Hot Time….Summer in the City

 
My, oh, my but we are looking at a heat wave here in the Great Atlantic Northeast!  Temperatures in the 90’s for the next four days or so.  Our central air conditioner bit the dust last season but we have one big unit that works.  ($7200 was the lowest estimate to replace it and we are not there right now.) Hopefully a freecycler will come through with a couple of smaller ones for our bedrooms.
 
When visiting with my mother-in-love earlier, I commented to her that I am guaranteed to laugh at least twice a week – when I have Bells with me.  I am truly blessed.
 
Graduation and wedding season is here and I will be attending my niece’s graduation party on Sunday.  Next week is my sister-in-law’s wedding.  Two joyous occasions. 
 
Please pray that The Boy studies enough to pass his finals.  That is one graduation I don’t want to miss.  
 

Appetizer

When you drink soda/pop/coke, do you prefer to drink it from the bottle, a can, or after pouring it into a cup?  Over lots and lots of ice in a glass glass.  Though it is rare that I drink soda and I just learned that you it can block iron absorption if you drink it with an iron rich food.

Soup

What television show are you willing to stay up late to watch?  With a dvr, I don’t have that problem any more.  I can watch what I want when I want.

Salad

Name one person, place, or thing you think of as brilliant.  Willis Haviland Carrier who is credited with inventing air conditioning. 

Main Course

Would you be willing to work 4 10-hour days instead of 5 8-hour days in order to save gas?  I already work 24 hour days.Wink

Dessert

If you were a superhero, what would you call yourself?  Grammar Guardian!  Please!  Use adverbs when appropriate!

Have a safe, cool weekend.  Blessings, g

 

4 responses to “Hot Time….Summer in the City

  1. That heat stretches all the way down here. The Boy will be in my prayers. Now let’s feast:
    How drink soda – I don’t drink sodas anymore. However, if offered something very local or in a 7 1/2 oz bottle, I drink it from the bottle. Ice cold.
    TV show to stay up for – SNL, but only if there’s a host or a band that I REALLY want to see.
    Brilliant – Chichen Itza
    4 10-hour days? – I’m a full-time mom, on duty 24/7/356.
    Superhero name – Mother Teresa (suggested by my children) or Genetrix Uxor

  2. it’s very hit here too…well for being up here… 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  3. I remember your list says you don’t like to be wet.  Best stay in a tub full of ice during this heat wave.  You couldn’t handle it here now…temperature today was 95, and the humidity was 92%.  Iced tea and the recliner for me.  BTW, I laugh with a great big smile each time I see the photo of Bells.  Can’t imagine her not making a caring person smile with pride at such a priceless gift of grace.  Stay cool G.
     
    J.W.L. 

  4. Had me a big bowl of homemade peach ice cream today.  Just dropping in to rub it in!  BTW, how many months without a smoke now?
     
    John

Leave a Reply

