The Waiting Game

 
Do you ever feel as though half your life is spent waiting? 
 
When I was a child, I couldn’t wait to grow up for several reasons.  One was that I loved Rit*z crackers and I thought that I would be able to eat a whole box of them when I was grown up rather than the "measly" amount Mom gave me.  Then I learned about calories and fat.  Bummer.
 
I also thought being grown up would bring instant popularity (I was the chubby kid who tried too hard to make friends.  It didn’t work.).  Going to college brought me the friends I sought but I had to learn how to keep them by being a good friend.
 
Speaking of college, the lines I waited in for in-person registration!  There was not even one semester that I didn’t have to go.  Even when I was a senior and was supposed to get preferential scheduling!
 
When I had my daughter, I couldn’t wait for her to walk and talk.  When I had my son, I was happy to wait!  Experience taught me to enjoy the little one who couldn’t complain or run away in a store.
 
What do I wait for now?  Well, in a worldly sense, I await my children’s emotional maturity, Isabella overcoming her neurological disorder and our financial security.
 
On a higher plane, as I wait for Jesus’ return, I realize that I, "Must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him." (Luke 12:40).  What must I do to get ready?  "All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me (Jesus).  Therefore, go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.  And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age." (Matthew 28:18)
 
Sharing one’s faith can be difficult.  We fear how people will react and that we will be rejected.  This is "here right now" rather than "eternal" thinking.
 
Waiting is a fact of life.  Waiting to share about salvation is a fact of death.  If you want to know more about salvation through Jesus Christ, drop me a line.  I’d love to share.
 
How about some thought provoking questions to start the week?
 
1)  Sweet or unsweetened iced tea?  Unsweetened decaf., please.  None of that herbal stuff, though.
 
2)  Tell us about one of your most "interesting" dates.  Remember, this site is rated "G."  Fourth of July was coming up and my friend, M., asked me to go on a double blind date.  I was twenty.  Figuring it might be fun I said sure.  Maybe two days before the date I was in a car accident and had a fractured jaw – no wiring needed – and a lot of bruises.  I called M. to cancel (can you say painkillers?)and she begged me to go as she didn’t want to go alone.  After a bit of cajoling, I finally agreed.
 
Well, our dates must have been the cheapest, most immature guys around.  They bought us something to drink but didn’t offer something to eat.  They didn’t show any interest in us in the least.  M. owed me big time after that.
 
3)  What is a hobby or past time you would like to take up?  Perpetual student.  Taking classes, spending time with wise, learned people, watching medical shows, etc.  I love to learn!
 
I hope that your week is wonderful!  bless you, g
 
 
4 responses to “The Waiting Game

  1. hi gail, enjoyed reading your post, I am not good at waiting, but I am more inclined now, too make the most of every phase of my grandchildren’s life, childhood passes so quickly – I find we can learn from them as well as them hopefully learning from us. god bless have a good week, nita.

  2. This small insight to your life was well worth the waiting.  Yes, the oft proven "best" approach to witnessing for Christ is being a good example in the eyes of other, and waiting patiently for them to inquire.  A verse from Colossians comes to mind, "Whatsoever ye do, to it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men."  (Col. 3:23 KJV)  The first part of your post reminds me of yet another verse from Hebrews, "Let us run with patience the race that is set before us."  (Heb. 12:1 KJV)  We mourn for those we perceive as lost…we pray for their very souls…we weep at their blindness.  In this "state of Love", I’m often reminded of Matthew 7:1 which reminds us the heart is not ours to judge. 
      You have given us a gentle reminder that is timely and most appropriate for all.  Thanks G.
     
    John 

  3. Hey g.!
     
    Thanks for the note.
     
    Waiting is hard, especially if you tend to dwell on things as I do. It’s been really good for me to keep so busy. It’s also best to enjoy the here and now. You never know what tomorrow will bring.
     
    Take care,
    Liz

  4. 1. Southern sweet tea (is there anything else worth drinking?)
    2. Went out with a gal I’d met in my college speech class.  For our first (and only) date we went to the local Pizza Hut followed by a dance.  As I was taking her home (no side trips), she suddenly started bawling, crying her eyes out there in the vehicle.  She looked up once and said, “You don’t know why I’m crying, do you.”  I was totally clueless and remain so to this day as she would never tell me what why she was crying (I did ask, but I guess she assumed I should be able to read minds).
    1. Wood carving and wood turning.  Actually have the tools and equipment, but not the time.
    Thanks for your post on waiting.  I’m reminded that “waiting” on the imminent return of Jesus should truly be a glorious, exhausting race (J W Leigh’s Heb. 12 reference).  The Greek word “patience” has no connection to hanging around idly while waiting on something to happen, but it is best defined as “bearing up under, patience, endurance as to things or circumstances”; thus, we find the Christian should be pounding down the track of life with passion, zeal, fire and love for the Lord Jesus.  And when the Christian gets pounded, they keep pressing Higher Up and Further In.  (Note: There’s a long rest period scheduled for immediately after the race.) 

Leave a Reply

