Yo, Tony….

 
Living in an area where many of the last names end in a vowel (Italian) can be very interesting.  We have some of the best food in the world (says I) and it is our family’s job to get the Italian bread for family get togethers (our surrounds have the best bread bakeries).  Since Himself was working, I had to do the early morning run.  If you don’t go early you don’t get the best.
 
Living in the land of Tony*Soprano can be very amusing.  The bakery workers were calling number thirty something and my little tag had 60 something so I had plenty of time to observe while I waited:
 
The men, young and old, tend to have a slow gate, a swagger,  and lean slightly forward.  One enters and sees how many people thereare ahead of him and is ready to leave when he sees a gumba,  "Hey!  How ya doin’?" as they shake hands.  This scene took place at least half a dozen times in the twenty or so minutes I was there.  Somehow the wait doesn’t seem as long when you  have someone to chat with.
 
An elderly lady is carrying her coffee and croissant looking for a place to sit (it is also a cafe) when she hears, "Hey, Mrs. Baccagalupe!"  (bah-cha-gah-loop-eh)  She looks at him quizzically and he mentions how he knows her by naming some of her close relatives.  He asks her to sit with him and kindly engages her in conversation even though she doesn’t remember him.  Her dignitity was kept intact.
 
One by one the mostly teenaged girls working behind the counter call the next number on the board.  No one is complaining (for the most part) and the wait isn’t as long as you would think.  When my number is called, I place my order and, when served, am wished a Happy Thanksgiving with a smile.
 
My part of the country gets a bad rap sometimes.  Sure, we tend to be a bit more impatient than less crowded places and sometimes we are so caught up with our thoughts that we tend to forget to smile.  However, what I experienced in that bakery was like a village to me.  We are mostly blue collar folk who love our families.
 
What’s your town like?
 
Bless you as you start the new week, g
 
 
 
15 responses to “Yo, Tony….

  1. Our town is a mostly very friendly place.  We have to contend with thousands of tourists each year, but you know, I don’t blame them for wanting to spend some time in our mountains.  If your area gets a bad rep it certainly cannot be justified by me.  My years in North Dakota were a culture shock, but I’ve managed to find warm and welcome people everywhere I’ve ever been.  I suppose it depends on how willing one is to take time to look.
     
    John

  2. Ummm whorish businessess fake sencerity while drooling over the almighty dollar, people drive like retards, and we are about ten years behind the times ~snickers~, but the landscape and open country is awesome! ~smiles~
     
    We do have some good ma and pa shops but very far and few in between ~sighs~.  People in Spokane are superficial for the most part and would rather go to some nasty ass place like Carls Jr. because it is new than Ron’s Drive Inn ~smiles~.
     
    People stop on the onramps to the freeway waiting for it to clear…other people just don’t drive and we have a large population of drunk drivers here ~sighs~, so it’s not even safe to walk on the sidewalk at night around here!  Road rage is par for the corse with fist fights not all too uncommon.  People liberally race through red lights with little regard for life.  They also go around to the right of vehicles in one lane roads because they are too f’ing impatient to wait 10 seconds for them to turn…bicyclists and pedestriant get hit all the time here…
     
    If I didn’t have family and stuff here I would probably be living back in Southern California where it is warm and everyone on the beach is there because they have nothing to do! ~chuckles~

  3. thank you mom… i wish u could hug me too… and of course… a very well earned spanking!!!take the moment to also tell you i got the position i was applying for…i now belong to the  Specialties Team at work…my training starts tomorrow… im so blessed.. still dont understand…He really IS good…love ya mom

  4. My town’s spread out, sprawling, rural, and actually probably among a small pocket of the most interesting spots in Southern California.  It’s an escape from the malls, the crowded freeways where everyone’s jockeying for the slightest amount of elbow room.
     
    Every once in a while when I get out in time to catch place open before they’ve rolled up the sidewalks I’ll catch a little scene from village life.  Hopefully I’ll have my computer handy the next time I run across it and can catch the inspiration while the moment’s still fresh.
     
    And thank you!  God has blessed me.  If it weren’t for that song He put in my heart (Jesus is my song) I’m not sure how I’d get by…Thankfully, I don’t have to think about that!  🙂

  5. I live in a very small private community.  People really don’t talk to each other but I’m sure they talk about everyone…LOL.  I prefer to live in a private community where people mind their own business and don’t get into yours.  I have lived here for going on 5 years now and have just met a neighbor across the hall.  He is a corrections officer.  Nice young guy and his fiance.  Good people to know.  But other than that I don’t know anyone in my immediate community.  Lots of friends who live just outside but that’s the way I prefer it. 
     
    That bread sounds absolutely sinful.  I have the smell of the bakeries in your community in my mind.  YUM!

  6. In my town everyone knows what is happening in everyone else’s family – and three-fourths of the community is related to each other. But, while it can be exasperating, when something happens there are people at your door almost instantly to help. Whether it be with money, equipment, food, clothing, or just a shoulder to cry on.
    There is very little crime here, no violence in the schools. We all know our neighbors. It really is a wonderful place for family.
    And, one of my favorite things – on a cloudless night you can see the Milky Way, stars seemingly glow from forever away! Breath-taking!
    -cindy

  7. I live in a good-sized city (80K+) that is mostly a bedroom community for commuters, but we still manage a bit of "Small Town America" in our old downtown area where I work. Most everyday, you’ll see the mayor in the coffee shop, the newspaper’s staff photographer at every event, & the local celebraties (several former pro football players & an early hip-hop star) driving their kids to school. People aren’t as friendly as they good be, customer service in most stores stinks, & it’s a rare thing to know your neighbors beyond a nod, but we have a community within our community that we treasure.

  8. interesting G!I miss good bread. not too many good ones around here. WEll, they have it Asian style, with chicken curry stuffing, and a lot of ways which you don’t get in the States. When I’m there, I miss it here, when I’m here now, I miss American sandwiches! haha… THere are outlets selling these stuff, but mostly too far away in the crowded part of city where many expats dwell.Where i live it is quiet. But drive just 10 mins out and it is busy busy busy….busy streets, busy shops, busy malls…Happy Thanksgiving by the way…I know it comes late, but we don’t celebrate thanksgiving till the 31st of Dec. :)God bless and take good care G!!!!hugs

  9. Hi Gail!My town is the redneck version of yours. Everybody knows somebody who knows somebody that’s related to…..You get my drift.Hubby and I eat out for breakfast at a cafe that some people call questionable (but we like it). Every time we go, we see a bunch of people who we know or related to somehow. East coast and central Texas not so different, yes?I’m officially back in the blogging business, stop by if you get a chance. xoxoDana

  10. Good morning Gail,I’m just stopping to say hello. I started out the other morning to do some serious visiting only to find Spaces in the midst of some major changes. Believe it or not, I got lost….LOL! That was weird. I couldn’t find my space no matter how hard I tried. I’ll get used to it though.Your town sounds so very interesting. My town is rather large, although if you have a particular interest or a particular job, you know everyone in that particular (how shall I say it..) arena? For example, we are a bowling family and my kids second home was a particular bowling alley. We know everyone and their families and their family’s family from years ago. Other than that, we keep pretty close to family and immediate friends. Yep, much to large to know everyone.Are you from Booklyn? It was the first thought that popped into my head when I read your blog.Anyway – I will be away for a bit visiting my oldest. Sunshine and warmth, for a few days at least. Have a great weekend and I’ll touch base when I get back!Deb

  11. Impatient? The only time I’ve ever waited that long for my number to be called was at the post office at Christmas and I really had no choice. I think it shows patience to wait 30 numbers for bread.I have to say I really don’t know what my town is like? White bread suburbia, I guess. Not too colorful.

  12. Hi Gail, It’s me again….I know shocking, huh. Well I"m feeling much better. Steroids are awesome drugs. I’ve also added another post today. Back to work on Monday for me and hopefully the cough will be mostly gone. Have a nice weekend and God Bless!

  13. Hi, Guess who? LOL…Wow that’s great about the gym. I may do that eventually when I get further along in my weight loss. But for now the treadmill and bicycle will do. And I just found a Wii Fit! I’m going to go get it either tonight or later in the weekend. The Wii is so much fun and interactive. Ok will talk with you later. Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

