An Early Start and a Happy Fourth

 
I want to take advantage of a quiet evening and get the Friday meme going.  Believe it or not, my daughter has to work tomorrow for at least half a day and I have Isabella, aka Destructo, aka The Whirlwind.  Let’s go:
 
What’s your favorite goody at your favorite bakery?  Sfogliatellean Italian pastry.Sfogliatelle. It’s one of those things I couldn’t understand my mother liking so much.  I still don’t get her penchant for powdered skim milk but I can get into grapefruit juice and cottage cheese!  I’m turning into my mother!

2.   Someone’s visiting from out of town and craves something sweet: Where do you take him or her for an experience he or she can’t get at home?  I take them to our favorite pasticceria (Italian pastry shop) and have them experience the kind of pastry you can get only in my part of the country – or so I think!

3.   What’s your favorite order at your favorite ice creamery?  Coconut ice cream in a wafer cone – mmm.

4.   Oh no! You forgot to save room for dessert! What dessert item on the menu will you order anyway, because you can’t resist?  I don’t know.  There’s always room for chocolate mousse, right?Three chocolate mousse desserts

5.   You’ve got a craving for sweets, but it’s so late at night that only the corner convenience store is open. What do you get?   Oh, has to be funny bones.  Drake's Funny Bones (2 Pack)Chocolate and peanut butter.  A marriage made in heaven – except that dark chocolate would be better.

Have any plans for the July 4th holiday my US friends?  How about the weekend?  We don’t have any plans thus far.  I kind of like it but Himself is bummed out.  Our bcf’s are at their new shore house with their kids and kids-in-law.  We were invited but I still don’t trust The Boy to be on his own in the house.

Stay safe, g

 

6 responses to “An Early Start and a Happy Fourth

  1. just enjoy what arises…♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  2. Your thoughts and prayers are blessing enough my friend.  Patty will tell you (and it’s true I admit) that I may be a "rock head", but patience is something I’ve always had.  There is so much sickness and and so very many people on our earth that suffer ever waking hour of each day, and I’m a bit ashamed of having even mentioned this setback of mine.  Giving our lives to Jesus Christ is the comfort we have in uncertain times, and surrendering to God’s will is my joy.  Having confidence in the doctors is no small comfort in itself.  You know as well as anyone I’ve met that there is joy in all aspects of life if we just slow down and embrace each moment for what it is.  Bells may be Destructo supreme, but there is no hiding the love you have for her.  BTW, your reference to me as "brother" was more precious than gold.  I can only thank God and you for being a true friend.  Gail, you are truly amazing in your ability to remain true to yourself.  And that is what it’s all about.  God’s richest blessings to you and all you cherish my sister.
     
    John 

  3. 1.] What’s your favourite goody at your favourite bakery? – Blueberry muffins from Greggs 2.] Someone’s visiting from out of town and craves something sweet: Where do you take him or her for an experience he or she can’t get at home? – I always used to walk past this local diner near my house but never went in, until just the other day actually. The apple pie from that diner is out of this world & I’m going there again tomorrow to sample it again and/or something else.3.] What’s your favourite order at your favourite ice creamery? – Vanilla4.] Oh no! You forgot to save room for dessert! What dessert item on the menu will you order anyway, because you can’t resist? – Is beer dessert?5.] You’ve got a craving for sweets, but it’s so late at night that only the corner convenience store is open. What do you get?  – Smarties. Blue SmartiesHappy 4th July. 😉

  4. Hi g, Hope your day went well with it being the 4th of July and all. How was the whirlwind? lol. Grandkids can be a hand full. I have 2 grandaughters and one more coming around the end of Aug. I prefer to do the one on one thing with them. One at a time is all I can handle and I like to do special things with them to suit their unique personalities. We make great memories and then I send them home to mom and dad. 🙂
    #1. I don’t eat alot of sweets but I do love Chocolate brownies with lots of nuts.
    #2. Go to the Northway for coconut cream pie. yum 🙂
    #3. Pastachio Icecream.
    #4. I will pass on dessert since I am full and don’t need the extra calories.
    #5. Aeromilk Chocolate Bar occassionally.
    Thankyou g for stopping by for a visit and comments. Have a wonderful weekend. Blessings, Dianne

  5. I am  craving pastry now. I’m pretty sure there is nothing resembling pastry in my house. Ü
    Thanks soooooo much for continuing to stop by!

Leave a Reply

