Good Stuff

 
When we read Isabella’s developmental evaluation, we were blown away.  I knew she was behind in her talking and responding to commands.  Just didn’t realize just how behind.  The second meeting with the evaluating team showed that the two weeks or so of our working with her has already shown an improvement!  We will start with an occupational therapist and a developmental interventionist within the next two weeks.  They will either go to The Girl’s home or mine.  Isn’t that great?
 
Please, if there is a child in your life whose development seems off, look into it.  In the United States, each state has an early intervention program and, if you are unable to pay, you don’t have to.  It is based on a sliding scale according to your income.  It’s good stuff.
 
Now, about Good Friday;  my research shows that this day is not called Good Friday in other countries.  Is it at all good?  You betcha.  Read the article that is highlighted for an explanation.  Let me just say that, without Good Friday, there would be no Easter.  Without Easter, our hope of eternal life would be caught up in ritual and fear.  God took a part of Himself, Jesus Christ, and allowed Himself to be born as a man so that we can never say, "God, you just don’t understand."  He does understand because He lived as one of us. 
 
Let us feast on His goodness.  Let us have our usual Friday’s Feast as well:
 

Appetizer

Given the choice, would you prefer to live in the country or in the city?  The country.  I love the conveniences of the city but could use a bit of the slower life of the country.

Soup

Who is the cutest kid you know?  You’ve got to be kidding…..starts with an "I"

Salad

Fill in the blank: I couldn’t believe it when I heard ___________.  I couldn’t believe it when I heard the space shuttle Challenger had exploded.  My daughter, age five, and I were taking a nap when a friend called.  I thought she was playing a joke on me.  No.  How I cried.

Main Course

If you could star in a commercial for one of your favorite products, which one would you want to advertise?  I prefer to be behind the camera but I would have to say Flylady’s feather duster.  It works like a charm and it even has some purple feathers in it!

Dessert

What type(s) of vitamins and/or supplements do you take on a regular basis?  Calcium with Vitamin D, a multivitamin, vitamin E, magnesium, when I remember, fish oil capsules and red yeast rice (a natural stating to keep my cholesterol down).

I hope that you are blessed by this most holy of weekends on the Christian calendar.  Also that you get some good chocolate! g

 

 
 
9 responses to “Good Stuff

  1. Hi Gail,  That’s so good to hear about Isabella.  I have worked with adults with autism and it is so sad they didn’t have early intervention programs back in the day.  No time to do your Friday’s feast but hope to have time in the near future when spring semester is done.  My favorite Easter candy is Reese’s peanut butter eggs, cadbury creme eggs, marshmellow chicks and bunnies (like circus peanuts) and Russel Stovers chocolate coconut nests….yummy!  I am so glad these things are only out at Easter time.  Hope you have a nice one! 

  2. a city, but a small one
    my sweet niece
    I couldn’t believe it when I heard about he terrorist attacks  on 9/11/.
    commercial: no idea
    no vitamins/supplements
     
    Happy Easter.
     
    g.j.

  3. City or country – I live in a city already but my dream house is on a farm with neighbors far enough away that you can’t see their houses.
    Cutest kid – Everyone is going to say their own. If you had asked for most beautiful, Daughter #1 would win hands down. She’s like the Breck girl/girl-next-door/doesn’t-know-how-good-she-looks all rolled into one.
    I couldn’t believe it when – Princess Diana died. I was pregnant, out to here, hot (it was the end of August), and couldn’t sleep. When I turned on the TV, I thought I was watching Saturday Night Live and it was a skit they were doing. Until the skit didn’t end.
    Ad for favorite product – The new Krup Espresso machine my daddy gave Hubby and me for Christmas. It’s cut down on our Starbucks expenditure. BTW, I just LOVE Flylady!!! I try to do her system. I’m just not as organized as I want to be.
    Vitamins – Multivitamin, Calcium +D, B complex, Fish Oil, used to take Iron when I was donating platelets every two weeks.
    Happy Easter! I have to get ready for church tonight. Hubby and Daughter #1 sing in the choir. Sunday just Hubby will be singing. Daughter #1 and #2 will be acolyting – like altar servers, they carry the crosses, torches, banners, Gospel, help serve the communion. We’re Episcopalian – Catholic lite – so girls can serve as well as boys.

  4. I’m glad to hear things seem to be progressing.  We went through this with my nephew, but they didn’t notice he was having problems until he was just about ready to go into kindergarten.  It has been an uphill battle, but in some areas he is doing pretty well.
    Enjoy the Easter weekend.Billy Paul

  5. Hey G, Blessed Easter! 🙂
    I rejoice with you to know that your little Bella is not "A" not as you suspected. 🙂
    Praying that she will pick up fasT! Perhaps she’s really like my friend’s child, the one who started speaking at 4, and then talked like a adult! All he said till 4 was "umm" "Emm" which had his parents worried. but when he spoke, he really spoke a lot in strings of sentences! Praying she will progress well with therapy. 🙂
    blessings and havea  beautiful weekend. 🙂
    God bless.

  6. i am hoping for chocolate…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  7.  
    Hi Gail,
    Yes we need to be aware of our children’s development when they are young.
    That happened with my son and it was due to not being able to hear properly.
    All was rectified over a couple of years. Along with faith and patience those first years of school my son is now he is an excellent student.
    For me, I find ever day to be Christmas and Resurrection day. I have to…
    Alrighty…Test time…Appetizer
    Given the choice, would you prefer to live in the country or in the city?
    Hands down the country. Hands up…The beach. Hands out…In the mountains. Geesh…I’m weird sometimes, while I type to myself.Soup
    Who is the cutest kid you know?
    My new grandbaby.Salad
    Fill in the blank: I couldn’t believe it when I heard ___________.
    Too many to mention…Main Course
    If you could star in a commercial for one of your favorite products, which one would you want to advertise?
    Hmmm…I should have something better. But, right at this moment “Starbucks.” Like they need advertising! From a blogger no less…Dessert
    What type(s) of vitamins and/or supplements do you take on a regular basis?
    Multi, C, E, and more…
    Now pass the chocolate will ya…Greg
     
     
     
     

  8. Isabella is precious Gail.  She couldn’t possibly be in better hands.  Sending Easter blessings your way and reminding myself of why you are such a wonderful friend.  Have a blast watching Isabella blossom.  Children are too precious for mere words.
     
     Champions are those that trust God while others ask for answers.
     
    J.W.L.

Leave a Reply

