Chocolate Cures Common Cold!

 
Now that I have your attention, ahem, I have a recipe to share with you.  I wanted to post it for Valentine’s day but wouldn’t without the cookbook author’s permission.
 
Nick Malgieri is my baking hero.  I own two of his books, Chocolate and Cookies and have not been disappointed by either.  If you want more of a biography feel free to click on his name (in red) to visit his site.  Suffice it to say that I have been a baker for a long time and I know a good thing when I see it (I am "frugal" and rarely buy cookbooks).
 
When the food*network had a show where you wrote in to make your culinary dream came true, I tried to win a day with Nick to learn some of the finer methods of his craft.  Alas, the show was cancelled.  Oh, well.
 
Grand-Maman’s Chocolate Cake
Makes one 8-inch round cake, about 8 servings.
 
3 large eggs
3/4 cup sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, very soft
4 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled (not Baker’s chocolate – use a chocolate you would eat plain)
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
Confectioners’ sugar for finishing
 
One 8-inch round cake pan, 2 inches deep, buttered and lined with parchment or wax paper
 
1.  Set a rack at the middle level of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.
 
2.  In an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment (I don’t have a whisk attachment but have good results), whip eggs and sugar on medium speed for 4 to 5 minutes, until very light and increased in volume (don’t skimp on the time).  Whip in the butter, then the chocolate, beating until smooth after each addition.
 
3. Remove the bowl from the mixer and use a rubber spatula to fold in the flour by hand.  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.
 
4. Bake the cake about 30 minutes, until well risen and still moist in the very center.
 
5. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then invert onto a rack to cool.  When cool, peel off the paper and slide onto a platter.  Dust with confectioners’ sugar just before serving.
 
Serving:  This plain cake is great with any kind of ice cream accompaniment (I like it by itself!).
Storage:  Keep the cake at room temperature under a cake dome or wrap and freeze for longer storage (I use plastic wrap or foil for leftovers – if there are any.)
 
You can, of course, use a hand mixer if that is what you have.
 
When you serve this cake, its looks will not encourage great expectations as it is plain (I don’t even bother with the confectioners’ sugar).  With one bite, your guests will be in awe with your baking genius!
 
Please let me know if you give it a try.  Enjoy!  gail
 
 
 
8 responses to “Chocolate Cures Common Cold!

  1. Man…all this food up in blogland lately….and I can’t quite use my mouth well enough to eat any of it! grrrr…

  2. I can’t even read this without getting hungry.I wish I knew what you meant about not having time. My problem is I don’t have the energy lately.On a separate topic, I knew I had conservative friends, but I didn’t know I had ones that listen to Glenn Beck. I mean, Glenn Beck? :-)It’s nice to know we can be friends despite our political outlooks.I’ll be back later to check on your next entry.BP

  3. ok now I’m salivating, see what you’ve done :)I’m doing alright, thanks for checking in on me. I’m just taking it a little easy of late by doing everything in moderation. I miss reading my favourite blogs & writing my own stuff so I hope to resume my blogging duties soon enough.t i m – http://511161774.blogspot.com/

  4. Hey, there’s a few Health Food stores here in Jax. The one I go to is called ‘Native Sun’, everything there is organic and gluten free! :-)Adrian

  5. Hey~After reading the comments, I want to say that I also listen to Glen Beck. And Sean Hannity and Rush. There are others, but just know that I’m not a liberal.I’m not a very good baker. I’m famous for adding something or changing something. I just can’t seem to follow directions!Have a good one~xoxoDana

  6. g you are amazing — LOL!I read the following in my comments:"I am on my second day of sugar detox. I was so out of control! Hope it works."and find this blog when I visit. No wonder you are on a sugar detox. It made it to 40 degrees today! Rumor has it that we will be in the 50’s this weekend.Have a great afternoon!Deb

  7. Just wanted to stop by and thank you for telling me about the 2 books. ("The Shack" and "This Present Darkness") They sounded intriguing so I ordered them and have finished reading them. Amazing! I’m passing them around and we are all left breathless. Thanks for sharing their impact with me, we need to pass on things like these! Have a great weekend, g. -cindy

Leave a Reply

