Experience: Who’s the Best Teacher?

 

"Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test
first, the lesson afterwards."

Vernon Sanders Law


Once again, the Brat Factor Surprise (www.thebratfactor.com) has come through with a great quote.

It reminds me of something I learned a while ago; use others’ experience to help you out.  When I was a new mother, I didn’t hesitate to ask my mother for advice.  After all, I hadn’t ever been there before!

 
Had I kept this up this attitude I wouldn’t have had alot of the heartache I experienced later on in life.  To learn from others’ experience through the filter of God’s word can save a person grief.  I could tell you stories…….
 
…..but they can wait for another day.  Today is Manic Monday!

What is one thing that you wanted to do this past summer but didn’t?  Relax.  With my son’s stint in rehab., tension reigned.   

If you lived a hundred years ago, what job would you’ve had?  Probably the same one I have now;  homemaker and caring for Isabella twice a week.  Of course, I would have outside help for all of the chores modern applicances now take care of! 

What are some of the most persistent and challenging obstacles in your everyday life?  Number one would be disagreeing with Himself about The Boy.  We have very different views on consistency in discipline.  Another would be fatigue from fibromyalgia.  However, "I can do all things through Christ who lives in me."

Well, my Isabella just arrived and isn’t too thrilled when I am on the pc so I will now wish you a wonderful week.  Stay safe. 

g

Just got some sad news.  "The Cafe," where we have breakfast twice a week with Isabella is closing soon. Crying  They will reopen down the street but it will be more of a coffee/pastry shop.  Disappointed 

9 responses to “Experience: Who’s the Best Teacher?

  1. ha ha ..sweet Isabella .Our grandchildren are a joy ( in small doses )fergus hates  anyone on the pc except him !…he wants to look at disney pixar & thomas tank engine  He knows all the car & train names ..I have to read the names ..lol
    just dashing around & making an effort to return some comments .Hoping to have a visit from our eldest & his wife & william next weekend …maybe I will get photos of fergus & william together …we may have to glue fergus into position first though as it is tricky getting a front view of him just now ..
    hope your day is going well ,whatever you are doing
     
    love and blessings

  2. sorry to hear about the cafe…it’s sad when you find a cozy place and it leaves you…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  3. what an awesome quote!  and sorry about your cafe closing 😦
     

    What is one thing that you wanted to do this past summer but didn’t? Go to Lloydminster – I really need to spend some time there
    If you lived a hundred years ago, what job would you’ve had? Dance hall girl?? I’m not overly domestic so home maker is out …
    What are some of the most persistent and challenging obstacles in your everyday life? Right now, getting through the day without a major mood swing is a challenge

  4. Hey G, strange but I’ve not heard any American asking me how’s the "tricks". What does it mean? Anyway, ah, poor you, your cafe turned into a pastry shop? ahhh..you should beg them to rethink that move. haha…
    What is one thing that you wanted to do this past summer but didn’t? no seasons here, it’s summer all year long.If you lived a hundred years ago, what job would you’ve had? ……musician? anyway, I’m glad I didn’t live a 100 years ago! What are some of the most persistent and challenging obstacles in your everyday life? lack of sleep….and like you fatigue and back pain. 😦
    anyway…update from this part of the world…we’re having major elections this coming weekend…I’m going out to vote…..and this election is really crucial in a lot of ways…God bless and take care.

  5. Hello gail,
     
    Money reigns and sometimes people think they can make more by changing locations and formats – gain the youth, lose the regulars who could keep a place going.
     
    Peace & Blesings.
    rwc
    I agree with elections – worldwide.

  6. Sorry about your cafe.  That is just so not fun!
     
    I agree with you, the Bible says if we walk with the wise we will grow wise.  It is so true!!
     
    And my answers are…
     
    1.  I can’t think of anything I wanted to do but didn’t.  Hmmmm…I didn’t go swimming but a couple of times and I really do like swimming.
     
    2. I’m a woman so I’m sure I’d be a housewife, just like I am now.
     
    3. My peanut can be a handful.  She is very strongwilled and it can be exhausting at times.  But, I’m just glad she’s healthy and smart.  It will all work out in the end!
     
    Take care,
    Amy
     

  7. Always sad when a favorite place closes down such as your cafe.  The coffee and pastry appeals to me, but then again, there is not much I don’t like food wise.  As for Isabella not liking when you are on the PC…well, just wait until you have to surrender it to her completely..grin.  I’m so glad you have the joy of her in your life.  Be well and listen to your heart.  Give Joe a salute for his service to our country.  Truly hope all is well.  
     
    J.W.L.

Leave a Reply

