Christmas and Such

 
No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth.  Just been feeling very lazy…………
 
But it is Monday!  Let’s catch up:  Christmas was wonderful.  The day before, we spent time with my side of the family at my sister’s place.  She and her honey sure know how to host.  Each and every person has a personalized stocking filled to the brim with goodies – lots and lots of chocolates included!  Yum.  Dinner was delish, as usual, and a good time was had by all.
 
Christmas morning was different this year.  Himself had to work at the airport and didn’t come home until about 1:30 in the afternoon.  The Boy slept in and The Girl and Isabella didn’t come over until Himself got home.  I was all on my lonesome all morning!  I’m not complaining.  It wasn’t bad; just different.
 
On to the in-laws around three.  Another delicious meal and gift exchange.  It was much more low key than previous years.  Once again, not bad; just different.
 
The next day, the 26th, was my birthday.  It was so special this year.  I got so many phone calls and an unexpected visit from a friend.  We had dinner with our bcf (best couple friends), too.  It’s become a tradition.
 
One extra special thing did happen.  We visited my in-laws along with Isabella and the girl on my bd.  Mom showed me a card and a gift wrapped so prettily.  She told me it was something old.  When I opened the package, there was her squash*blossom necklace and matching earrings!  I had admired it years ago and she remembered.  No newly purchased gift could have meant more to me.  My cup runneth over.  I feel truly loved.
 
As the Christmas season winds down, we will write 2009 instead of 2008 on our checks and whatnot.  But, as I’ve noted here before, it is not a new year.  Each day starts a new year.  If you mess up today you try again tomorrow.  Don’t be so hard on yourself if you don’t keep your "resolutions."  Resolve to be the best you can be for the moment.  This is a lesson that took me a long to time to learn – and I am still learning it.
 
Bless you, dear ones.  I wish you peace of mind.  gail
 
17 responses to “Christmas and Such

  1. Hello Gail!!!I know long time no see…..Sorry!!Wanted to thank you for your comments while I was kind out of blogland.I am happy you had a nice Christmas!I wish that the new year celebration is as good as your Christmas.I seize the occassion to wish you A HAPPY NEW YEAR 2009.Hugs to you and Isabella.Take care,Isa

  2. Sounds like you had a nice week! I am thankful that you are able to see the ‘good’ in ‘different’… so many people cannot. What an awesome gift from your mother – it’s nice to feel loved, huh? Have a wonderful New Day!!

  3. Sentimental gifts are always the best. Yes G, we must never stop learning, and most of all, we must remember the lessons we learn. Have a great time bringing in 2009. I’ll probably become accustomed to writing "09" around mid-March…..sigh!!! BTW, Patty’s birthday is the 30th. I’ve stopped counting mine.John

  4. I don’t do "New Years" resolutions.. I do them whenever the Lord moves me to do them… They’re useless without him, so why try on your own?LOL Sounds like you had a great holiday.. I pray peace over you and your household, as we turn a page on the calendar..hugs,Jean

  5. Wow — I am just seeing now that Himself is featured in TWO pictures !!! (I dont see the Persey’s mug anywhere in the pictures of him…) Just read your latest…glad you had a wonderful Christmas, we never lost power thru all the storms, that was mostly the north shore and the western part of the state. We tend to get less snow and ice because we are so close to the Cape. TY for thinking of me! My Christmas was also good, just different…very different now that I have a significant other to consider! We joined him and his girls in a new tradition – going to the movies Christmas night! It was so much fun!Happy BELATED b-day, I should have known of course, sorry about that. Blessings as you enjoy another year with Himself, your parents, your loving in-laws (oh how blessed you are having a mil that loves you!!), the Girl, the Boy, and Bells. Also, Happy New Year !! Hugs!! Lols

  6. Hello g,Belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Glad your Christmas was so good. May 2009 be even better for You & Yours. Peace & Blessings.rwc

  7. Happy Birthday plus 4! Sorry I missed it – doh! Sounds like you had a busy few days. Of course since you dissed my dog, I may have to rethink my good wishes… ha! If it wasn ‘t for P(I)A, I would probably have run away from home LONG ago.I hope you have a great new years… remember: lazy is good. Take it easy!

  8. Well, I see that Spaces hasn’t lost the little pink warning that says it can’t add my comment… but then DOES anyway… twice. Okay, I’m done complaining. :o)

  9. What a wonderful Christmas it sounds like you had. I’m sorry I didn’t know your birthday, but it’s filed away for next year. I surely would have added my good wishes. I had to stop making resolutions awhile ago. I have decide that this year, I will look for and/or make new opportunities. I’m just coming out of a stomach bug I developed/caught on Sunday afternoon. Swept me completely off my feet. Still feeling a little under the weather but better than I was. I haven’t been sick quite like that in awhile.Well, tomorrow is another day. Maybe I will get a chance to update and add some pictures.If I don’t get back by, I hope your New Year’s celebrations are as much of a pleasure as your Christmas sounds.Deb

  10. such a beautiful gift from your mother…♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

  11. I’m so glad you’ve had such a nice holiday season! I hope it continues on into the New year!That was so sweet of your mom to give you such a gift. It is amazing how much wonderful something like that can seem than something somebody spent oodles of bucks on only to be shoved in a closet indefinitely!Happy New year my friend,Amy

  12. I am so glad you had a wonderful holiday and please forgive me for wishing you a happy birthday so far after the fact. As you know, I have been wallowing in self-pity and I do appreciate you coming by and telling me that there weren’t going to be any pity parties.I myself had a wonderful holiday and even though the new year is going to be extremely quiet, I am bound and determined to enjoy it nonetheless. I will have my nephew and niece over here, so I won’t be lonely. I’m sure they wish they were somewhere else. :-)I’ll see you in the new year.BP

  13. Dear G, sooooo sorry I missed your birthday. oh dear…. so sorry. BUt I’d still like to wish you a very belated one. SO Happy Belated Birthday G. 🙂 Perhaps next blog, a photo of your necklace? :)We had a lovely CHristmas here. It’s always church in the morn and grannys in the evening. That place was really packed out…with her 10 children and grandchildren (us) and great grandchildren. Gift exchange was enjoyable for the children as it is every year. :)Happy New Year to you too! It’s 1 Jan 9:26 am here, while you’re waiting for your countdown to begin. I celebrated it in church this year. It was a grand celebration 🙂 , lots of presentations by the various language ministries (Tamil, Chinese, Malay and Phillipino, youth church and Eng service of course). Naturally, I was on the piano accompanying our church version of the 3 tenors. :)ok…it’s the 1st now, my kids are still sleeping, but in a while we’re gonna drive 2 hours towards a fruit farm. In it flows a lovely waterfall. Praying you’ll have a wonderful year ahead. God bless!hugs

  14. Oh yes, I am feeling much better. I had a super nice New Years Eve and am spending today being lazy. Just like previous New Year’s Day’s I have all these wonderful new idea’s for myself. But today is a day for puttering around, playing with Eric and just being lazy in general, due to my late night/morning??? Waaaaay past my usual bedtime. Thanks for thinking of me! Talk to you soon!Deb

  15. Hi g, I’m glad you had a good Christmas with your family. I got to visit with mine, but not all together, but was very nice, no pics posted yet. you and yours have a blessed New Year, hugs, AnnieD

Leave a Reply

