Snow Day

 
We are finally having a significant snowfall in our part of the Great Atlantic Northeast.  It is so quiet outside.  So peaceful. 
 
God tells us that faith through Jesus Christ will make our sins "whiter than snow."  Imagine that.  No fear of the afterlife because we have been adopted by the One who can blot out our sins.  That security gives me such peace.
 
Let’s feast:

Appetizer

Have you ever played a practical joke on anyone?  If so, what did you do and who was your victim?  I am sure there have been a few over the years.  The only one I can think of is putting a teddy bear under the arm of a guy friend who had fallen asleep on the couch and taking a blackmail picture.  A bunch of teenagers together having fun.   

Soup

What do your salt and pepper shakers look like?  Don’t have them.  I have a pepper mill and a salt cellar. go to full imageI am spoiled and only like freshly ground pepper and Kosher salt.

Salad

Where is the next place you plan to visit (on vacation or business)?  "There’s no place like home.  There’s no place like home."  (click, click, click)Dorothy Ruby Red Shoes  I’ll probably go down by my parents again in a few weeks for a "recharge."

Main Course

What kind of lotion or cream do you use to keep your hands from getting too dry?  I picked up a lovely, organic lavendar scented hand cream.  Soothing.  Otherwise, I like Avon’s Moisture Therapy.

Dessert 

Make up a dessert, tell us its ingredients, and give it a name.  Dark chocolate, bittersweet chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate.  Layered.  Chocolate Bliss…….(How to Taste Dark Chocolate)3 Kg 70% Cacao Bittersweet Couverture Slab

I had fun with this feast.  Finally, I got the pictures to post.  Can you see them?  As usual, thank you, Susan, for the Feast questions.  I just noticed that she has something called the Friday Fill-in.  Here goes:

Friday Fill-Ins #60

1. Coming home is the best thing about traveling.
2. I love a hot cup of tea when I’m cold.
3. I often use garlic when I cook
4. I’m reading Walls of My Heart; I have been helped greatly by it. 
5. My good deeds is something I dislike talking about.
6. When I visited Colorado Springs, I most looked forward to seeing Focus on the Family.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to being snug and warm in my little home, tomorrow my plans include an ESL (English as a Second Language) training class and Sunday, I look forward to attending church and having lunch with some lady friends.

Phew!  That took a while, eh?  I so look forward to reading your answers.  Stay safe, gail

  

 

10 responses to “Snow Day

  1.  

    Hi G…
    We are on our second snow (mostly ice) day here. Fortunately, our temps will be back near 60 degrees on Monday.
    Is it just me or is dry skin more of a problem this year for a lot of us?
    Is it because I’m getting old?
    You all have a nice weekend,
    Greg
    Thanks for the reminder…Time for some Chai tea
     

  2. Yes, I can see the pics in your blog. Our ice has mostly melted this afternoon. Stay warm. Here are my answers:
    Practical joke – I went all out for April Fools’ Day once and made supper that looked like dessert and dessert that looked like food. It worked until I cut into the "cake" and everyone saw it was meatloaf iced with mashed potatoes.
    Salt & pepper shakers – They’re my grandmother’s set. They look like typical diner-style shakers.
    Next place to visit – Summer-long vacation with my kids on the old Route 66 from Chicago to Flagstaff, then to the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, Devils Tower, Mt. Rushmore, Badlands, then back home. Hubby will join us for the week at Yellowstone.
    Hand lotion – Vaseline Intensive Care
    Dessert – Berries, plums, summer fruits in a anise-ginger-infused clear sweet soup served cold on a hot summer night. It would be called Summer Fruit Soup. I’m not very creative with the name today. LOL

  3. G, I love this big old country myself.  I’d never make fun of something or someone I didn’t like….OK, OK, I know we are supposed to love our enemies, but frankly, some are just harder to love than others…grin.  Knowing that we are going to spend all of eternity in His presence is the most amazing peaceful thought for those of us who have no doubts as to His love and grace.  Guess that’s why we don’t rest on our salvation huh?  Now for the practical jokes….Gail, this is a G-rated space so think I’ll pass on that revelation until I can remember one suitable for your list of honorable friends…blushing here!!  I’ve forgotten the best thing about traveling because Patty and I have been stuck at home way too long.  Hot chocolate is hard to beat when I’m cold.  I use lots of imagination when I cook.  I’m reading The Spiritual Secrets of Hudson Taylor for about the fouth time as a reminder of the importance and  commitment to missonary work requires actions more than words and to become one with those you have been sent to support.   Like you, good deeds are best done in quiet service of love.  When I visited Charleston S.C. for the first time I looked forward to seeing the historic Battery Park.  As for the weekend, I look forward to seeing what it will bring.  Stay snug and warm my friend.
     
    J.W.L.

  4. Friday YAY!!!
    Appetizer- Lots of time but what comes to mind was calling my brother on April Fool’s day to bail me out of jail.  I was kind of irritated by how unsurprised he sounded.
    Soup – They are round and clear and look like something that was stolen off the room service cart.  Shhhh!
    Salad- I’m hoping from some place tropical but it will probably be my mother’s.
    Main Course – Neutro*gena Hand Cream… the BEST!

    Dessert – Chocolate, coconut, carmel, fudge and pecans.  I would probably call it Pancreatic Suicide.
     
    Have a great weekend, G!
     
     

  5. Appetizer – Have you ever played a practical joke on anyone? If so, what did you do and who was your victim? I told a friend that a fella she was interested in but had not yet met was a dwarf. I was quite convincing and she fell for it, hook line and sinker!
    Soup – What do your salt and pepper shakers look like? Little canning jars with handles
    Salad – Where is the next place you plan to visit (on vacation or business)? I’m giving some serious thought to Vegas
    Main Course – What kind of lotion or cream do you use to keep your hands from getting too dry? Satin Hands by MaryKay
    Dessert – Make up a dessert, tell us its ingredients, and give it a name. sorry, I got nothing!
    Friday Fill-Ins #60
    1. Having room service is the best thing about traveling.2. I love snuggle in front of the fireplace when I’m cold.3. I often use humor as a way of hiding what I really feel. 4. I’m reading Dance of Connection; I have been helped greatly by it. 5. My financial situation is something I dislike talking about.6. When I visited Vancouver area, I most looked forward to seeing The Olive Garden restaurant7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to a hockey game, tomorrow my plans include going to a sledge hockey game and Sunday, I look forward to attending church and having a relaxing day.

  6. Hi my friend!  Sorry it’s been awhile since I’ve stopped by.  I’ve been MIA from the blog scene lately.
     
    My answers:
    I have played a practical joke.  Once on Halloween a friend and I went around to other’s friends homes and cars and did funny things.  My favorite was petroleum jelly under the door handles of my ex-boyfriend’s car.  He he
     
    Salt and pepper are both in grinders.  They are store bought and I like them fresh too.
     
    Next place to visit would probably be Tennessee.  We always find ourselves there around memorial day.
     
    I like this flowering herbs smell from Bath and Body works.  I have lots of lotions but don’t use them often as they start to give me a rash for whatever reason.  I prefer baby oil.
     
    Cherries, bananas, strawberries and melted chocolate.  Named fabulous!
     
    Take care,
    Amy
     
     
     
     

  7. thank you for sharing that with us…i love reading more about my friends here…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  8. AppetizerHave you ever played a practical joke on anyone?  If so, what did you do and who was your victim?  This is my forte. While at university I printed out a notice about a missing pet salamander snake on April 1st & everyone ran out of their dorms in fear. I was a bad apple I know.SoupWhat do your salt and pepper shakers look like?  Like regular sugar bowls.SaladWhere is the next place you plan to visit (on vacation or business)?  Canada.Main CourseWhat kind of lotion or cream do you use to keep your hands from getting too dry?  I used the other half’s stuff when she was in the picture. Don’t tell anyone I use lady products.Dessert Make up a dessert, tell us its ingredients, and give it a name. I’m not too keen on cream or chocolate, but if is fruit based, I’ll have it. I’ll call it a Timish Delight.Friday Fill-Ins #601. Experiencing different cultures is the best thing about travelling.2. I love a few minutes of air guitar when I’m cold.3. I often use my left hand with the PC mouse. 4. I’m reading Gail’s recent blog entry; I missed it earlier as I was tending to my pet emu. 5. My exploits is something I dislike talking about.6. When I visited London, I most looked forward to seeing the queen, but she wasn’t being very social.7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to relaxing, tomorrow my plans include a trip to the local watering hole and Sunday, I look forward to seeing my team, Chelsea win but sadly they didn’t, grr..

Leave a Reply

