Safe Haven

 

When I need a break from the action, I give my folks a call and plan an overnight trip to visit them.  Their home is my safe haven from the crazy life I lead.  I took one of these trips this past Wednesday. 

Up until recently, I needed to have some kind of background noise at all times; television, radio, whatever.  Now that I am mostly comfortable with my thoughts, having a quiet place like my parents’ house to recharge is a stress reliever.  We actually spent the afternoon talking.  No television.  Just good old fashioned conversation.  Then a bit of reading, Mom starting dinner preparations and Dad finishing them whilst the news was on.

In the morning, Mom and I did a bit of shopping then I headed home, recharged.  Thank you so much, Mom and Dad.  I needed that.  Everyone needs a bit of "parent pampering" at times, don’t you think.  Even if you don’t have your parents with you, you need someone who will give you a place of respite.

Do you have safe haven?  I’d like to hear about it. 

Let’s feast:

Appetizer

Name one thing that is unique about you.  My soul.  God knew me before I was born and he made me a unique human being in whom He delights.

Soup

Fill in the blank: My favorite ______ is _______ but I like ________, too.  My favorite food is chocolate but I like caramel, too. Wink

Salad

What colors do you like to decorate with?  I am a big fan of a deep brick color.  It is a repeating theme in my living room.  Also, a soothing green.  It took me three years to find a wall color I like for my living/dining room; a Martha Stewart color, Georgica Beach.  At different times of the day, it looks different colors.  My parents just painted their family room the same color and my sister has been known to paint a room or two with it as well. 

Main Course

Who do you talk to most often on the phone?  Himself.  It seems he can’t go more than a few hours without hearing my voice.Confused

Dessert

What level of responsibility do you have in your job?  The highest there is in the world.  Being a homemaker is being the heart of the home.  "When Mama ain’t happy, ain’t noboday happy."

What’s up for the weekend?  I have training tomorrow morning for the ESL (English as a Second Language) program I volunteer for and then, in the evening, we will be joining our bcf (best couple friends), G&P, for a postponed Valentine’s dinner.

I hope and pray that you have a safe haven in Him, gail

 

12 responses to “Safe Haven

  1. You are truly blessed to have a safe haven with your parents- just what the Doctor ordered.
    Unique about me? My photographic memory- both a blessing & a curse
    My favorite season is Spring, but I like Autumn, too.
    I decorate mostly with green- you’ll find it in every room of my house- wheat gold & lots of red accents.
    I talk with Sam the most on the phone- he calls me everyday after school & checks in frequently when he’s out & about.
    I have a fairly high level of responsiblity at work; being one of only two accounting people & having over 10 years with the company, everyone depends on my memory, my abilities, & my commitment- I have almost total autonomy & vitually unlimited access.

  2.  
    So glad things are looking up for you, Gail. My mom is my safe haven too. I wish my dad was still alive. He was always my rock. Much love, Liz
     
    PS: I really miss our chats.
     

  3. how wonderful that you have that haven and that your family understands your need for it! 

    Appetizer – Name one thing that is unique about you. My self. All the experiences I have had in my life have made me the person I am and there is no one else exactly like me.
    Soup – Fill in the blank: My favorite ______ is _______ but I like ________, too. My favorite footwear is (fun) socks but I like (fun) boots too.
    Salad – What colors do you like to decorate with? soft colors – I have so many pictures and stuff on the walls that I need a muted background for them.
    Main Course – Who do you talk to most often on the phone? My friend Toni who I generally talk to every day
    Dessert – What level of responsibility do you have in your job? A fair amount – I make decisions that affect peoples lives.
     

  4. Mmmm chocolate and caramel. I’ve been eating so bad lately! I have to slow down. lol I made chocolate chip cookies after dinner tonight!

  5. I knew there was one blog I hadn’t read yet this week, my bad, anyway…AppetizerName one thing that is unique about you? – Well I haven’t seen anyone who can roll their eyelids inside out. I’m also working on curbing my indecisiveness. I’m uniquely extremely irresolute.SaladWhat colours do you like to decorate with? – Me, decorate? I’m allergic to all matters DIY. I‘ve instructed people to decorate in mainly neutral colours with the occasional light blue/green/yellow but definitely not red.Main CourseWho do you talk to most often on the phone? – My boss, I’m now thinking working from home perhaps wasn’t such a bright idea after all.DessertWhat level of responsibility do you have in your job? – There’s a gloried title of ‘manager’ in my current job role but it’s merely just a title. In my next job I aim to be the cream of those Writers Guild folks who have recently just ended their strike I believe.

  6. You are a woman of few words and it is one of your more attractive qualities.  My safe haven is the book of Matthew, chapter 5-7.  Estranged from all blood family, including my mother and only sibling (a younger brother), I really have no one with whom to chat other than Patty.  The sights and sounds of nature a very vocal a visual safe havens for me.  Glad you are recharged and feeling refreshed.  We all need our times of serenity…..J.W.L. 

  7. my mom’s is the safe haven too…isn’t it weird that most of us resort to where we were a child to feel safe…i hope my kids feel that way too…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  8. hi G, i go to my mum’s very often too. For me, it’s relaxing there, esp when my dad is home. 🙂 and my mum always makes good food. 🙂
     
    As for the feast:

    Appetizer
    Name one thing that is unique about you.  …..hmmm….I play the piano by ear??
    Soup
    Fill in the blank: My favorite ______ is _______ but I like ________, too. My favorite hobby is reading, but i like a whole lot of other things too.
    Salad
    What colors do you like to decorate with?  i like deep brick color too, but mostly decorate with off whites, warm yellow/beige. that’s for the walls. to spice it up, I throw in a few pillows with vibrant colors like glittering blue, green, red. and to top it off, I usually put in one or two house plants to complete it.
    Main Course
    Who do you talk to most often on the phone?  my hubby.
    Dessert
    What level of responsibility do you have in your job?  the same as yours G. 🙂 and the other is to make sure my students past the test! after all they pay me fees and a large sum of money to the Exam boards to sit for all these music exams.
    have ablessed weekend G. 🙂
    hugs…

  9. A safe haven……Well since my parents are both in heaven now….I have mentioned my dear friends, F & J, on my blog before.  I enjoy spending Sabath with them.  They treat me as if I am family.  It’s a good feeling. 
     
     
     
    Appetizer
    Name one thing that is unique about you.  My 2 crooked pinkys.  It’s genetic.  My Dad had crooked pinkys and a few in his family.  None of my brothers have them.   
    Soup
    Fill in the blank: My favorite ______ is _______ but I like ________, too.  My favorite color is yellow but I like purple, too.   
    Salad
    What colors do you like to decorate with?  Currently, navy and dark green.  But I can’t wait until I have my own house so I can paint the walls.   
    Main Course
    Who do you talk to most often on the phone?  My friend, Kathy.  We talk almost every evening. 
    Dessert
    What level of responsibility do you have in your job?     Hmmm that’s a good question.   But I think a pretty high level with preparing future nurses.   
    Hope you have a great weekend!  I’ve updated my blog…..
      
    Is that too big?  LOL….

  10. My safe haven has got to be the seashore, the pounding sounds of the waves…that sound that doesn’t leave you ’til you drop off to sleep at night.
    A: my resilience…I don’t let things get me down for too long (and even when I am upset or down about something…I know it is temporary and usually a necessary thing to feel, in order to fix something and move ahead).
     
    s: television/British Comedy/Masterpiece Theatre
    s: Williamsburg Colors the Blues and greens
    MC: my BF, we can talk for hours!
    D: I have begun to delegate authority there, I am regressing, I am letting Dad do the dirty work now!
    I had a great weekend, with friends Friday evening, I worked and did errands and shopping on Saturday, and I am catching up with my blog friends today!
     
    Thank you so much G. for your sweet comments, I hope you have a great start to your week! hugs, S. 

Leave a Reply

