A Happy Beginning

 
I neglected to tell you the story of the bride which made the wedding worth going to after all.  I had a mental block about it until we got there…….
 
Around four years ago, our bride’s sister got married and we traveled to the same venue for the wedding and reception.  This past weekend’s bride, whom I will refer to as "Sally," was engaged to be married within the year as well.  She and her fiancee were lovey dovey at the reception and I anticipated making another trip for their wedding.
 
Fast forward a  month or two:  Sally’s fiancee and his brother were driving home from his brother’s bachelor party (are you keeping up here?  Sally’s fiancee’s brother was getting married before Sally and his brother.).  Oh, and they were drunk.  And ran into a tree.  Neither survived.
 
The two young men’s fiancee’s were crushed, of course, and mourned long and hard.  They wore their wedding bands and had their last names legally changed to their dead loved ones’ name.
 
It took a while, but Sally finally made some changes.  She moved to another city for a while and started living again.  It was some time after that that she became reacquainted with a high school friend whom I will call James.  Friends became best friends and best friends became affianced and the rest, as they say, is history!  I practically held my breath until the final vows were said.  Seeing them happy made the trip worthwhile.  Here’s to many happy years, Sally and James!  May your sorrows be behind you.
 
So there you have it.  Your grumpy blogging buddy does have a heart after all.  I still won’t look forward to going to wedding receptions but I am happy to have seen a happy ending to this story.
 
What does your week look like?  I have Isabella today, of course.  She is napping and I am glad for that.  The rest of the week is filled with the usual; cooking, trying to clean, going to meetings and, basically, trying to keep my sanity.
 
If you could have one thing on your schedule every week that is just for you, what would it be?  I think it would definately have to be a massage.  I was thinking manicure but a massage would be sooo therapeutic!
 
If you are in a cold weather area, what do you keep your thermostat on in winter?  If in a hot zone, your a/c.  I keep it at 65 F but the boys complain terribly and I sometimes have to raise it a bit. 
 
Have a blessed week, g
 
 
 
10 responses to “A Happy Beginning

  1. I agree with the massage.  I can’t think of a better way to spend an hour.  I wish I would remember that more often.We keep the heat at 68.  Hub and I are too hot at that temp… girls are too cold.  We tell them that we’re sure they would rather put extra clothes ON than to have us take them OFF!My week looks as exciting as toast.

  2. Yes, that would be a wedding worth going to!
     
    My workweek so far is filled with tests on whether I’m going to do my job as unto the Lord or man…
     
    I think I’d opt for a massage also!

  3. I’m glad she was able to overcome.
    I had a whole bunch of things on my "to do list" and basically only got one thing accomplished today.  And even that was done with a half ass quality and I’m not used to.  I guess it’s because I’m trying to learn a little more about how to use Word.
    Still need to do quite a few things this week, but the great part about being retired is if you don’t get it done today it’s always there for you tomorrow.  🙂
    Staying busy is half the battle.Take care and thanks again for stopping by.BPPS sorry for the French.

  4. Hi Gail —
    Yes, I can see why that wedding was worth going to. Wonderful ending to such a sad event.
    My week pretty much looks the same as yours.  Working, cooking, chores, errands.  Although I did take today off work and am hitting the mall. 
    Every week huh — I have to say dinner out.  I am not a lover of cooking and yet I love to try different things.  To not have to cook, do dishes and get to eat something I didn’t cook would be heaven.
    Our thermostat stays pretty much at 67 while we are home.  Although I have a timer thermostat, so it goes down to 64 at 8:00 a.m. when we working and then down to 62 at 10:00 p.m. when everyone is warm under the covers.  There are times when it’s adjusted if Nik is home with Eric during the day.  She risks my wrath and turns it up to 69.  Back down it goes to 67 …
    By the way — not seeing you as grumpy… : o )
    Deb

  5. I was so waiting for a punch line, I thought it was a joke at first ~sighs~…what a tragedy!  At least she finally found someone to love! ~smiles~
     
    Working out, I’m at 300 and want to transcend that boundary!  I get so bored and lonesome at home, I rarely have any intellectual or human stimulus, so it makes my weeks long and slow with nothing to do but play video games, workout…I tried joining volunteer groups but no one want me ~sighs~ cause of my mental problem..they afraid I will beat someone up ~sighs~
     
    Yeah a massage sounds good, especially if it is at a salon that does happy endings ~ducks & chuckles~.  I would like to just go out and socialize once a week with people, maybe play some games or have a drink…no one likes talking about what I like talking about anyways ~chuckles~.  I guess I don’t know how to have real fun ~smiles~
     
    Umm we wear sweaters and blankets…we can’t afford the heater ~smiles~.
     
    Love,
    Adam

  6. What a great story!  I"m off today so am doing a little blog walking before I get busy cleaning.  Yuck….I hate cleaning.  My job is keeping me busy but I actually have more free time.  Life is good….now if only I can get motivated to clean.  Hope you are having a great week!  65 sounds great to me! 

  7. Hi mom,
     
    well… the incedent is good and it’s even great that she changed her mind and got married.
     
    Well… the only activity I’d love to do is; go to a mountain [in short, a place exceedingly with nature] with my camera and do nothing but treking, shooting pictures and just being there…. it’s an amazing feeling which i haven’t felt for past 7 years 😦
     
    waiting to go to india 🙂 and to be in woods…
    Love, son

  8. that was a beautiful story…i am happy you were there to see it!
    ♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

Leave a Reply

