Worth the Pain…..

 
When a  person gets to a certain, uh, age, it becomes necessary to submit oneself to age appropriate medical testing.  At age 40, women need to become two-dimensional pancakes in order to screen for breast cancer. Ten years later, men and women alike are asked to subject themselves to a complete "flushing" of their colons in order to be screened for colon cancer.
 
I am not complaining, mind you.  Having once been a smoker for many years I am aware that there is a possibility of cancer lurking somewhere in my body.  Also, living in the area in which I do which has a lot of industry and which is at the end of the gulfstream which dumps the midwest’s pollution off in our air space adds to the high incidence of the gene altering disease.
 
My point?  There is little that feels better than having one’s medical tests all come back negative.  Yesterday’s colonoscopy prep. caused alot of lost sleep and cramping but, when the doctor told me that I am healthy, it was well worth the discomfort and inconvenience.  Phew.  Another bullet dodged.
 
Can’t say the same for my friend, N.  She has survived a double mastectomy and is now fighting non-hodgkins lymphoma.  Never a smoker, her mom died young from breast cancer and her oldest son survived his battle with non-hodgkins lymphoma.  They lived in a town whose groundwater was tainted from a large pharmaceutical company.  Please pray for her as she battles this horrid disease.
 
Don’t put off your medical screening tests!  I want you around for a very long time.

Appetizer

On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 as highest), how much do you like your own handwriting?  I’d say about a 7.  I used to imitate my mom’s handwriting and she used to imitate her dad’s. 

Soup

Do you prefer baths or showers?  As Clark Gable once observed, why soak in your own dirt?  Give me a shower any day.

Salad

What was the last bad movie you watched?   I didn’t.  We started to watch Matchstick Men and it was bad enough to turn off.  I can’t be bothered with bad movies or bad books.  There’s too much good stuff out there.

Main Course

Name something you are addicted to and describe how it affects your life.  Carbs.  I crave them and became overweight because of them.  Now it is a daily battle to keep the weight off and eat a balanced diet.

Dessert

Which instrument is your favorite to listen to?  Hmmm….I would have to say guitar because I love to listen to my son play.  It does my heart good.

Have a wonderful weekend, dear people.  Please take good care of yourselves.  g

 

13 responses to “Worth the Pain…..

  1. Just had my mammogram yesterday! Now for your feast (I love Fridays)…
    Handwriting – 10 when I take my time, 5 when I rush.
    Showers or baths – Mostly showers, but to completely relax I’ll take a bath.
    Last bad movie – Gosh, I can’t remember. Some of those direct-to-DVD kid movies are pretty lame in both writing and acting. I usually leave the room soon after the opening credits.
    Addiction – Twisting my hair. I’ve been doing it since I was a baby. I know it’s bad for my hair. But when I try to give it up (like for Lent this year), I feel anxious a lot more. It’s a soothing mechanism.
    Favorite instrument – It depends on my mood. I love the first opening measures of Rhapsody in Blue on the clarinet. Other times it’s the strum of an acoustic guitar. But mostly it’s the piano. But after the last two weeks, I probably should say the pipe organ at church, which Daughter #1 just started lessons on. Nah, it’s still the piano.

  2. Hi Sweet G.!
    Ah the boobie smoosh! I am scheduled for one here soon, have put it off for almost 2 years, I hate them, but you are absolutely right, gotta put on the big girl panties and act like a grown up sometimes! So so glad you got those wonderful results!
    A: it took me a few years to like it (you know make little changes here and there) but then of course when I was pregnant with my last one, I took up Calligraphy and eventually got good enough to teach it at the Community College level…
    S: oh a give me a loofah, a bar of lavendar soap and a bath, and I am in heaven! of course I always shower off with fresh water after a bath!
    S: Bad movie…I know there was one that we all went to at the theater and I was really sore that I paid that kind of money to watch that kind of drivel…just don’t remember what it was…have a tendancy not to hang on to the negative.
    MC: oh that is easy…Running! used to be cigarettes, but I have wizened up in my old age…hope I get the chance to get there (my old age)! HA!
    D: I love many instruments, fiddles to pianos to harmonicas BUT, sometimes a french horn (like what you hear in a few pieces of soundtrack of National Treasure) sounds so very regal to me and maybe I love it best because it is not something you hear very often, and I have never known anyone who plays the french horn! Have you?  When you can pick out a french horn in a piece you are hearing for the first time, to me it is like a old friend come back for a visit!
    Well, have a great weekend, I am still trying to catch up around here, but have missed you and these (up above!).hugs hugs, S.

  3. yes indeed, medical tests after a certain age are definitely no fun but very necessary.  I echo your sentiment to everyone to have them done.  Congrats on a clean bill of health and I will remember your friend in my prayers.
     
    Appetizer – On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 as highest), how much do you like your own handwriting? About a 1 – my Mom always said I should have been a doctor because I already have the bad handwriting downpat. I do not hand write ANYTHING.
    Soup – Do you prefer baths or showers? First thing in the morning to get me started for the day, it’s gotta be a shower. To relax later in the day/evening, gimme my tubby!
    Salad – What was the last bad movie you watched? Whatever it was, it was bad enough that I have blocked the name from my brain!
    Main Course – Name something you are addicted to and describe how it affects your life. Computer! I sit down in front of this contraption and can lose absolutely HOURS puttering and not getting done stuff that I should get done
    Dessert – Which instrument is your favorite to listen to? I would have to say the organ like the one we have at church. Anyone who can play well can do the most amazing things with it.
     

  4. I was thankful to NOT see a Roto-Rooter decal on the side of the colon camera machine a couple of years ago. 
    Handwriting: -4 (yes that is a negative, but it’s much higher than the rating given by my co-workers)
    Shower: take an average of two and one-half baths a year.  I have very high sales resistance to hot tub sales pitches.
    Movie: I was so unimpressed that can’t remember the name of the trash my boy had playing.  Left after 15 minutes.
    Addiction: Food and the effects are not hard to describe.  I think there is some scripture which speaks of some people’s sins going “before” them while other’s sins come “behind”. 
    Piano
    Have a blessed weekend, ‘rett

  5. i always let them check me out…what ever end it has to be…rather be embarrassed than dead…
    *~* :o) everyone smiles in the same language… :o) *~*

  6. Your friend will be remembered in our prayer group.  It makes me feel a twinge of guilt when my tests come back all good and a friend receives bad news. I suppose we all feel that to some extent.
    Handwriting would be a 9.  My grandfather used to make me practice for hours!!  Has to be a shower since I don’t fit in most tubs.  Clark made perfect sense with his take.  Bad movie would have to be ‘Gangs of New York’….far from reality and besides, I’ve seen enough of that crud during my career.   My addiction is reading non-fiction and it takes way too much time from my life.  Like you, I really enjoy listening to guitar, especially classical or blues.
     
    J.W.L. 

  7. I will keep your friend in my thoughts.I started my colonoscopy procedures when I was 32 years old.  The irony is that I had my initial procedure because I was having complications with my bowel routine.  They found a precancerous polyp and it is very likely that if I would not have had this initial colonoscopy that I would have succumbed to colon cancer during my mid-40s.  So, that bicycle accident which broke my neck and has cost me nothing but aggravation did prevent me from getting colon cancer.
    I won’t go into how many colonoscopies I’ve had over the last 11 years, but it’s quite a few.  I’m so glad you got for years with just the displeasure of the preparation.Take care,Billy PaulPS thank you for your prayers.  My mother is doing better, but complaining as usual.  However, I was taught in the Army, if you aren’t complaining you aren’t happy.

  8. Now I’ll have to go back and do the rest of the menus!

    Appetizer
    On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 as highest), how much do you like your own handwriting?  Not much, maybe a 2 or 3. I made Cs and Ds in handwriting in grade school and haven’t improved. No style, no consistencey. But I can draw and my Grandmother had horrible penmanship and was a wonderful artist, so I feel blessed.
     Soup
    Do you prefer baths or showers?  "As Clark Gable once observed, why soak in your own dirt?  Give me a shower any day." 
    AMEN!!!!
    Salad
    What was the last bad movie you watched?   I can’t watch any. When the movie gets tough, I get going. I have a hard time watching anything longer than 60 minutes anyway.
    Name something you are addicted to and describe how it affects your life.  I’m not sure and have to think about it.
    Dessert
    Which instrument is your favorite to listen to? Piano, by a long shot – and saxaphone is a far second.
    I’m slowly returning to life, even amidst some troublesome times…hang in there for me.
     
    xoxo

  9. Good one, this week.. I need to schedule mine! Here’s a great link for you, since you like your handwriting. You can make it into your own font and use it on the computer!
    Now.. Appetizer: I like mine about a 6 when I take my time.
    Soup: SHOWERS ONLY!!!
    Salad: Don’t remember.. I leave or turn it off. And I don’t watch much, anyway.
    Main Course: The Computer!! I spend wayy too much time on here.. but, I have met some great people, and since I’m fairly housebound, it’s been great for me.
    dessert: mmm It would be a toss up for me. Guitar, piano, and dulcimer. I like different things at different times.
    I hope you’re having a great weekend!
    hugs,
    Jean

  10. I’m almost due for the 50,000 mile checkup.  Ugh!  Like turning 50 isn’t bad enough.  Now I’m too depressed to even eat more than an appetizer… I like my handwriting a 10.  I wish we could make our own font… that’s what I would use.

  11. Handwriting – have a "tremor" in my right hand…..so I guess a 5
    Showers
    Don’t remember last "bad" movie……but have send a lot of STUPID ones
    Coffee-too many cup a day…..chocolate ice cream or vanilla with chocolate syrup
    Piano – I took piano lessons from grades 1-8, can’t play a lick now but still remember the notes 😦
     

     (¯`v´¯)¤ .`•.¸.•´ ¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨) (`’·.     Happy ¸.·’´)(`’·  Patty’s Day!¸.·’´)¸.·*)*¸.·´¨)*´¨)¸.·*¨)(¸.·(¸.·´ .·´¸¸.·´*´¨)         🙂

Leave a Reply

