Whoa

 (A note:  I am not depressed so you don’t need to console me!  This is just one of those times that I need to vent in writing and my audience here understands how that is.)
 
When I was at my weekly meeting (a women’s group), a storm hit with winds nearing 60 mph and "hail" stones the size of golf balls.  My hostess’ house lost power.  The temperature dropped 20 degrees to a humid 78F and branches, trees and electric wires were down all around us both from the wind and lightning strikes.
 
Driving home was an adventure.  There was detour upon detour.  One end of my street had a tree across it.  Blessedly, both Himself and I got home safely and we had one of the few neighborhoods in town with electricity.  Our county has been named a disaster area and my in-laws are staying with us until their energy is restored (could be as soon as this evening). 
 
Still, at no time did I not feel safe.  As far as I know, no one was injured.  I am certain there is not enough property damage to bring in FEMA and no insurance company will go out of business because of this storm.
 
To the best of my knowledge, the people I know have simply been inconvenienced.
 
On 9/11/01 and the months following, this area experienced sorrow.  Deep sorrow.  The  people of Mississippi and Louisiana experienced the sorrow of Katrina.  Tsunamis, tornados, hurricanes, earthquakes, epidemics and genocide are killing off hundreds of thousands of people and obliterating entire ways of life.
 
As I sit here in my air conditioned house with my toys all around me, I am feeling very small and insulated.
 
I also am aware that I need to pray more for this sad, sad world.
 
 
 
9 responses to “Whoa

  1. Sometimes we forget all the times when we escaped misfortune.  It’s easier to complain about the time we didn’t.
    Glad you are all safe.
     

  2. hi gail, pleased you are all okay, it sure is a sad, sad world, and a lot of the signs are there, guess we all need to pray more and be alert, for no one knows the hour.  god bless and take care – nita.

  3. I’m glad to hear you were able to make it home safely.  I know what it’s like to lose power and go through storms like that.  However, keeping perspective as you have done is something that many people cannot seem to accomplish.  You need to be applauded.
    Now that I have my microphone working, I’ll request that when you do watch 30 days in a wheelchair, that you drop by and let me know what you thought of the show and ask any questions you might have.Billy Paul

  4. Glad you’re safe…are you sure you don’t live in Texas? Sounds like my weather has made it to NY.
     
    It’s true…times are sad and they are only going to get sadder. The time grows near, right?
     
    xoxo
    Dana
     
    ps~ things are looking better and better in my world every day.

  5. Yep.. we are very blessed, and don’t even realize it.. and aren’t nearly thankful enough.. Glad you  were safe.. thanks for the little vent to remind us all..
    hugs,
    Jean

  6. Hello g,
     
    Glad y’all survived the storm. Temperature here today was 103 and it is still 88 (11:30 PM). We’ll try to keep the Texas weather here and not send any more your way:)
     
    Peace & Blessings.
    rwc

  7. Hi Gail, Sounds like quite the adventure. Glad you made it home safely. I heard on CNN that there were somthing like 32 tornatoes in the mid western states , today. Missouri got hit hard and a tornato went through a boy scout camp and there were casualities. Is it my imagination or are things esculating in this world.
    We may see Jesus return in our life time. We do have a Glorious Hope and Future but I am sad for those who don’t know Jesus and have no hope. We will one day see the new Heaven and Earth as this old earth passes away. The Bible tells us to watch and wait for His return and that we would see signs of the end . Any way, take care and God Bless! Dianne
     

  8. the world is a pretty messed up place isn’t it! 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  9. Our recent tornado did cause us to feel very small.  Although there was significant damage to both of our work places, we still have felt very blessed, very blessed indeed.
    We can only thank God for His goodness and pray for those who are experiencing loss, hardship and sorrow.

Leave a Reply

