“V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N…

 
…in the summer time."  If you don’t remember that song, well, you are younger than I!
 
Himself took vacation this week even though we have no plans to go away.  We had our usual Monday with Isabella and Tuesday was Himself’s bd.  He decided he wanted his dinner to be a gravy (also known as sauce) with meatballs, sausage and hard boiled eggs (his Sicilian grandmother always put eggs in.  It tastes like hard boiled eggs with sauce on them.  Not my favorite.)
 
Joining us were his parents, his brother and his brother’s wife.  A good time was had by all.  I wanted to Sleepy with exhaustion.  I rolled about six pounds of meatballs!
 
On Wednesday it was off to my parents’ house and blueberry picking – 17 pounds worth!  After lunch, we went for a great walk in wild life preserved land.  The shade was delightful and it was great to work up a sweat for a change.
 
Dad made a delicious meal with scallops and shrimp and pasta before we headed out.  You always get a great meal from my parents. Open-mouthed
 
Thursday we went to a car dealership where we always do business and found out that the used car we purchased less than eight months ago has depreciated in value $8000! Surprised It is a six cylinder and we were looking for a four cylinder.  Thank you very much speculators who caused the oil prices to soar.  Thank you very much congress for keeping us from being able to drill off shore even though Russia is already drilling off our coast and China is lining up to.Baring teeth
 
Today our precious Bells is with us again.   She is sleeping peacefully and I wish to be doing the same but, alas, the Friday meme is of utmost importance in this neck of the woods.  I must live up to my self-imposed obligation, right?
 
Susan of Friday’s Feast has been AWOL (absent without leave in military terms) and I hope she is well.  We will, once again, substitute www.friday5.org in its stead:
 
    1. Of peace, joy, love, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control, which are you most lacking?  patience, self-control, peace
    2. Of peace, joy, love, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control, which are you most blessed with?  faithfulness, love
    3. The Scout Law says that a scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent. Which of these are relative strengths for you?  trustworthy, loyal, friendly, courteous (to a fault), thrifty, clean (though not all that neat) 
    4. Which of the elements in the Scout Law are relative weaknesses for you?  obedient, cheerful, brave 
    5. If you were to create a list-type law, such as the Scout Law, for your occupation, what might it look like?  In everything, treat others as you want to be treated.

I think that was kind of nice.  It will be interesting to how we see ourselves as opposed to how others see us.  My mom always said that we are, in a sense three people:  the person we see ourselves to be, the person others see us as and who we really are.  She’s pretty smart, wouldn’t you say?

Aimee, we need news!  Let us know how you and your little one are doing!  (Kenny, too.)

Sandra, are you happy with the updated photos?

Blessings to all, g

 

8 responses to ““V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N…

  1. Himself owns you one!!  Blueberries are my favorite…yum, yum.  Hope to hear from you soon.  Would like to share with you (instant message) the tragic story of my friends son who passed away recently from Hunter’s disease.  Michael was 7 years old.  Knowing your compassion for others, I feel as though you might want to know some history my friend of 20 years had to deal with because of those who cast him and his beloved son aside like lepers.  This includes the boy’s mother and so many false friends.  Thank you God for bringing a loving and compassionate friend like Gail into my life. 
    Did Bells get my hug?…BIG grin.
     
    John 

  2.  

    Hi Gail,
    Wow!!! 17 lbs. of blueberries…Yumbo!!!
    I take my sauce with no eggs please.
    Have a nice weekend and you all be well…
    Greg
     

  3. Heard your mom’s saying in the context of a wedding.  There six people getting married – The girl he thinks he’s marrying, the girl she thinks he’s marrying,  the girl he’s actually marrying, etc.
    I’m convinced that some auto dealers should be charged with thieft; and they would be, if we didn’t play the game.  Always try to sale the car yourself before taking it to a dealer for trade-in. 
    1. All of them without Holy Spirit. 
    2. All of them with Holy Spirit.  (are not these the correct answers since it appears the list came from Galations 5:22?)
    3 & 4 The Boy Scout Law states "A Scout is..".  Not "should be", "desires to be" or "twice a week is".  As an Eagle Scout, I’m responsible to maintain the "is"; however, to get to the truth about questions 1-4 I’d need to consult with Queen Kay.
    5.  If I ever figure out my occupation…   
     

  4. Hey G, your little Bells is a pretty gal. 🙂 can see she is truly loved by all. 🙂
    glad you had fun berry picking! so what did you do with them? eat them straight or made something?
    anyways, wishing you a lovely weekend. it’s late here, and this is the last stop before I head to bed now. blessings. 🙂
     

  5. 1. Of peace, joy, love, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control, which are you most lacking?  – All the above2. Of peace, joy, love, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, humility, and self-control, which are you most blessed with?  – Err…3. The Scout Law says that a scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent. Which of these are relative strengths for you?  – Thrifty is my middle name4. Which of the elements in the Scout Law are relative weaknesses for you? – I’m working really hard on being courteous, well not today or tomorrow but in future I reckon I just might…5. If you were to create a list-type law, such as the Scout Law, for your occupation, what might it look like? – In my occupation? 99.9% of the time I’m usually right, the rare 0.1 % is inadmissible. 😉

  6. Hi Gail!
     
    I am so glad you posted new photos, could she get any cuter?  Oh my goodness!
     
    Fun meme there, really makes you think!  I am way too tired after a totally crazy past week to do it myself but I thought that was a great one!
     
    Amy
     
    Oh, and could you please pass the blueberries?  Yummo!!

  7. I am so glad you had a wonderful week.  17 pounds a huge amount of blueberries.  I still fondly remember going blueberry picking with my wife and her parents, but she now tells me it’s not that easy to do in her area any longer.
    I am lockstep with you when it comes to damming the speculators, but I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree on the offshore drilling.  I really don’t want to get into the politics, so we’ll just leave it at that, if you don’t mind.
    Billy PaulPS I’m going through some of your latest entries to see if I missed something.  I was a little surprised about physical therapy, but I sincerely hope you are recovering quickly.

Leave a Reply

