Fooey or Fun Festivities

 
Do you love me because I am beautiful or am I beautiful because you love me?  Anonymous
 
It’s that time of year again – Valentine’s day.  Do you think it is just a "Hall*mark Holiday" or is it a true holiday?
 
"The way to  love anything is to realize that it might be lost."  G.K. Chesterton
 
One of the things I am guilty of is not daily appreciating the ones who love me and those I love.  "No regrets" is how I want to live.  Yet, the dirty looks and sarcastic comments flow from me!  Not as bad as it used to be but still there.  It’s time to regret less.  Hold me to that, will you?  Make me accountable.
 
"You will find as you look back upon your life that the moments when you have really lived are the moments when you  have done things in the spirit of love."  Henry Drummond
 
"To love at all is to be vulnerable."  C.S. Lewis
 
Vulnerability.  Being able to trust someone with your inner being.  A transparency that invites either total acceptance or partial or total rejection.  How many people can you actually trust like that?  I am blessed to have several.  Still, at times, it is difficult to "put myself out there" and feel safe.
 
"Do not waste time bothering whether you "love" your neighbor; act as if you did.  As soon as we do this we find one of the great secrets.  When you are behaving as if you loved someone you will presently come to love him."  C.S. Lewis
 
"Feelings" will mostly get you in trouble if you count on them exclusively to guide you.  Mr. Lewis had a great point.  Don’t believe it?  Try it.  Whole heartedly and I defy you to prove him, and me, wrong!
 
"This is how we know what love is:  Jesus Christ Laid down His life for us.  And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers."  1John 3:16
 
Do you love anyone enough to lay down your life for them?  (Not a Falderal question.  No need to answer.)
 
Now, time for the Falderal:
 
Do you believe in love at first sight?  Sometimes, when watching tv, my son will ask if I think a person is handsome or pretty.  I tell him that I can’t know without knowing them.  Sure, I appreciate a good looking person but if they are ugly on the inside it soon shows on the outside.  No.  I don’t believe in love at first sight.
 
How did you meet your honey or, if you don’t have a honey right now, your best friend?  Actually, I was unemployed and Himself was the branch manager of a company I interviewed at.  The rest, as they say, is history!  I’ll blog about it some time in more detail.
 
Do you think Valentine’s Day is a Hall*Mark Holiday (made up for commercial gain)?  Yes.  However, it is a good reminder to appreciate those we love.
 
Do you believe that Valentine’s Day can exist without quality chocolate?  Only in the most dire of cirumstances;)
 
Do you like receiving or giving flowers?  Truthfully,  I like the idea in theory but, in our particular situation, all I can of of is the cost for something that is going to make me sneeze and is going to die in a week! 
 
How about you?  Love to all, g
 
6 responses to “Fooey or Fun Festivities

  1. I believe in intrigue at first sight. Love, no.We originally met at a party at the house his girlfriend shared with my boyfriend. Years later he turned up as a roommate of a guy friend of mine. He made me a fabulous gourmet seafood dinner and here we are 25 years later. I loved ValDay as a kid but something’s changed over the years. Seems much too commercial.ValDay without chocolate??? No way!I’m luke warm on flowers. If flowers are involved I would prefer they are a long-lasting colorful bouquet – not short-lived, routine roses.Hope you have a good weekend, G! I’m off for a few days of desert hiking.

  2. Love at first sight: I believe it when people who have been married for decades say that it was love at first sight for them. I met my Best Friend when I was polluted in my own blood, sin, and filth. He picked me up, He was not grossed out at the sight of me, and He made me His own. Jesus is my best friend and the true love of my life. I think that if a person treats the one they supposedly love badly and then seeks to make up for it in one day, the holiday is meaningless. But if it’s a day of cherishing the one you love every day, then, yes, it can be a very special day.Valentine’s Day without chocolate: I completely concur with you, G!I love flowers any kind, any way, any time they come. Most of the time they grow in my yard, but it’s a romantic gift from Above in my eyes….

  3. Well I managed to somehow find my way back here again. I miss seeing you almost every day but am glad to catch up again now.Life has been pretty crappy here in many ways, but in other ways its also been beautiful, even though you need to peer deeply to find the beauty. Still I will take it.We never made a really big deal out of Valentine’s Day and will make even less of one this year. It will only be 2/14 to me so I will pass on the questions this time around… I am however sending lots of love your way! : )

  4. I can honestly say I don’t remember celebrating this day with my Frau. We discussed it last year and she has as much disdain for the made-up holiday as I do. It’s more important for me to purchase little things every now and then than it is to do so on a day which other people have decreed we should do so.Having said that, I hope you have a nice Valentine’s Day. In all sincerity.BPI shouldn’t be letting my feelings about the day dampen anyone else’s enthusiasm.

  5. Hi there, hope you had a nice Valentine’s Day…..I spent it at church for several hours with fellowship and food. No date but read my update to find out more…..lol. Enjoying this nice long weekend. Take care and enjoy what’s left of the weekend. (PS Would love to read the detailed story of how you met your DH.)

Leave a Reply

