Where My Heart Is

 
April is National Autism Awareness Month.  The only thing that will take away the stigma is education.  For a start, you can click here.
 
Isabella is diagnosed as PDD-NOS or Pervasive Developmental Disorder – not otherwise specified.  Basically, she has some of the symptoms of autism but is not in any exisiting category.  As far as we can tell, hers is a mild case.  Only time will tell.  We love her so much and that doesn’t change.  Our love only grows.
 
I have learned so much these past couple of years.  Isn’t it a shame that we tend to research only what is close to us?  Then again, we can’t study every condition – that would be impossible.  I can only hope that people would be sensitive when a child (or anyone for that matter) is different.  No staring or judgement.  No one can know theeir reality.
 
Bless you all.  I am on a one person crusade to increase activity here on spaces.  love, gail
 
 
7 responses to “Where My Heart Is

  1. hi again, have answered your comment on my space, but I join in your crusade, I would love to see spaces as it use to be. having said that, my friends on here, have been and are a great help and encouragement to me. thoughts with you and isabella – I have an interest in this condition and I am going to click on your link, take care, hugs – nita

  2. I say the same thing regarding Isabella that I said regarding my son’s diagnosis of mild-to-high-functioning Asperger’s Syndrome: Luke is fearfully and wonderfully made, and he is my blessing from Above!Crusades away!!! 🙂

  3. I, too, wish it were a bit ‘busier’ here, altho I am partly to blame, for being absent so often! I also understand about your Isabella… I am quite convinced that Kiki suffers from minor OCD, and it is such a hard thing to explain to others…. even my husband, at this point. I haven’t said much to anyone outside of family at this point, since I don’t want my child "labeled"…..

  4. I don’t necessarily think it’s a shame, I just think it’s reality. I know I didn’t know anything about quadriplegia until it came knocking rather rudely one afternoon.I hope everything is going okay. Take care and please remember you and your family are in my thoughts.

  5. Good morning my friend — I agree that things have been slow lately. Like Ann, I also am partly to blame. Where I used to blog just about everyday, I now see a trend toward once a week. One reason I guess for lately is that I hate so much to come on and blog about (1) the same old stuff everyday, (2) how hard it is to adjust to getting older, missing Eric, missing my kids.I’m not much liking myself lately, but have been taking steps to drag myself out of the muck. It’s working and similiar to the Spring weather we are having, I feel myself coming back to life again.So how is Bells doing at school – still adjusting well? Eric is on vacation this week so Nikki has been busy keeping him occupied. I’m taking off today at 2:30 to watch him as she has to be to work early. She didn’t have to ask twice and I said yes before she got the whole question out.Count on me being around more often — I miss it here, and so appreciate you stopping by my poor neglected space. Have a fabulous Friday, and I’ll check back for the Falderal..Deb

Leave a Reply

