…go and enjoy life…

 

I have been reading the obituaries for as long as I can remember.  Yesterday, one in particular caught my eye.  The man was only 52 years old.  For my friends who are not from this hemisphere, I explain that it is customary, for those who can afford it, to send a sizable floral arrangement to the funeral home.

In the last decade or so, it has also become common for some to ask that in lieu (instead) of flowers, a donation be made to either an organization such as the American Cancer Society or to a hospice or a church.

Back to the obituary from yesterday, it read, "In lieu of flowers, go and enjoy life.  It’s too short."  A family who has just lost a 52 year old would know that all too well.  I don’t know the cause of his death but I wouldn’t be surprised if he was sick for a long time and thought of those words himself.

Let’s learn from these wise words and try not to be negative.  Negativity has been part of me for most of my life and I have been working on having a joyful life.  Know what?  It makes going through my day so much easier!  Isabella’s birth showed me how much better joy is than sorrow and negativity.

Try it.  You’ll like it.

Let’ Feast: 

Appetizer
How many times per day do you usually laugh?  On the days I have Isabella, many, many times.  As I mentioned before, she gives me such joy that I can’t help but laugh!  Other days, depends on alot of factors.  However, around certain groups of people, like my side of the family, I tend to laugh loudly and often.  Hooray!  I get to see them tomorrow! 

Soup
What do your sunglasses look like?  hmmm…I don’t want to tell you.  Oh, okay.  I need prescription sunglasses so they are a bit out of style because I won’t get new frames – too expensive.  Let’s just say they aren’t huge but they aren’t small either.  I like to have plenty of coverage to avoid glaucoma.

Salad
You win a free trip to anywhere on your continent, but you have to travel by train. Where do you go?  Ugh.  The only thing I dislike worse than trains is planes.  However, I think I would travel through New England and maybe up to Canada to take a Maritime Province cruise. 

Main Course
Name one thing you consider a great quality about living in your town/city.  The number of programs geared towards youth.  I know that many parents over do the after school activies but it is good to know there are different interests addressed than just sports and school extracurriculars..  We have story and play time at the library twice a week for toddlers and one for pre-schoolers.  There are art courses on a Saturday and even one for age three and up!  Many more, too.

Dessert
If the sky could be another color, what color do you think would look best?  Why mess with perfection?

This week’s questions were interesting, eh?  Once again, thank you, Susie.

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone.  blessings, g

 

10 responses to “…go and enjoy life…

  1. i hope that i will remember those wise words…and possibly before i die share them with others…
    *~* :o) if you do not have a smile today… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  2. How many times laughing during day? – It depends on how many of my blog buddies have written something funny. But in general, a lot.
     
    Sunglasses? – Tortoise-colored frames with dark-green-almost-black lenses. See my picture at left.
     
    Free trip by train? – To the Canadian Rockies and Alaska in a private sleeper car.
     
    Great quality of my town? – I’ve got three. Location, location, location. Close to big city, within two hours to mountains and three hours to beach.
     
    Different color sky? – I like the sky when it’s pink and purple and mauve during sunrise. But nothing beats Carolina (or is it Duke?) blue.

  3. Very thoughtful of you to remind us of this rather young man’s departure from this life.  And I totally agree that joy can be found most anywhere if have motive to look.  A grandchild seems to be the perfect remedy for you Gail.  I laugh many times each day and usually the laughter is a result of something hair-brained I do.  Although laughing out loud in public usually draws more attention from mothers trying to protect their kids from the crazy man they perceive as having lost his mind!  I have so many pairs of sunglasses that describing them all would require more inventory than I care to take, but my favorite pair have non-reflective amber lenses that brighten the outdoors when real cloudy or near dark.  Use them mostly when hiking in the deep woods or shooting one of my long rifles in target competition.  Bet you’re sorry you asked huh!!  I’ve always loved trains so I would have to say either Alaska, Oregon or Washington state.  Switzerland would be nice, but there are budget restraints, plus I would be too tempted to spend my savings on gold ingots. Since I live on the outskirts of a very small mountain town, the advantages far outweigh the negative.  I can be in the wilderness (literally) in about 10 minutes from my driveway.  The youth in our small community are very involved with the homeless, habitat for humanity, church and the meals on wheels program we use to take food to those unable to shop for themselves.  We have a rock solid faith base here that gets together for singing old gospel songs and sharing fireplace chats after holding a brief worship service conducted by a different person each meeting.  We spend a large amount of time making lists of little things we can do to make a difference without drawing attention to ourselves.  This has been a long standing tradition in our part of the mountains, and it grows every year.   A lime green sky would be nice to view for the heck of it, but like you said, "Why mess with perfection?"   Say hello to Susie from this hillbilly in Tennessee please.  Take good care Gail.
     
    J.W.L.

  4. A; I have some very good friends. When I am with them I spend at least half the time LMAO, and the rest of the time we spend fixing what is wrong with the world. But on the days I spend by myself, there isn’t much laughter.  I try to spend as much time with my friends as possible (smiling).
     
    S; I have two pairs of prescription sunglasses, one is a brown "tortoise shell" kinda round in shape, they are my favorites.  I found them brand new in a thrift store and paid .99 cents for them. I took them to the optometrist and for the price of the lenses, they put in new prescription lenses. I have an older pair of kinda oval shaped black prescription sunglasses that border on being "Jackie O’s", just a bit bigger and they would make the grade.  I have many other that are non prescription that I wear when I use my monovision contact lenses.
     
    S; oh I LOVE TRAINS!!! I have done the east coast already. A west coast or Rocky Mountain trip would be nice. But the ultimate would be the coast to coast Canadian tour (where they have the observation decks for photography).
     
    MC; small town living, you can’t take a few steps away from your house, without seeing someone you know.  I know all the clerks at our local department stores,  I know the coffee shop owner really well, and all the postal workers in the downtown post office by their  first names. and the most important thing, they know me, by name.  that’s the best part of living in our small town.
     
    D; Oh sprinkles! you know like ice cream sprinkles or glitter.  I wouldn’t change the many colors of the sky.  But there are times when I would like to custom order sprinkles or glitter for special ocaisions!
     
    now I will try to "go and enjoy life".  Thank you G.! with hugs, S.

  5. Yep that guy must have had time to think about death… and life. And yes I do agree!
     
    Ok lets see the menu today.
     

    AppetizerHow many times per day do you usually laugh? Thanks God a lot! I mean Steven has something to do with it for sure. There is no better way to have a good laughther than to have a kid around! HH too is something and you space friends are sure a mine of laughter in your own way.
    SoupWhat do your sunglasses look like? Ehrmmmm I have sunglasses that are used mainly as a hair accessories….I know rather than let then stand on my hair they should be protecting my eyes but see I always forget them somewhere…..
    Description? Small rectangular ones with a thin frame. 
    SaladYou win a free trip to anywhere on your continent, but you have to travel by train. Where do you go?  No trains here! And I am on a small island. 
    Main CourseName one thing you consider a great quality about living in your town/city. 
    I think the water supply. It is sometimes like this. Lately we have a drought and the water supply is kind of shut during the day. So I think it will be the water supply we all so often taken for granted
     DessertIf the sky could be another color, what color do you think would look best?  errr blue is perfect, but if really have to choose a nice pale orange….
    Thanks for your comments at my space!
    Take care,
    Isa
     

  6. I love the statement in that obituary.  I have a good friend who reads the obituaries also.  Maybe to make sure she’s not in there or just to see what people are dying of.
    AppetizerHow many times per day do you usually laugh?  Too many to count.  Thank you God.  I think we laugh to survive sometimes.  I am known for my laugh and was recently told that I have the cutest giggle.     
     
     
    SoupWhat do your sunglasses look like?  I shouldn’t say this but it’s true.  I don’t wear sunglasses.  Well I do when I’m out riding my bike but that’s mainly to keep the bugs out of my eyes because I usually ride where there’s a lot of trees. 
    SaladYou win a free trip to anywhere on your continent, but you have to travel by train. Where do you go?   I would choose NYC at Christmastime.  A nice romantic getaway.  I"m not sure if I would want to take a longer train ride than that.  If so, I would go to Southern California. 
    Main CourseName one thing you consider a great quality about living in your town/city.  It is very clean and non polluted.  I am less than 1/2 mile from a 184 mile trail that I ride my bike on.  Love it….small town atmosphere but close to everything.   
     
    DessertIf the sky could be another color, what color do you think would look best?  I like blue skies but it it were to be changed…a nice light shade of lavendar would be nice. 
    Hope you have a great weekend!   

  7.  
    I read this yesterday and loved it. Came back to comment, but really have nothing to add. I loved the sentiment and I loved your answers. Liz
     

  8. AppetizerHow many times per day do you usually laugh?  it depends on whether it’s a good day or bad day. good days, lotsa times. good day /bad day, depends on whether children are cranky or good. 🙂
    SoupWhat do your sunglasses look like? plastic, thick and dark and wide to protect my eyes when driving. 
    SaladYou win a free trip to anywhere on your continent, but you have to travel by train. Where do you go?  free trip by train? ahh….. let me see, I’d East, where the islands provide good snorkelling and diving.
    Main CourseName one thing you consider a great quality about living in your town/city.  QUiet and serene.  
    DessertIf the sky could be another color, what color do you think would look best?  It’s already multi colored, esp during sunsets and sunrise. love it just the way it is, unpredictable shapes and colors..
    Well..Ill be going off to in laws tomorrow for 10 days. Praying I’ll survive. not that they’re unfriendly, coz they’re super friendly. Just the condition of room, firewors etc etc. haha…. Pray for me. God bless.
    love and hugs

  9. Appetizer:  If I am at work, I laugh CONSTANTLY.  I was yelled at by a beloved neighbor who was so stressed out, she didnt want to hear me laughing.  Yes, I still love her and she loves me!
     
    Salad:  I got my sunglasses at a TOTES store in PA.  They are tortise shell, with three metal grommets on each side.  I LOVE THEM…so much so, I have crazy-glued the left side so the lens won’t fall out.  Got them on my trip via YOUR HOUSE!
     
    Free trip to anywhere?  Wow, that would be going to Falling Waters, WV where my bestest  bud lives.  Can you say "comfortable" ?
     
    My town of Pembroke, MA is awesome…I live in an antique farmhouse with 2.5 acres, but am surrounded by the modern world a couple miles away each direction!  Plus I fully believe in the school system.  We have a mix of old world and brand new, each with a great respect for the other.
     
    I would leave the sky blue, cuz I can’t think of any other color that would be as awesome.  God made it perfect!
     
    I believe I have answered all the ??? 
     
    How about, how is your sinus headache Lols?  Ugh!  I have got an infection back again for the THIRD time, it’s awful, painful, but Colin suggested the new Tylenol Sinus and Congestion, and I have to say, it has worked wonders for me!  Yaaaaahoooo!!  Got a dr’s appt tmo at 9A — will let you know how all goes!
     
    Love you, G, and you KNOW IT !!!!
     
     
    Lols

Leave a Reply

