  : )
    Deb 

  5. That’s the funny thing about blessings, you never know what form they will come in!
     
    God Bless you today Gail,
    Amy 

  6. Gail, You can always seem to find the good in everything. I admire that about you . Your in my thoughts and prayers . Keep doing the things that make you , you.
    love Ya
    Lisa 

  7. nothing is worse than the smell of cat pee…
    *~*   :o) smiles are very contagious…  :o) not to mention free…  :o)  so pass one on to anyone every chance that you get…  :o)  before you know it the whole world will be smiling because of you… :o)   *~*

  8. Hello Gail,
     
    Blessing from your Son’s addiction: You have learned that life does have its problems and the harder the problem, the stronger God’s help is. Also, You are now able to help others facing the same situation. Life is about helping others and any thing learned can be used to help others. Whatever happens in life can be turned into a blessing.
     
    I know ALL of your Friends are with YOU & the rest of Your Family through this time.
     
    Peace & Blessings.
    rwc

  9. Ouch to your poor finger!  Bad bad kitty.. why do they always do things like this?  I hope things start looking up for you soon!
     
    Love you!!!!
     
    ~R 

  10. Hello Gail… oh, ouch to your finger… I’ve had lots of stitches, not fun! What a bad kitty, that is one of the worst smells! I love how you are keeping your chin up and striving onward, God-ward! Good for you! I have learned that sometimes it takes a while to learn just what you’re supposed to learn from certain unpleasant experiences in life… and it’s even harder when family is involved. He has definitely not forsaken you (Psalms 139). You and your son are in my thoughts and prayers… big hug -S- 

  11. I was just coming by to check and see how you’re doing as I haven’t heard from you in a while and I haven’t been able to get on the web myself much lately.
    Sounds like you’re making lemonade on most items and to be perfectly frank I have no clue how to address your last bane and blessing, so the best I can tell you is your son, your family, and you will definitely be in my thoughts. I know how devout you are and I am sure this is beyond troubling, but it sounds like you are coping better than many people.
    Good luck.
    BTW, I absolutely loved the witty entry the structure is phenomenal. One of these days I need to rip off some of the really good writers ideas so I can put something worthy up once again. 🙂
     
    Billy

  12. As I was just about to leave your site I thought of a quote which used to give me great comfort during times when I would ask this very same question.  So, I hope it gives you some consolation.Billy
    "You know, I used to think it was awful that life was so unfair. Then I thought, wouldn’t it be much worse if life were fair, and all the terrible things that happen to us come because we actually deserve them?  So, now I take comfort in the [random] unfairness of the universe.”J.  Michael Straczynski 

  13.  Oh Gail, you seem to be like a soul sister.  I’ve made a few of these posts, trying to see the silver lining in the bad and sad things that come into my life.  That’s when Lisa started calling me a Pollyanna. ha ha ha (but she also said it takes one to know one.)  I think as long as you can see the blessing in the trial you will be okay.  Good luck and hugs.

  14.  Oh Gail, you seem to be like a soul sister.  I’ve made a few of these posts, trying to see the silver lining in the bad and sad things that come into my life.  That’s when Lisa started calling me a Pollyanna. ha ha ha (but she also said it takes one to know one.)  I think as long as you can see the blessing in the trial you will be okay.  Good luck and hugs.

  15. We are only living in the middle of the story.  The Author knows the end before He ever put ink on the first page of your tale.  We must not be discouraged by our limited vision, our inability to see the end.  We comfort ourselves with this thought. The Writer of your story is Good and the final chapter has not been written.
    I believe our unseen God is much larger than the visible problems we face. 

  16. We are only living in the middle of the story.  The Author knows the end before He ever put ink on the first page of your tale.  We must not be discouraged by our limited vision, our inability to see the end.  We comfort ourselves with this thought. The Writer of your story is Good and the final chapter has not been written.
    I believe our unseen God is much larger than the visible problems we face. 

  17. We are only living in the middle of the story.  The Author knows the end before He ever put ink on the first page of your tale.  We must not be discouraged by our limited vision, our inability to see the end.  We comfort ourselves with this thought. The Writer of your story is Good and the final chapter has not been written.
    I believe our unseen God is much larger than the visible problems we face. 

Leave a Reply

