Getting There

 
Phew!  Had a rough couple of days there but am much better now.  Thanks for your kindnesses.
 
We are having an arctic blast here.  I know that is nothing compared to Minnesota, North Dakota and such but it is pretty rough for some.  Doesn’t bother me and I am so thankful for a warm home and health that allows me to go out if I need to.
 
I get such joy from hearing Bells play with Himself.  She laughs and he laughs and it makes everything a bit better.  "Gampa" was one of the first names she said.  Actually, I think it was the first name.  Since before she was born I’ve wanted her to call me "Nonna," the Italian word for grandmother.  However, she only refers to me as "Boo-boo."  I’ve called her that for a long time and she decided that is my name!  No matter how much I correct her she won’t budge.  Hey, as long as she calls me…….
 
Why Nonna?  Because I often want to be different.  When I sported a zebra print purse, my daughter was not pleased.  This was only last year!  When I got a couple of new purses, she said it was good that I could throw the zebra out.  I told her I was saving it for Bells to play with!  Ha!
 
Different is fun.  But not when you are a kid.  I remember crocheting a nose warmer when I was in grade school.  The next cold day I wore it to school and people stared and pointed and made fun.  I thought it was a great idea!  Kids are cruel out loud.  Adults talk behind your back.  Difference now is I hardly ever care.  Age is definately good for some things.
 
The poem "Warning" has been a favorite of mine for many years.  Now that the Red*H*t ladies have gotten a hold of it I am only one in a crowd.  However, I loved it before it was popular so…
 

Warning – When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple

By Jenny Joseph

 

When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple

with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

and satin candles, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired

and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

and run my stick along the public railings

and make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

and pick the flowers in other people’s gardens

and learn to spit.

 

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

and eat three pounds of sausages at a go

or only bread and pickles for a week

and hoard pens and pencils and beer nuts and things in boxes.

 

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

and pay our rent and not swear in the street

and set a good example for the children.

We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

Purple suits me.  blessings, g

9 responses to “Getting There

  1. Glad to hear you’re feeling much better today, as for the weather, this week is nothing remotely arctic in my part of the world which is strange for January – perhaps we cleverly pollute twice more than Montana & North Dakota combined just so we can have warm winters – it’s a theory, albeit not scientifically verified but a theory nonetheless. ;)Was the zebra print ever in fashion? he-he. :)t i m – http://511161774.blogspot.com/PS: I like Palin – doesn’t that come across, because it probably should. 🙂

  2. I’m glad to see you’re getting there. I am also.Once I get out of my funk, I’ll be as good as new. The main thing is that I am healthy, but mental health is also a big priority.Take care of yourself and of course all the other ones around.BPPS it has also been enjoying to have met you. It’s people like you that keep me coming back to Spaces despite all of the terrible changes they’ve made.

  3. When I was in my 20’s, I’d already made up my mind to resurrect punk in my old age – but punk won’t die!!!I’m discovering many perks to being 40+ – one of them is caring less about what people think. True freedom is there, I tell ya! Love you much!!!CL :)PS…my beloved LAMS Rooster is enroute…WOOHOO!!!

  4. I loved that poem before red h**ters got it, too.. I’m glad they did! My mom is a RH.. they do have fun.. I’ve pretty much never cared about being different. I don’t know why, but it was usually pretty much accepted from me. I guess I either wasn’t that different, or we all were..LOL Although I have always tried to be different. I’m glad you’re better. We got an unexpected blast of cold and snow! Well, the cold was expected. Just not the snow! I hope things are getting better with the kids..hugs,Jean

  5. Glad you are feelin better. I love that poem, too. Truthfully, I never gave up some of those things. Well, I don’t spit and I really don’t want to.I hope you have a fantastic weekend if I don’t make it back. It’s a 3-dayer for me! Woohoo!

  6. Hi Boo-Boo…Good to be back. Nice to have you visit and glad to read that fms has settled down too. I know there is a few of you who suffer from that pain.Come warm weather those red hat ladies start running, I mean shuffling about, Branson.Oh how I am ready for springtime.You all stay warm and be well…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

  7. hey G, just love that poem! :). Well, I’m not yet old, but I’m practicing some of the things already, and I don’t care. hahaha….hope the cold’s better. :)As for the tenor, he frequently forgets to speak to Nel in Chinese…and frequently is like 99% of the time. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

