Very Important

 
 
This is just too important not to get it’s own post:  http://www.snopes.com/photos/military/gebhardt.asp
 
 
11 responses to “Very Important

  1. The war may divide people’s opinions but its always heartwarming when you read stories like that of the soldier making a positive difference to the little girl’s life after experiencing such an ordeal.

  2. You are right, this is definitely too important not to get an entry of its own.
    I am so glad our society learned from the huge mistake we made during the Vietnam War.  Now at least the overwhelming majority of people support these young women and men, who are over there doing their damnedest in a tough situation, despite their feelings about the war.Thank you for sharing this.Billy Paul

  3. through tears I write this comment. There is no difference between children across borders, the problems arise because of differences parents "create".
    You can take the girl out of the Marines, but you can’t take the Marines out of the girl.  I say former to indicate that I am not active duty…and you are right, there is no such thing as an EX Marine, once a Marine, always a Marine….I just have to come up with a proper expression for a former active duty Marine (cause that’s a mouth full, I’ll tell ya!).
    OH! "the boy" runs winter track! let me know how he is doing, he looks real good and healthy. I know you are thrilled.
    hope you are up to full speed soon,
    hugs hugs,
    Sheila

  4. Thanks for posting this, very moving.  I often think about people who are different from me, they are parents too.  They love their children just like I love mine, they want the best for them and cry for their hurts just as I cry for my daughter’s.  What a great life lesson.
     
    Take care,
    Amy

  5. G.
      They are not only soldiers protecting our freedom and country but angels in uniforms. May God bless each one and send His angels to surround and protect them….. Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece….
       I would like to invite you to join my firends list. We have many of the same friends in our circle of friends.
       May God bless you and your precious family~HUGS~Marilyn~

  6. Gail – I hope you are feeling better! 
    What an amazing photo!  Compassion in action.
     
    Hope your week is full of warm Bell’s hugs and kisses!
    Take care,
    B

  7. Gail,  I never heard of using cinnamon to lower blood sugar.  Not to be too pessimistic,  I think relieving the underlying problem of stress will help.  I would venture to say when I"m on winter break, they will be lower.  Well I need to run and get this paper done!  Hope you are doing better.  Talk to you soon!   

  8. It was pretty crazy, even here and we are 300 miles away from it all.  I was just glad when they made it home safe.  They were out on the coast where it was the worst.  The town where they were staying is still out of power and most road into and out of the town are closed due to mudslides, flooding and downed trees.  It is crazy.
     
    My head…is.  I had an ultrasound yesterday and I have another ovarian cyst and multiple follicals forming.  I am beginning to think that there may be a hormonal componant to the headaches too because whenever I have a cyst on my ovary, I have a surge in migranes.  But I am hesitant to try hormone therapy because of the risks associated with hormones, migraine and stroke.  A catch 22 if you will.
     
    *sigh*

  9. Hey Gail, thought I’d seen that posting somewhere before, was it on your blog too? Anyway, here’s answers for the feast..
    AppetizerDo your closer friends tend to be male or female? Why do you think that is?  Right now, it’s women, coz I realise how important it is for women to support one another emotionally, and mentally and spiritually. At one point, before marriage it used to be mainly guys, coz they’re easy going, jokers and fun to be with.
    SoupIf you could wake up tomorrow with a new talent, what would it be? Talking non stop/boldly. 
    SaladName a household cleaning item that you would recommend to others.  Water-based vacuum cleaner. much more cleaner and no dust flying about.
    Main CourseWhat do you strive for in life?  Godliness.  I don’t work hard enough at it but it is a heart’s desire. (same as yours Gail.)
    DessertOn a scale of 1-10 with 10 being highest, how funny do you consider yourself?  It depends on whom I’m with. With some it’s about 6-8, with some 1. hahaha..
     

Leave a Reply

