Getting Closer to an Explanation

 
It has been so hard to explain why being a grandparent is so great.  Comparing notes with other grams I find they have the same difficulty.  Therefore, it is with gratitude that I quote the delightful writer, Judith Viorst, who has given a great explanation – even though it doesn’t completely cover the emotions we feel around our grandbabies.
 
"…if motherhood is difficult, being a grandmother is marvelously simple, filling our hearts with uncomplicated happiness, our wallets with shameless numbers of photographs.  In our relationships with our grandchildren, there are fewer obligations and more enjoyment, fewer expectations and more acceptance, fewer lessons and a lot more laughter, fewer vegetables and more dessert.  It’s delicious being a grandparent.  I love being a grandparent.  Being a grandparent, which I’ve heard described as "parenthood one step removed," turns out, more precisely, to be parenthood one blissful step removed."
 
And now the feast:
 

Appetizer
On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being highest, how much do you look forward to your birthday? 

As it is a national holiday, it is something many people look forward to.  All the sales dedicated to my birth rank me up there with the presidents.  Being born December 26th is a grave responsibility but I think I have handled my celebrity well.

Soup
What is one word you don’t like the sound, spelling, or meaning of?

Plegm.  Or, as I call it, glom (pronounced "glahm" as in mom)

Salad
Do you wear sunglasses when you’re outside?  If so, what does your current pair look like?

Yes indeedy.  They are not in style but I don’t care because they are prescription and do the trick.

Main Course
If you were to write a book, to whom would you dedicate it?

That’s a tough one.  My initial reaction, though, would be Jesus Christ who dedicated Himself to me.

Dessert
Name a beverage that you enjoy.

Water, water and more water. 

I hope and pray that you have a delightful weekend and that you will find blessings in the most unlikely places.  gail

 

28 responses to “Getting Closer to an Explanation

  1.  
    I have probably shared this with you, but I used to say, ‘Wouldn’t it be great to just skip the parenting part and go straight for grandparenting?’  That was before I had Luke (whom his adoptive parents named, actually).  At the rate I’m going (he’s coming up on 16), it looks like I may make that goal :-S  🙂
     
    Love you g!
    CaroLu 🙂

  2. How sweet to ask…I’ll do an entry soon on the outcome…my back’s gone south for a few days, so I’m doin’ alot of sittin’.
     
    xoxo
    Dana

  3. Wise words.  It’s kind of like what I enjoy being an uncle rather than a parent.  I can spoil them when I want and still send them home without having to live with the consequences.  :-)Billy Paul

  4.  
    Thank g!  I’m always up for a good hug!  And, really, I have such total peace about it all as far as Luke goes.  I have from day 1.  God is good!!!
     

  5. Hi Gail, ”’Stopping with a big Hugs for you my sister. Glad your back for now. I know it hard to keep blogging sometimes with so much happening.
    Love Lisa

  6. What would you do if for every moment you were truly happy there would be 10 moments of sadness? What would you do if your best friend died tomorrow and you never got to tell them how you felt? So, I just wanted to say, even if I never talk to you again in my life, you are special to me and you have made a difference in my life. I look up to you, respect you, and truly cherish you. Send this to all your friends, no matter how often you talk, or how close you are, and send it to the person who sent it to you. Let old friends know you haven’t forgotten them, and tell new friends you never will. Remember, everyone needs a friend. dint ever leave the one u love for the one u like, because the one u like will leave u for the one they love.If you wake up in a red room with no windows and doors, DON’T panic.. you’re just in my heart!!! Send this to all the friends you want to keep forever…
    Today is Best friend Day. Send this to all of your friends, and me if I am one. If you get 7 back you are LOVED
     
    g.j.

  7. Hey G —
    NOT YOUR SCION!!  That’s a great car!  Just catching up on your blog…Bells is BEAUTIFUL but it’s hard to believe she is that big already!  She’s a little person!
     
    Just finished our week of prayer at church this week…what an awesome time it is, spending each night with the others in my church, just praising Jesus and sending up intercessory prayers…then spending quiet time with Him.
     
    Roey is up in Portland, Maine, seeing a Barlow Girl/Toby Mac concert with the youth group  – how much fun is that??
     
    Will try to blog tomorrow, right now it’s time for some Yogi Bedtime Tea and a good book.
     
    Love you !!
    Lols

  8. Hi Gail!
     
    Sorry to hear about the infection and hope that the antibio are working!
     
    I’ve appreciated the blog above and yes all written there is true. I often wonder what kind of gram I’ll be……Well same as the others I guess but surely I’ll wish to remember the passed stage of parenthood where I would feel taking out my hair off my head for every capricious behaviour.
     
    Thank you for your kind comment! Being stuck in the middle of grand parents and child is not a nice place to be…. but I’m trying to bare with it!
     
    Take care and give me feed back about your health!
     
    Kisses,
    Isa
     
    P.S Hope little Isabella is feeling better! Big Hugs and kisses for her!:o)

  9. Hi Gail!
     
    Sorry to hear about the infection and hope that the antibio are working!
     
    I’ve appreciated the blog above and yes all written there is true. I often wonder what kind of gram I’ll be……Well same as the others I guess but surely I’ll wish to remember the passed stage of parenthood where I would feel taking out my hair off my head for every capricious behaviour.
     
    Thank you for your kind comment! Being stuck in the middle of grand parents and child is not a nice place to be…. but I’m trying to bare with it!
     
    Take care and give me feed back about your health!
     
    Kisses,
    Isa
     
    P.S Hope little Isabella is feeling better! Big Hugs and kisses for her!:o)

  10. Yea for Judith, she describes it perfectly.
     
    I have a boy just like your’s at home.  He is 18, and no matter how hard I try to talk to him about responsibility and such, he feels he knows it all.  I take comfort in the fact that his 3 older siblings went through the same phase and even though they learned the hard way, they did learn about responsibility.  My kids always knew they would always have a roof over their heads, but that may be all they have.  The rest is up to them.  Hang in there!  I am!
    Deb

  11. Good morning Gail! 

    AppetizerOn a scale of 1-10 with 10 being highest, how much do you look forward to your birthday?
    Oh probably about a 5 at this point in my life.  Sometimes my birthday falls on Memorial Day. 
    What is one word you don’t like the sound, spelling, or meaning of?
    Flatulent-full of gas 
    SaladDo you wear sunglasses when you’re outside?  If so, what does your current pair look like?
    No it messes up my makeup.  Actually I do wear them when I am riding my bike. 
    Main CourseIf you were to write a book, to whom would you dedicate it?
    Yes I would agree with you.  I would dedicate it to Jesus Christ and then send a copy to my ex husband. 
    DessertName a beverage that you enjoy.
    Diet Pepsi and coffee  (not together….just one or the other…..couldn’t pick just one) 

  12. Oops I sent my comment before I was done.  I hope to have a relaxing weekend after my Friday from hell?  Didn’t you say that you were a teacher at one point.  I would love to hear your advice on some of my incidents that I experienced yesterday.  Hope you have a great weekend!

  13. I envy grandmas coz they get to spoil the kids and not have to deal so much with disciplining and bed times and stuff like that which makes ou wanna pull the hair out sometimes. haha..
    Sometimes I can’t wait till the kids are grown, at othertimes, like yesterday when I Was putting away some old clothes, I felt a little sentimental thinking my girls are growing up TOOO fast! I couldn’t let go of the clothes, so I packed them up nicely in a bag. Well, gave some away, but still kept some precious ones to remind myself of how tiny they once were. 🙂
    blessings to you and all at home.
    love
    us

  14. Gail – thanks for the comments.  I spent some time with my oldest today – he admits he needs "help" but is not ready to surrender.  God is faithful and I cling to Him despite the heartbreak.
     
    As far as grandmotherhood – I suppose I will find an amazing fullfilment when it happens but like other things in life, I hope it waits a little while longer.  I’m the age my father was when he became a grandfather – that is scary!  🙂
     
    Take care and I hope you have a great weekend!
    B

  15. And what an adorable little one to be the Grandma to!!  What a doll.  Yes, I’ve heard from many ladies than ‘grandmahood’ is the place to be…. glad you’re loving it!

  16. You are right, being a gram is just the best thing in the world.  I only wish my grandma had figured that out.  I never had much of a relationship with her.  She wasn’t much of a relationship person. 
     
    Ah the weather.  I am hoping for at least Saturday to be dry…..

  17. Ciao G.
    Loved your post here…
    How are you feeling now.. sorry to hear that you were not well. I am doing much better and I am so happy for that one, ha ha ha, I really hate to be sick… ha ha.
    Wishing you a great week in the Lord.
    …………………….l.l…………………………………….“’´´………………………….(…(`.-“’´´-.´)…)……………………)……–…….–….(……………………/……(o…_…o)….\…………………..\………(..0..)……./………………..__.`.-._…’=’.._.-.´.__…………../…….’#.’#.,.–.,.#’.#.’….\…………\__))……….’#’……… ((__/…..xxxxxxxxxxx______xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx___xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx_xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (¯`v´¯)`*.¸.*´¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•                  Hugs & Kisses                      Love                     Shelley                       xXx

  18. Oh I feel bad for Christmas babies. lol Joshua’s birthday is December 22. We always have his party early December to give some time between so it feels like it is a separate thing.
     
    Thanks for the encouragement. I do remember that song!

  19. Good call on the biblical question.  It isn’t in what normal peole consider the Holy Bible.  It is in Nag Hammadi library, so it isn’t really relavant to modern Christianity.  My bad!  I should keep it all conventional that way everyone is on the same page.
     
    Love,
    Adam

  20. hi gail, yes its a joy and pleasure being a grandparent, still things to worry about sometimes, but still not the responsibility a parent has – the cold I have it too, well cold is not a strong enough name really, where do all these germs come from, they hang on for so long too – sorry about yr car – hope you will soon feel much better, hope I will too – god bless – nita.

  21. hello,gail.bear with me that i have not been on blog for a long time- i am occupied with study-hehe
    Definitely u are a great grandparent:)
    take care
    speak soon
    Bobbie

  22. Girl, check your guestbook FAST!! I can’t believe people would post stuff like that on here! Well I guess I can… ugh.. anyway.. thinking of you. Just wanted to stop by and say hello.

  23.  
    Hi Gail,
    It’s nice to come here and read your posts.  I hope your cold is all better.  Cute photos of your granddaughter.  Thanks for the reminder to look for unexpected blessings.  I hope your day is going well.
    ~Truly
     

Leave a Reply

