On a Lighter Note……

 

…enough with the heavy subjects.  Let’s play courtesy of

Ride the Meme Express!   
Do you love to read? Oh, yes!  It is one of my favorite things to do.  If you were to take away reading from me it would be the same as taking away my breath – almost.

How many books do you have going at one time? 

Other than my Bible (which I try to make daily reading), I like to read one book at a time.

What is your favorite genre of books? 

(Is it adventure, biography, history, mystery, romance or another?)

Medical and legal mysteries.  Occasionally, a bit of fluff.

Do you consider books a scholarly pursuit or a guilty pleasure?  Unless you are reading offensive material, how can the pleasure of reading be guilty?  As Mom pointed out to me once, even fiction writing has to be well researched.  I have learned so much from authors like Kathy*Reichs.  Definately a scholarly pleasure!

Have you ever written a book?  Tried to when I was about eleven or twelve but didn’t get past the first page.

If you could write a book, what would it be about?  I’ll leave it to the pros.  I don’t want to write a book.  Oh, I take that back.  I would like to write a cookbook.  My father and I can make an evening’s reading of a cookbook.

Let’s hear about your reading habits.  I will find it very interesting I am sure.

blessings, g

10 responses to “On a Lighter Note……

  1. Do you love to read? I cannot go to sleep at night without reading – usually an hour
    How many books do you have going at one time? Anywhere from 1 to 6
    What is your favorite genre of books?  (Is it adventure, biography, history, mystery, romance or another?)
    Mystery but fluff is good once in a while.  I am a HUGE fan of JD Robb and have recently got into the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella
    Do you consider books a scholarly pursuit or a guilty pleasure? I dunno – I just consider them a necessity of life
    Have you ever written a book? not yet but several people have told me that I should
    If you could write a book, what would it be about? my life – but I would have to wait until all my friends were dead before I could publish it!
    I do not recall anyone ever teaching me to read. It is something that I have always been able to do. Again I don’t know how or why I am a speed reader. I have no idea how fast I can read because when I was being tested, the person running the test had to turn it off because he was getting sea sick.

  2. Do you love to read? Yes
    How many books do you have going at one time? 

    When I’m on a roll, up to 3.
    What is your favorite genre of books? 
    (Is it adventure, biography, history, mystery, romance or another?)
    Adventure, biography, mixed with a little romance. 

    Do you consider books a scholarly pursuit or a guilty pleasure?  Definately a scholarly pleasure!
    Have you ever written a book?  No
    If you could write a book, what would it be about?  A biography, of course.  I would refer back to past blog entries and go from there….lol.  I think it would be one fun, wild, ride for whoever decided to read it.  And to think I’ve lived it….LOL.
     

  3. Do you love to read? Definitely!
    How many books do you have going at one time? Usually about 2
    What is your favorite genre of books? 
    (Is it adventure, biography, history, mystery, romance or another?)
    Usually parenting books, psychology, interesting classics and occasionally a romance (one which is more realistic and does not consist of too much X rated stuff)

    Do you consider books a scholarly pursuit or a guilty pleasure?  Scholarly pursuit 🙂
    Have you ever written a book?  I have written 2 chidlren’s books. never published, although I had one of it read by a writer and she told me to publish it. It’s just hard to find good publishers here…plus all the hassle of getting it illustrated blah blah…so I never got round to it.
    If you could write a book, what would it be about?
    children’s books…or a compilation of family recipes. 🙂
    ok, will get going now. HOpe the week is good. Godbless!

  4. Yes, I would be lost without reading,  Not to mention how difficult it would be in the men’s room without reading material.  A man thing for sure.
    I’m a multi-task reader.  Not unusual to be reading up to 10-12 books at a time.
    Strictly non-fiction for me.  Honestly cannot pinpoint a favorite genre.  World history is likely my slight favorite.
    Reading for me is strictly educational in the sense that I want to continue my education for nothing more than reaching my goals in life. When I die, I want to go knowing I’ve given myself a chance to grow until my last breath.  Speed reading has been a tremendous asset in the attempt to fulfill this self imposed challenge.
    Yes, I have written several books.  Unfortunately, they are all still stuck in my mind.
    Should I ever actually complete a book for publication, it would most definitely be about the degradation of humanity as a result of illegal drug trafficking and the countless lives devastated by this domino path of destruction.  Nothing makes me bristle more than this.
     
    John    

  5. Sometimes I read a lot, sometimes hardly at all.
     
    My problem is, once I get started reading a good book, I just can’t stop and will read it every chnace I get, including times when I should be doing other things…

  6. 1. Do fish live in the water? I would be lost if I couldn’t read 😦
    2. I usually have at least 3 going at any one time- my daily devotional, a book club read-along, & some light fiction in my gym bag for the hours on the bike
    3. Cozy mysteries, 19th century fiction, travel essays, hobby/homecare
    4. I read more for personal pleasure than for intellectual edification; but through my love of good literature, I have expanded my knowledge on varied subjects, improved my vocabulary & grasp of language, & honed my own writing skills.
    5. No~ I’ve never had that urge
    6. If I wrote fiction, it would be about small town lives instead of grand adventures (think Mitford); or I could write a how-to on simple home pleasures- crafts, cooking, gardening, etc; if I wanted to write something scholarly, I would write about the evolution of women’s fashions as a reflection of their changing role in society (more of an essay or thesis)
     

  7. I only read non-fiction…too me personally fiction is a waste of time…I love learning so reading for fun is not in my plans ~chuckles~
     
    Scholarly Persuit…one of which I love!
     
    I have been writing a book for the last year or so called "A Simple Magic" but I doubt I will ever finish it or print it, I think it is more of a personal thing for me ~chuckles~
     
    How the Human mind screws us every chance it gets ~chuckles~ and the biochemical and quantum reasons for it!
     
    I like to read high times in the bathroom and look at all the fat yummy buds!  Generally I never pay for a book, I get it in PDF off the internet somewhere and read it on my computer ~smiles~.
     
    Good to be back, love ya hun!

  8. It’s been too long. I’ve missed your memes. They make me take time out to think about something other than housework, Hubby or the kids. Thanks!!! Here goes:
     
    Love to read? Yes. To quote Jefferson, "I cannot live without books."
    How many at once? Usually only one, sometimes two.
    Favorite genre? Currently it’s 19th-century Russian literature, before that it was English history from the Angevins to the Stewarts.
    Scholarly pursuit/guilty pleasure? Both. When I was in college I had a poster in my room that read, "Je lis! Surtout quand je ne devrais pas."
    Written a book? Yes.
    About what? Coming of age love story.

  9. Yes I love to read.
    I read two or three at a time, usually of different genres.
    I don’t have a favorite genre.  When I was in High School it was thrillers (Steven King) and sports magazines (TENNIS)in my 20’s it was Science fiction (remember the magazine OMNI?) and Photography books.  In my 30s it was how to raise your children (T BERRY BRAZELTON) and how to books (sewing, Calligraphy, cooking, etc). More recently it has been  romance novels (Joanna Trollope and Rosamonde Pilcher) and I would make a special trip a few blocks down to the local library to read the CYCLIST magazine. But now recreational reading will have to be put aside, and school text books will be the order of the day.Scholarly pursuit absolutely, just as I consider running a physical persuit!Never never have written a book. Haven’t even considered it.  Requires too much sitting. :o)
    Hugs to you G.

  10. I’m constantly reading books.  Try to read the Bible daily and generally I’ve got two or three other faith and knowledge building books going at all times.  I haven’t read a novel in perhaps three years.  Primary reading material is in the arena of counseling, prayer, theology, but I’ll occasionally take a history, biography or classic book for a spin.  I’m mostly interested in a book that stretches my thinking and has application for helping others; therefore, I have the best of both worlds since scholarly pursuit IS my guilty pleasure.
    I have seriously thought about writing for the past few years; blogging is a trial run of sorts.       

Leave a Reply

