Every Day Begins a New Year

 
Aren’t you happy you don’t have to wait 364 days to start a new year?  Each day begins a new one.  I believe this will be my mantra for 2008 and beyond.
 
My "Grinchiness" was cured this year!  Spending time with my side of the family the day before Christmas was a soothing balm to me.  It has been so long and the laughter and wonderful food…I can’t describe how wonderful it was.
 
Unfortunately, The Boy was sick for two weeks including Christmas.  The Girl got sick Christmas Eve.  Himself had sinus problems.  These are the reasons I refused to get sick!  Only a bit of a stomach problem for a few days but relatively unscathed.
 
We celebrated my 12/26 bd with friends at the Cafe this past Saturday.  Chef K. helped me stick with my weight loss plan by preparing my red snapper to perfection and placing it upon a bed of mesclun greens, tomato and cucumber.  Perfection!!  (It is usually served with rice and grilled veggies.)
 
Tonight an early evening with friends then ringing in the New Year ony my own as Himself has an early wake up for work.  I don’t mind.  Actually, I like quiet evenings to myself.
 
Don’t forget, D.D&D.*
 
Many blessings to all, g
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
*Don’t drink and drive.
 
All in all, a very nice Christmas season, indeed.
 
 
21 responses to “Every Day Begins a New Year

  1.  
    I’m so glad you had a good Christmas and birthday!
     
    And I sincerely do wish you the best of all God has to give in 2008.
     
    Love,
    Carol 🙂

  2. Gail, wishing you a new year filled with abundant blessings and tender mercies.
     
    We are having a quiet evening at home as well… just the way that I like it.
     
    Take care,
    B

  3. I hate it when MSN eats my comments. Where do they go???
     
    Anyway, I was saying it was kindof a "grinchy" year for me this time around, but I’m sure next year will be much better.

  4. If only people could act kind like they do at Christmas and New Year, all year round it would be so great!
     
    Glad you had a good time Gail! YOU DESERVE IT!!
     
    I wish you the very best for 2008.
     
    May God bless you and your loved ones.
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  5. Hi ‘g’  Thank you 🙂  A quiet evening is not a bad idea!..enjoy.  Happy New Year and all the very best.
     
    God’s Peace,
    Adrian

  6. that is a great idea…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  7. hi Gail, Happy New Year. 🙂 Well here it is already the 2nd of Jan and Nel officially starts kindergarten tomorrow. She asked her sister today "are you gonna miss me…I’m starting school." I suppose she has mixed feelings. Well we just got back from a wonderful trip. I uploaded all my pictures on facebook. just a few on my blog.
    Anyway, praying you’ll have a wonderful year ahead. 🙂 God blss..
    with love and hugs..

  8. Happy Belated Birthday……………don’t you just hate it though, having a b’day around Christmas?   Mine being 12/30, I don’t know whether to celebrate birthday or wait until New Year’s and celebrate both.  I had "B-day parties when I was a little girl, but when I "Grew Up" I quit having parties and just went out to eat……….BUT…….I did have a big party when I turned "50"….will probably be the last b’day party I’ll have…LOL.  Have a GREAT 2008……………….Patty 🙂

  9. Happy belated birthday, Gail!  And Happy New Year!  Maybe you should get my MIL’s recipe for chicken soup – it is SO bad that everyone in the family now refuses to get sick.  Could work for you!
    :o)

  10. Happy Birthday, Beautiful Gail!!!!
    Hope you had a great one surrounded by your loved ones. Oh, Gail, that grandbaby of yours is beautiful!!!! So is your daughter. She looked great after having the baby. Your pictures were incredible. You have a knack for getting the moment.
    I always love what you say to me. You make me feel good. I bet you make EVERYONE you meet feel good. That’s why I love you so.
    I couldn’t help but laugh out loud about your 101 things about me being out of order. It drove me nuts to. At least your not alone.
    Hope this year brings you unexpected joys and delights.
    I love you!
    always…Julieann…always

  11.  
    Hi Gail,
     
    If anyone has struggled in 2007 it is you. I know how much pain and turmoil you went through with your son. I could feel your pain as if it were my own, because you and I are alike that way, with how we mother our children that is. It hurts so bad to see them stumble and suffer. We just want to make it all right for them, and it would be all right if they would just make the choices we know they need to make. But alas, they have minds of their own, and they will do things their way no matter what we say. I think the real challenge then is to learn how to support and guide them anyway.
     
    It’s funny, but since Mike moved out he has been home more than when he lived here. A new sense of appreciation maybe? I don’t know and I am typing this in the middle of the night so forgive me my dear friend.
     
    I too wish we had gotten up your way this Christmas, but our plans were far too ambitious. At least we were smart enough to realize that right off the bat! : )
     
    Blessings to you and yours in 2008, g.
     
    Love, Liz
     

  12.  
    I’m going to try and quit smoking. I am so scared about it. Wish me luck and pray for me please? Thanks, Liz
     

  13. Hi Gail,
    You had a great time at Christmas. We did to however I have some flu that I have been batteling for too long to say.
    Blessing to you.
    Love Lisa

Leave a Reply

