A New Day

 
Waking up in the morning isn’t my favorite time of day.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am now happy to be alive.  I am just not a morning person.  Never was.
 
My brother, C, on the other hand, wakes up awake.  You can call him in the middle of the night and he’ll be ready to have a conversation.  Thus the nickname my mother gave him when he was a wee tot:  Sunshine.  Oh, boy.  When mom mentioned this to his wife and daughters they took it to town!  "Hi, Sunshine!"  "Aw, Sunshine."  Poor guy.
 
Sunshine and the rest of the gang got together at the folks’ house this past Saturday because the "baby" of the family, who lives on the left coast, was in town.  It is a 188 or so mile round trip for me but is worth every second of the drive.  All four sibs were there, three out of six grandkids and one of two greatgrandkids.  Rarely was there a quiet moment and we laughed hard and long.
 
One highlight was getting to chat with Sunshine’s daughters.  It was L’s 22nd bd and we celebrated with a home baked cake – a Brooklyn Blackout cake.  Yum.  L is graduating from college this spring with a double major and dean’s list grades.  She has worked throughout college whilst living at home and we are all very proud of her – both academically of the person she is.
 
L’s sister, S, will be 18 this week.  She is the artist of the family and a bit of a rebel.  She showed me some of her art online and I have to say I am impressed.  Even though she seems to try to be tough, I believe she is really a marshmallow inside.  I look forward to seeing what choices she makes with high school graduation on the horizon.
 
I could go on and on but will end by saying I come from a very interesting family.  It is good to laugh.
 
Manic Monday
 
If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?  Clean the floors, scrub the bathtub and organize.

Has your life ever been changed by an apparently random occurrence?  I don’t believe in random occurences. 

You’re having dinner with several friends and acquaintances. They all criticize a close friend of yours (not knowing he/she is a friend). The criticism is unjustified. What would you do?  Set the record straight.  If they are truly my friends they will trust my word.

 
Thanks again, Lisa.
 
Be a blessing to someone today.  I promise it will come back to you.  g

14 responses to “A New Day

  1. So happy you are having a great time! Make the most out of it!
     
    Mondays…. if only they were not so tough to cope with. Ok let us be positive here…..
     
    If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?  bathroom no hesitation!Has your life ever been changed by an apparently random occurrence?  I do feel there is a kind of scheme out there but that can be changed…..still what we call random may not be random occurrence at all  You’re having dinner with several friends and acquaintances. They all criticize a close friend of yours (not knowing he/she is a friend). The criticism is unjustified. What would you do?  I guess I would set things straight too and change the subject politely or forcefully. I hate gossips….

  2. Glad to hear you had such fun! I love when the family all gets together. It’s so much fun.
    All three  of my answers are exactly like yours!lol
    hugs,
    Jean

  3. Glad to hear you had such fun! I love when the family all gets together. It’s so much fun.
    All three  of my answers are exactly like yours!lol
    hugs,
    Jean

  4. Hi G!  I know its been a while 🙂   You’re family sounds interesting for sure!  I never was a morning person either and not really now but try to force myself awake with coffee. hehe
    Hope you have a great day!
    (((HUGS)))

  5. A big, happy family warms my heart Gail.  So happy for you that you have that in your life.  Patty’s family is smaller, but they seem to be just like yours when it comes to laughing, sharing and taking so much pride in the grand kids.  Me, well, dysfunctional family would be almost too kind of a description, but I’m content with Patty’s family adopting me as one of theirs.  If I had a servant for an hour, I would ask the servant what I could do for them.  Have to side with you…I don’t believe in random occurrences myself.  If I were in a situation, regardless of the people I’m with, and some of them started falsely trashing my friend, I would simply excuse myself and head for the door.  Even if the accusation were true, pointing fingers and bad mouthing others behind their back is flat our wrong!!  I suppose "gossip" will turn my stomach about as fast as sour milk.  Have a great week Gail.
     
    J.W.L.

  6. Manic Monday
     
    If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?  Clean the bathroom, take out the garbage and empty the dishwasher
    Has your life ever been changed by an apparently random occurrence?  I am sure it has, I just can’t think of anything right now.
    You’re having dinner with several friends and acquaintances. They all criticize a close friend of yours (not knowing he/she is a friend). The criticism is unjustified. What would you do?   Absolutely I would set the record straight. 

  7.  
    Hi Sunshine’s sis,
     
    Love the post about your side of the family… and your answers to your feast!
     
    Liz
     

  8. Thanks for coming by my site. I have also been extremely remiss lately, so don’t even give it a second thought.
    Servant: well, I have someone come out every day to get me out. Does that count?
    Life altering event: I can give you an exact date with an approximate time. I bet you can probably even tell me what that event was.
    Disrespecting a friend: I have had this happen before, but for the life of me I can’t remember how I responded. I would like to think I would tell them why I think it’s unjustified, but it’s difficult to know until you have actually faced this scenario.
    Take care of yourself,
    Billy Paul

  9. My mother used to call me ‘sunshine’ too.  I think my mother used more sarcasm than your mother.
    1-hour- Clean the kitchen!!!!
    Random occurrance – Yep, I married a random occurance.
    Dissing the friend – Yeah, unless they were all drunk and armed… then I would just sneak out quietly… my friend would want it that way.

  10. no i havent… they were at the summer camp.. my back is way better… and i will send her an email to see when i can see them both…thanks for writin… i have missed you lotsI will try to call you soonkisses and hugs

  11. Family, cake, and lots of laughter – sounds like a fabulous day! 
     
    Love your answer to Manic Monday – you would be a faithful friend.  Many times gossip is cloaked as criticism.
     
    Take care and stay warm,
    B

  12. When my first husband and I drove cross country, we had a CB radio.  My "handle" was Sunshine and my husband’s was Moonshine.  We had alot of fun with it.
     
    An artistic rebel — how great that sounds.  If I were young, that’s what I would want to be when a grow up.  With a marshmellow heart of course.  I bet she makes things interesting for the family.
     
    I am going to check the prices on one of those light boxes you mentioned.  Anything to get out of this attitude of mine.  This is so not my personality.  Thanks for mentioning it.  I have heard of them, but hadn’t thought of it.
     
    Have a great rest of the week.  I’ll be back by on Friday for the feast.
    Deb

  13. Oh, I am so not a morning person!  My mom used to come into our (my sis’s & my) bedroom in the morning, whip the curtains open, and say in this sing-song voice "Wake up!  It’s a beautiful day in Chicago!"  (we lived in Southern California – my mom’s a goofball) My sister’s and I hated that!!  We wished we could just huck our pillows at her. 🙂 
       Glad you had fun with your family!

Leave a Reply

