Losing

 

"When wealth is lost, nothing is lost.

When health is lost, something is lost.

When character is lost, all is lost."

Billy Graham

Just before Thanksgiving, I started a weight loss plan.  So far, I have lost about 28 pounds of the goal of 45.  Hallelujah!  (I do believe you are finding those pounds, Aimee!  Only yours is baby making poundage!)  I suppose I am telling you this because, in the scheme of the above quote, it is all relative.

Monetary wealth is fleeting.  Physical health is not a guarantee.  When we compromise our character, we compromise everything.  I can lose those pounds and then gain them back.  Once I cheapen my character I lose respect from myself and others.

Life can be hard but a noble character can help to ease your way because you will be known as trustworthy.

A matter for prayer:  Bells was assessed by an early intervention team because her speech is very delayed.  She is behind in many things as much as ten to twelve months.  Gross motor skills – fine.  Speech, interaction, etc. delayed.  The team was quick to point out that this is not indicative of her intelligence.  She is so active that she doesn’t take the time to learn things!  Please pray for wisdom for my daughter and all of us who interact with Isabella to do the right thing and work hard with her as the team works with her to get her up to age level.

Let’s feast:

Appetizer

If you could be any current celebrity for one whole week, who would you want to be?  I don’t believe I would accept this "gift."  I like my anonymity.

Soup

On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being highest), how much do you enjoy talking on the phone?  I would have to day a two.  I think of it as a necessary tool but would rather speak in person.

Salad

Name a charitable organization to which you have donated (or would like to).  G…… Pregnancy Center.  Helping women help their babies.

Main Course

What is a food you like so much you could eat it every single day for a month?  Chocolate.  Only a little each day.  Dark chocolate.  You know.  The kind that is good for you.  Open-mouthed

Dessert

Have you or anyone in your family had the flu this year?  Thankfully, no.  I heard that this year’s vaccine was only 40% effective.  I am so happy we were spared.  So far, at least.

Hope that the weekend brings you rest, recreation and whatever else you and yours need.  Blessings from the Great Atlantic Northeast, gail

 

11 responses to “Losing

  1. Omega was much the way you describe Bells.  Her motor skills were off the chart… but speech was way behind.  She walked at 9 months, could draw a circle and tie her shoes WAY before she was supposed… but hardly talked at all.  Her dad and I now realize she was just saving it up.  Oy, now that girl is only quiet when she sleeps.
     
    Appetizer – I would like to be Bill Gates for a week.   I think another perspective is always so interesting and trust me, my life is nothing like Bill’s.
     
    Soup – 1 or 2.  I am just not a talker period.  I much prefer to write because it gives me a chance to get my foot out of my mouth before other people see it.
     
    Salad – Best Friends Animal Sanctuary… a haven for pets that have been ruined by people.
     
    Main course – Chocolate covered cinnamon bears.  Don’t knock them if you haven’t tried them.
     
    Dessert – I think so… my husband definitely… the daughters and I had something but it only lasted a few days so… ???  Another reason I am glad basketball season is over.  Do you have any idea what comes home from that gym floor?
     
    Have a great weekend!!!!

  2. She’ll be in my prayers. As well as you and her mom. Here’s to the feast!
    Celebrity for a week – I’m with you on that one.
    Talk on phone – 4 (when I have to, prefer over coffee)
    Charitable organiztion – Carpenter’s Shelter, a local homeless shelter for women and families
    Favorite food – Popcorn (practically everyday)
    Flu – Yes, Hubby got it so bad it developed into pneumonia and meningitis.
    Have a great week, Gail!

  3. good for you…and yes i am gaining the pounds…ha ha ha…
    *~* :o) everyone smiles in the same language… :o) *~*

  4. Congrats on your weight loss, Gail and good luck with the rest.  What plan are you following, if I might ask.
    I will keep Bells and her team (which includes her Mom and you) in my prayers and hope they find a way to bring her up to speed.
    Appetizer – If you could be any current celebrity for one whole week, who would you want to be? Bill Gates – just until I was finished shopping LOL
    Soup – On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being highest), how much do you enjoy talking on the phone? I would say 8 or 9, remembering that all my family and a good portion of my friends are far away.
    Salad – Name a charitable organization to which you have donated (or would like to). Crisis and Information Line – I was a volunteer paraprofessional phone line counselor for 10 years
    Main Course – What is a food you like so much you could eat it every single day for a month? Chocolate.
    Dessert – Have you or anyone in your family had the flu this year? hopefully I don’t jinx myself by saying fortunately I have NOT had it

  5. I would like to be Oprah (see what is is like to live as a billionaire).
    phone…1
    Make a wish foundation
    chile (red or green)
    Yes, my hub and kids all got it.  I didn’t (shocking).  None of us received the flu shot either.  I was pretty lucky cuz that was an awful flu!!!
     
    Congrats on your weigh loss.
     
    g.j

  6. Gail:  Wow!  28 pounds – that’s wonderful.  You are over half way there, keep up the good work!
     
    Feasting…
    1. Appetizer:  I really have no desire to be someone else.  I would want to be "Me" but only famous so I would have an audience to listen to the things that are important to me such as what Christ has done for me.
    2.  Soup:  3.5
    3.  Salad:  Teen Challenge
    4.  Main Course:  Only if I wouldn’t gain a pound – cake!
    5.  Dessert: No flu, thank God.
     
    Take care G!
    B
     

  7. Good job on the weight loss!  Good for you.  I’d like to lose 50lbs.  Hmmm sorry to hear about Bells.  I’ll keep her in my prayers.  Need to get busy here.  I enjoy doing nothing on the weekends….lol.  Ok hope you are having a nice weekend. 

  8. hey Gi have missed u and there are some things goin on in my life.. i am comin back to youth group and officially we have begun our year… remember that here our school year goes from march till mid december…we´re still in summer and n friday we had a storm… lots of rain that helped agriculture ppl with their crops and to santiagos pollutiona hug and one kiss♥

  9. That’s a great job on losing weight.  It’s not too fast and probably pretty sustainable.  My mother managed to lose 50 pounds last year and has kept it off.  I’m about the same, but every time I go on a diet I end up losing more of my legs and arms, but then again I can’t lose much more.
    I just wish that damn stomach would get a little smaller.  Possibly my face also.Oh well, at least I’m happy.Billy Paul

  10. wow, what’s the secret of your weight loss G? give me some tips! I’m like stuck at the current weight, and cannot get past it.
    How’s Bells doing? Is she with a therapist for her speech? Praying she’ll pick it up quickly…  it’s still hard to say at 2 and half. Like you said, she’s probably so active doing things that speech is not a priority yet. I had a friend who’s child did not speak till 3 and half. but when he did, boy did he speak non stop!
    God bless and keep you all safe.
    hugs
     

Leave a Reply

