A Day That Changed My Life Forever

 
Today is my dear daughter’s birthday.  After her birth, my beloved doctor told me my life would now be changed forever.  I asked him if he meant for the better or worse.  He said, "Just different."  Truer words were never spoken.
 
We think about having babies – not adults – as our children.  I said to my mother-in-love the other day, "I’ll stop worrying about my children when I am in my grave."  She agreed.  Not that we don’t love our children but how many of us, having grown or growing children, would think twice about the decision if we knew then what we know now?  Our hearts have a vulnerability like never before when we have our children.
 
I only wish I could confidently give my children’s well being over to God’s hands.  He is the only one who loves them even more that I do.  He is a much better parent than I am.  He knows what they need more than I do.  (Although, mothers do know what is best all of the time second only to God!)  ~heavy sigh~ 
 
As Himself said, "If I knew how much fun being a grandparent was I would have skipped having children."  I love my children.  However, I do think of them as a means to getting grandchildren!  So much more fun with less responsibility.
 
I ramble on.  Sleep deprivation is getting to me.  We have to start preparing our home to sell it.  The expense is great and there is no relief in sight unless someone gives us an anonymous gift of paying off the mortgage.  So not counting on that.  I am sad but coping.  Pray for us?
 
Anyway, a few Manic Monday questions from the archives:
 
Name one ritual you’d like to work into your day.  Exercise, exercise, exercise.  Once I get into the habit, it won’t be so hard.  It’s starting that is difficult.

What is something that you’d like to try that would surprise someone that knows you.  I would like to learn to fly a helicopter.  This from someone who hates to fly!  One of the characters in a book I read a few years ago had learned to fly one and it gripped my imagination and gave me the desire to fly one.

What is something that you’ve tried, that looking back, you’re surprised that you did.  Smoking cigarettes.  I was so against it and, when a friend said she couldn’t quit, I started smoking to prove to her that she could.  Little did I know the addictive power of nicotine and whatever else the tobacco companies put in their product to keep us addicted.  I have more than two years smoke free and pray that I can keep it up.
 
I hope that you have a wonderful week.  Blessings from the Great Atlantic Northeast.  g
 
13 responses to “A Day That Changed My Life Forever

  1. I agree a mother never stops worrying, but if I had my time again, I would still want to be one. a grandmother is a bonus a second chance, but yes very different, the responsibility is different, but I still worry and fuss, but that is just me, I suppose, lifting you and house situation in prayer as I type – it is a path I fear many will have to tread the way things are going. take care – hugs- nita.

  2. I can do only one thing….AGREE to your blog!
     
    Ok the moment the doctor had put my son on my tummy after delivery….I kind of got drowned in questions and could not sleep.
     
    Everyday,….every minute I ask myself if what I am doing is good. The point where I don’t really agree is when you say that mothers know what is best for their kids….
     
    Accckkkkk if this is true….God help me….Sometimes I wonder if I am not going to traumatised him somehow by being tooo linient or toooo strict. I just swim in an ocean of doubt.
     
    Ok I too want to skip being a parent and want to be a grandma!!!! When I watch my parents with Steen and the way they spoil him…jeezzzzzz! I never had all this from them!!!!
     
    Manic Monday
     

    Name one ritual you’d like to work into your day.  Exercise is not a bad idea. I have started it and it is part of my resolutions…..and I went off track…..no wonder my scale is lying!!What is something that you’d like to try that would surprise someone that knows you.  I would like to speak Chinese. I think that would surprise my boy friend! By the way his Chinese is apparently awful!!!:O)

     
    What is something that you’ve tried, that looking back, you’re surprised that you did.  
     
    Have a kid on my own for almost 3 yrs. But then I am soooo happy I kept him. He is a blessing in disguise. The treasure of my life!
     
    Happy Birthday to your daughter! I am sure you are a great mum!
     
    Take care,
    Isa
     
     
     

  3. Sorry I pressed only once….but this gives me the opportunity to tell you I will pray for you regarding your house problem.
     
    These things are never easy….
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  4. Sorry to hear about your house, Gail. Where will you move to? I heard the values in the NY area had risen instead of declined like the rest of the nation. Is that true? Let me know please.
     
    Loved your answers and happy birthday to the girl!
     
    Hugs, Liz
     

  5. Thinking about you Gail. Saying some prayers
    Keep me in your as well.
    Blessing to you too.

  6. Hey G, Happy Birthday to your girl. 🙂
    As I was driving my Nel to school this morn, i thought of you and prayed for you. Will keep you in prayer.
     
    Name one ritual you’d like to work into your day.  LIke you, the answer is excercise.
    What is something that you’d like to try that would surprise someone that knows you. 
    It would be Bungee jumping or Sky diving. I’m afraid of heights. Last time I was in Canada, they charged 99$ to bungee. I told them I would not pay that ammount to suffer and risk a heart attack. haha…WIsh I had the guts!
     
    What is something that you’ve tried, that looking back, you’re surprised that you did. 
    hmmmm……hm……..hmmmmm……… probably the practical joke I played on my college lecturer. She came to lecture and  I told her she had her days mixed up, and it wasn’t tues but wed. She believed me and went to a diff class where they told her it was tues and not wed. hahaha…….   She came back later, half fuming mad, but controlling her temper and perspiring like crazy.
     
    Anyway G, Congrats you’ve been smoke free for 2 years. Strangely, I was just telling my hubby that last Sun. We were talking bout’ a cell member who’s tried to stop so many times but keeps getting back on it.
    hugs to ya…and take good care!
     
     

  7. Name one ritual you’d like to work into your day.  Definitely exercise.What is something that you’d like to try that would surprise someone that knows you.  I’m struggling with an answer for this one.  Simply can’t think of one.  Wait!  I would love to ride my bike along the entire length of the C & O towpath….184 miles.  It might surprise some.  What is something that you’ve tried, that looking back, you’re surprised that you did.  Teaching….something I never thought I would do.  Always said I hated teaching.  Hey I learned not to knock it until you try it.  Besides it has a benefit that I really like….autonomy.  I am in charge of my classroom.  You develop your own style.  It is so different from anything else I’ve done in nursing.  I think I’ll stick with it….: )
     
    Happy birthday to your daughter!  Hope all is well.  Crazy busy on my end as you can see.  Talk to you again soon!

  8. great a life time of worrying…that is what lies ahead!! lol…♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥ 

  9. It really is hard with children, letting go and giving them over to God’s safekeeping.  Being the mother of only a two year old I can’t even imagine how it must be as an adult.  The thought of letting my child on a tricycle outside scares me for goodness sake!  🙂
     
    I hope your day is great Gail!

  10. i did enjoy this blog…a lot…i love to hear about others lives in hopes of getting something to make me a better parent out of it…♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥ 

  11. Hi Gail!  Your daughter’s bday is the same as my oldest son.  How coincidental is that!  Seeing my son turn 25 took me back all those years ago when I was a new mom and how life did completely change.  So many wonderful moments and so many frustrating moments – but I wouldn’t trade being a mom for anything.  I’ve yet to realize the joy of grandparenthood.  I can wait a bit longer for that!
     
    Congrats on being smoke free x 2 years.  I quit 13 years ago this week.  I know what a huge thing that is.
     
    Take care,
    B

  12. Hey Gail, condolences on the house thing.  I will keep you in my prayers.
    Name one ritual you’d like to work into your day. Watching the news. I am usually pretty good but with hockey playoffs on the news is on at different times.
    What is something that you’d like to try that would surprise someone that knows you. MarriageWhat is something that you’ve tried, that looking back, you’re surprised that you did. Crab dip. I am not a seafood fan but guess what … I LOVE the stuff!

Leave a Reply

