Perfectionism

 
The way I see it, perfectionism can take one of two paths:  fruitlessly working hard and long trying to achieve it or not doing anything at all because one knows perfection is impossible.  I tend to follow the second path.
 
Being a clean person, you never have to fear eating anything I prepare.  My kitchen tools and prep surfaces are at the least clean and at the most sanitized (bleach is my friend).  However, clutter takes over my life.  Embarrassed  It’s true.  My house can be very messy.  Especially my kitchen.
 
Well, The Boy now has a tutor who comes to the house and works where?  In my kitchen.  Needless to say they need a table to work on.  I knew there was a table somewhere under all those papers, books and whatever else was piled on. Getting to it would be an effort.
 
There is nothing like the prospect of being humiliated to spring me to action.  Wednesday saw me sorting, tossing and gasping with exertion.  A perfectionist can’t just take care of the kitchen table.  A perfectionist has to clean the floor, make numerous trips to the basement to add to the paper recycling, square up the countertops clean whatever else can be seen from said table.  Get out the Wind*ex and make the front of the microwave, dishwasher and oven sparkle.  Get the cleaning solution soaking on the stove.
 
Then, when you are quite exhausted and waiting for the tutor to show up, look at your calendar and realize she isn’t starting until the next day. Tongue out  
 
How was your week?  Let’s feast:   
 
Appetizer

Invent a new flower; give it a name and describe it.  I will cheat on this one because no one can top the variety of pansy my cousin S introduced me to.  It is called the Jolly Joker and has two colors of petals:  orange and purple.  Outstanding!

Soup

Name someone whom you think has a wonderful voice.  Sean Connery.

Salad

On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being highest, how clean do you keep your car?  This is one place I don’t allow to get messy.  It is an 8 only because I am bad about washing the inside windshield.

Main Course

How do you feel about poetry?   Actually , in my younger days, I wrote quite a few.  Now, however, except for song lyrics, Stephen Crane, Emily Dickenson and a few others, poetry pretty much bores me to tears!

Dessert

What was the last person/place/thing you took a picture of?  The subject is sitting on my lap as I type this entry with one hand.  My Isabella.

God bless you and stay safe, g

 

16 responses to “Perfectionism

  1. enjoyed the feast…and you are right…Sean Connery does have a dreamy voice…as for the windshield…that is horrible…how do you drive at night?…
    *~* :o) a smile is a universal welcome… :o) *~*

  2. For a man, I’m fairly adept at multi-tasking when cleaning.  Having a propensity to procrastinate about helping around the house, I usually fly into a whirling display of running to and fro trying to remember what I was doing before I lost my coffee, but I do manage to complete the job…not enough for the wife, but better than most I think.  You’ll have to ask Patty.
    New flower would be a rich, green grass flower that repels all weeds, grows no higher than 3", and never needs mowing.  I’d plant the yard full. 
    Sam Elliot has a great voice for speaking…deep, deeper, and deepest.
    Poetry is like poison ivy to me.  We don’t get along.
    I have a truck and other than the floor board, dash, console, and space behind the seat, I’d give it a strong 1.5.
    Last picture I took was of wife Patty.
    As always, you are uniquely Gail.  Don’t change a thing.
     
    Blessings….J.W.L. 
     

  3. Invent a new flower; give it a name and describe it: “Careless” it would be a red rose that would take care of itself (including pruning, watering, etc.)
    Name someone whom you think has a wonderful voice: My wife when she sings.
    On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being highest, how clean do you keep your car?  I would have rated around a 4 until a couple of years ago.  In the last two years, I’ve had a recessive “car cleaning” gene manifest itself, which would boost my rating to 8+.
    How do you feel about poetry?  Not to fired up about modern stuff, but still enjoy reading older poems.  Shoot, I can even write some:
    All peoples hail,
    The great northeast Gail
    Who cleans her car,
    So it don’t smell!
    What was the last person/place/thing you took a picture of?  A customer’s damaged water well pump.

  4.  
    Hi Gail…
     
    Yes…A day early but the cleanup is done! That’s a good feeling.
     
    You all be well…Greg
     
    And remember a clean house is a happy house!
     
     

  5. We share a sense of kitchen… almost precisely.  Also our view of poetry.  My car, however, cycles from a 2 to a 10.
    As for the rest of them, I think the creativity center in my brain has gone on holiday.  I am just feeling like a half-empty balloon today.  Probably because I have no ‘Bella in my lap!  Have a great weekend, G!

  6. Appetizer – Invent a new flower; give it a name and describe it. A Highrise – like a gladiolia with each Gerber Daisy type flower a different color
    Soup – Name someone whom you think has a wonderful voice. George Strait – the only country singer I like. His voice is like velvet
    Salad – On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being highest, how clean do you keep your car? Probably about a 5

    Main Course – How do you feel about poetry? I used to write quite a bit but have not for a long time. I enjoy reading it

    Dessert – What was the last person/place/thing you took a picture of? The snow on my back deck

  7. I agree heartily with the perfectionism view- I am a "lazy" perfectionist, who gets motivated under pressure 🙂

  8. Appetizer

    Invent a new flower; give it a name and describe it.  A hybrid of an orchid with a rose: Name: Mysterious Lady; Quite a distinctful flower with nice strong colours and light smell.
    Soup
    Name someone whom you think has a wonderful voice.  Phil Collins.
    Salad
    On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being highest, how clean do you keep your car?  7 i wouls say,……with a kid I can even find socks underneath the seats.
    Main Course
    How do you feel about poetry?   Depends on my days and the subject.
    Dessert
    What was the last person/place/thing you took a picture of?  My computer surrounding for Computer Surrounding Week! It’s on my space,…..where is your picture?:OP
    Well, I must say that having a kid and a guy in the house doesn’t help much,……but at least we can live in the house…LOL!!
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  9. What would Kelly and Fly Lady say about the clutter? Here’s the feast:
     
    New flower – It’s vine that grows like wisteria around my front gate with blooms as bright and happy as gerbera daisies and smells as sweet as exotic as a gardenia. It would be called a Running Sunnez.
     
    Wonderful voice – Hubby, when he calls me from work.
     
    Clean car – 5, inside is always clean, outside is washed only when there’s a coupon for the carwash.
     
    Poetry – Poetry is like the intense infatuation of attraction. Prose is like the devoted cozy-as-a-pair-of-slippers love. Life without poetry would still be just fine, but not as lively.
     
    Last picture – my Girl Scout troop on a field trip.

  10.  
    Woohoo, I won the baseball contest! I’ll have to show my sons, they will be shocked, and hopefully a little impressed! No need for a prize girlfriend, it was just fun to do! 🙂
     
    You and I are so alike on the perfectionist/clutter thing it’s unreal. I have a huge house and no room for anything! Hubby and I were just talking about that tonight and made some plans to start declutterizing (is that a word?) over this weekend. It will be mostly him doing it though since I am still so run down after my surgery and stuff.
     
    Regarding the feast….
     
    There are enough beautiful flowers for me as it is so I will go with JW’s answer. It seems all we do in the summer is cut the grass, so a yard full of self caring, non mowing, grass-looking flowers would be awesome.
     
    Voice would have to be a couple ladies from church, otherwise my husband and sons have wonderful, deep, strong voices.
     
    Clean car? Sometimes…
     
    Last thing I took a picture of was of crazy people out ice fishing on the lake today.
     
     
     

  11. I, too, am a perfectionist of the ‘it won’t be perfect why try’ variety.  It’s a hard way to live.  I am trying to change, if slowly.

  12. I am a perfectionsist, but not so much at home anymore.  At work, however, I am a perfectionist and very consistent.  I think those two things are important in being a teacher.  Enjoy your weekend.
     
    g.j.

  13. Darn…I keep loosing my answers to the feast questions, so I’ll try again later.
    Happy Weekend…
     
    xoxo
    Dana

  14. at least you got it cleaned early! 🙂
    Appetizer

    Invent a new flower; give it a name and describe it.  new flower….hmmmm….popsydizzy. They look like lollipops in multi colored. (this is actually Jodie’s wish….lollipops growing all over…for her. hahahaha..)
    Soup
    Name someone whom you think has a wonderful voice.  ..hmmm……my brother.
    Salad
    On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being highest, how clean do you keep your car?  it used to be a 7, now it’s a 3. I gave up cleaning, with the kids always bringing their stuff in and out, and food and all, I gave up. haha…
    Main Course
    How do you feel about poetry?   I actually did literature for my A Levels. and enjoyed it then., Currently I teach it to younger ones. Lets say, I don’t love it, I don’t hate it, but I have to read like I really love it. haha..
    Dessert
    What was the last person/place/thing you took a picture of? it will have to be Camel my poodle who just had his hair cut. 🙂
    Praying your weekend is lovely.
    hugs 

  15. hello,gail-long time no see:) hope you are doing fine~~Excellent Appetizer and you are a cute
    Perfectionism believer~~~ lol
    take care
    bobbie
     

  16. I try to take the path of the first one, but I end up settling on the second path more often than not nowadays.  I guess it’s because I can’t do things for myself like before.  Don’t get me wrong, I do quite a bit of stuff for myself, but when it comes to cleaning I can’t do anything any longer.  I, therefore, just have to put up with a little bit of clutter and mess, but I really cringe when I think things are dirty.  It probably goes without saying that I am cringing more often than I would like.Billy Paul

Leave a Reply

