Am I Awake?

 
I suppose so.  The Girl brought Isabella an hour and a half early today when I was still in la la land.  Did she tell me she was going to be early? Thinking  I don’t know.  I tune out a lot and it was crazy around here yesterday when she stopped by.
 
Well, I think the cortisone shot is starting to work a little.  The third full day will be tomorrow afternoon so we will see.  We will be preparing a huge yard/sanctuary sale this evening at the church for tomorrow.  I really don’t enjoy this sort of thing but it is for a good cause.
 
Let’s feast:

Appetizer

When was the last time you had your hair cut/trimmed?  About three weeks ago.  It’s a good opportunity to visit with my niece and greatnephew, whom she takes care of for her sister, as she is taking care of my hair now.  She is a talented sylist.

Soup

Name one thing you miss about being a child.  My gram.  Sometimes achingly.  I know you do, too, Mom.  I’m so glad we will be with her again.

Salad

Pick one: butter, margarine, olive oil.  Olive oil – I even use it partly in my mashed potatoes along with butter.

Main Course

If you could learn another language, which one would you pick, and why?  Spanish because it is highly marketable around here and it is part of my heritage.

Dessert

Finish this sentence: In 5 years I expect to be…Actually, I don’t expect to be anywhere doing anything in particular.  The future is God’s to know and I am not even mildly curious- at least today I’m not.  I’ve spent too much time either living in the past or dreaming of the future so I am working on living in the present and making the best of it I can.

What do you think of Iran testing out long range missiles?  That country is really rattling its sabers, eh?  There will never be true peace in the Middle East.  Nobel Peace prizes have been given to liars and murderers.  Seems that world leaders are forgetting history and are doomed to repeat it.

After 9*11, I wanted big bombs to be dropped on smaller, not so friendly nations.  I was reminded by someone with a cooler head that this was not a Godly desire.  God wishes that all would come to Him; even the evil ones so that they can be transformed by His love.  I believe this with all my heart.

Guess I just had to get that off my chest.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend.  The weather here is still hot but not humid.  What a relief! 

Be safe.  blessings, g

 

8 responses to “Am I Awake?

  1. The thing I miss the most about being a kid is thinking like a kid.  That feeling of freedom to explore is still embedded in me, but not the same now because of all the other stuff that fills our minds.  Yes, since my grandmother was more a mother to me than my birth mother, I will always miss her and the farm.  Never heard that woman say a bad word about anyone or any thing, and if she saw a stranger walking down the dusty old road, she would go out on the porch and invite them in for something to eat or drink.  My grandmother lived for 87 years and was never more than 50 miles from her place of birth.  You could not tear her away from home, and I’m much the same way now (much to Patty’s dismay).  Like you, I don’t worry about my future, but can’t help but be concerned for the legacy our youth will inherit.  It took God’s hand, the sacrifice of Jesus, and many years, but I’ve learned to live for each moment and give little thought for things out of my hands.  Yes, I do need to vent on occasion, I do day dream, and I think I know what is best for our country, but in reality, I’m just another man with just one more opinion.  I will say that Bin Laden is not our immediate enemy…our most pressing threat wears blue suits and lives in a political land alien from anything resembling democracy.  Gail, you know I have some insight in this arena, and you also know how very much I love our country. For as long as we have about 77 lobbyists for every Congressman, we will have a corrupt system of fairness our Constitution and Bill of Rights was established to create.  Sad, but cemented in fact.  
     
    John     

  2. Appetizer – When was the last time you had your hair cut/trimmed? June 25th – have it cut every five weeks
    Soup – Name one thing you miss about being a child. lack of responsibility – I did not have to worry about bills, housing, etc
    Salad – Pick one: butter, margarine, olive oil. margarine
    Main Course – If you could learn another language, which one would you pick, and why? Japanese because I think it sounds neat
    Dessert – Finish this sentence: In 5 years I expect to be…still doing what I am doing now

  3. Re: your comment on my blog… at the end of the road… you’ll just have to stay tuned to find out. As for the feast, I wish I could. But I’m sharing computer time with two teenagers. So I have to be quick. I’ll catch up when I have more time. Miss the Feasts!

  4. It is hard to love and hope for those who would kill us all, given a chance… yet that’s exactly what we are commanded to do! As to the future, I don’t know what the future is, but I know who holds the future in His hand, and that’s enough. And, I know enough about the future to know it’s probably not going to last too long…That’s the fun part.. hoping it’s soon that we’ll get to see those that went before us. We live in exciting times..
    hugs,
    Jean

  5. Hello lady! Wow, Isabella is getting so big now. Sorry I haven’t stopped by in so long. How are you doing? I hope all is well. I am just staying busy, waiting for the time to pass..

  6. Mmm, I’ve been feast-starved, I have.
    Appetizer- I’m pretty sure it was 2008.  Been meaning to go in… really.  Of couse I can tell you exactly when I last had it colored.  No way I’m going to show off my gray.
    Soup- I miss free time.
    Salad- Not butter.  Either of the other two, depends on the application.
    Main course- Spanish, most def.  Because that’s what they speak in Costa*Rica… my future home.
    Dessert-  Looking for a new job.  I will have finished my current 30 year ‘sentence’.  It’s not as awful as all that, it is just liberating to know that I can leave without financial consequences at that point.
     
    I, too, have trouble keeping a humane attitude when it comes to the middle east.  I think they all need to put women in charge.  We wouldn’t be so prone to putting our children’s lives on the line.
     

  7. Hair cut/trimmed?  About three weeks ago. 
    Name one thing you miss about being a child.  Playing games with neighborhood kids: Hide and seek at night, football, mud clod wars.
    Pick one: butter, margarine, olive oil.  Better be butter and butter be better (yea, I know olive oil is the healthy choice)
    If you could learn another language, which one would you pick, and why?  Spanish would be useful, but Greek might be top of the heap since I would enjoy the extra insight of reading the New Testament in the original language.
    Finish this sentence: In 5 years I expect to be older.  Actually, I may be doing something radically different with my life.
    A thought about Iran – Why does a country sitting on top of huge natural gas deposits, which provide cheap power, have any need for nuclear power?  They don’t, which is why I expect to see a strike.

  8. I don’t know whether you’ll see this comment as it is extremely late, but I am sure glad someone was able to calm you down.  I myself have the same feelings after that terrible September day, but thankfully I have grown quite a bit since that time.
    As for the saber rattling, I really don’t like it at all, but I really wish the current administration would adopt a less bellicose message.  I am, however, slightly optimistic after watching the interview Brian Williams had today with the diminutive leader in tan.  Maybe peace will win out in the end and we can all be happy.  And keep in mind, this comes from a career soldier.With loving thoughts.Billy Paul

Leave a Reply

