Feckless or Fruitful

 
My kid brother, J, has long been considered a genius.  The internet IQ (intelligence quotient) tests top out at 180 and that was his score.  Another IQ test measured, I believe 184.  (The average IQ is around 100 and, according to what I have researched, Albert Einstein is thought to have had an IQ of 160.)  Wanting to see if he is truly as smart as he thinks he is he took the Mensa test and confirmed it; 98-99th percentile.
 
No, his head is not shaped like The Brain  or Elmer Fudd .  Actually, he’s a very good looking guy – tats and all.
 
While J’s IQ is higher than mine, I know that I am not dumb.  My intelligence was always a point of pride.  Then, it happened:  my memory just isn’t what it used to be. 
 
Early onset Alzheimer’s?  No.  Perimenopause?  Partly.  Stress?  Partly.  Getting older?  Yes.  My brain is full?  Not quite.
 
Whatever the reason, I was so very upset.  Then I realized it was a blessing in a way.  No longer did I feel I had to have all the answers.  When people look to me for an answer, I don’t have to have it!
 
Now, it is bothering me again.  My friend, A, tells me not to analyze it.  If God wants me to know the answer He will tell me (I’ve been thinking it may be a spiritual attack).
 
In Ecclesiastes, Solomon states, "Meaningless!  Meanlingless!…Utterly meaningless!  Everthing is meaningless!"  Throughout the book, Solomon seeks the answer to what truly matters in life.
 
His conclusion:
"Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion  of the matter:
Fear God and keep His commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.  For God will bring every deed into judgement including every hidden thing, whether it is good or evil."
 
If I do good deeds or use my intelligence for a thumbs from the world it is meaningless. Unless I do it in God’s name and for His pleasure, not mine, I might as well stay home. 
 
Every gift or special talent we have such as artistic, linguistic, "love, joy, peace, patience, kindness goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control,"(Galations 5:22, 23), wisdom, strength, everything is a gift from God.  "Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other."  (Galations 5:26)
 
I can not boast about any talent I might have because it is not mine other than that God entrusted it to me for His glory!
 
Whether or not my memory becomes acute again, I must trust that God is in control.  In the meantime, I will try to use my other gifts, through the spirit and in the name of Jesus Christ to further His kingdom.
 
What special talent do you have?  Come on.  Everyone has at least one.  I can roll my tongue like an oyster shell.  I’m very good at writing eulogies.  Oh, and I can sing and harmonize.
 
What special talent would you like to have?  Once again, I want to learn to play the piano.
 
Were you "forced" by your parents to take music lessons when you were a kid?  No.  We didn’t have the money for that.  However, my mom found it in the budget for me to take flute lessons in school for a while.
 
What is something you used to do that you would like to take up again?  Maybe skiing.  Driving very fast – that would have to be on a track, though.  I love to put the pedal to the metal!
 
What were you "born" doing?  Asking questions.  Lots and lots of questions and I haven’t stopped since.
 
Thanks for the prayers for my m-i-l.  She is recuperating slowly but surely from her surgery. 
 
Have a wonderful weekend and ponder your special gifts…..g
 
9 responses to “Feckless or Fruitful

  1. I was born blabby!!!!!!Yep, that’s it.The memory thing has to do with the fact we have so much stored up there in that gray matter. Eventually one has to delete Herbert Hoover’s hat size LOL

  2. Got to love your sense of humor incorporated into a spiritual post. You do have a talent for writing my friend. My IQ was very high but don’t know how well I would fare on the test if taken today. Long term memory remains strong (education etc.) but short term is fading fast….faint grin!!* I suppose my strongest special talent is an inherent ability to read people via body language. * Always wanted to be able to play the guitar well enough to make a living.* No music lessons but I was forced to take ballroom dancing…..it didn’t work…..two left feet have I.* I was born playing sports and shooting rifles.Hope you know your extended family remains in my prayers. BTW, I can sing bass.John

  3. Great post! My memory is fading really fast.. If I don’t commit it to memory or write something down, I’ll have no idea that I’ve forgotten something. I still know what the car key is for and I can remember put something back where it belongs. But for those everyday monotonous chores or short conversations, count me out.I usually score somewhere between 140-150 on IQ tests. Did OK in school although I never studied anything. My special talent? I’m very, very dependable. If I tell you I’ll do something, I’ll do it even if it nearly kills me. Boring, huh?What talent would I like to have? To be able to sing.Music lessons? I got the horses and my older sister got the music lessons.What was I born to do? Minister to animals. Sounds stupid, but from about the time I was old enough to walk, I would smuggle chickens (those destined for dinner) and wounded birds and animals into the house. Granny would help me fix them up. From the time I can remember, all I ever wanted to be was a vet.Hope this week goes better for you~xoxoDana

  4. Hi Gail,Hope you are well and your mother in law is having a successful recovery. I’ve noticed that since I became a mother, since I got pregnant the first time actually, my mind is not what is used to be. I’m much more scatterbrained…I think I just have way too much going on at any one time. Those kids are rascals I tell ya!What special talent do you have? This sounds totally ridiculous, but I am very good at getting people to tell me there whole life story the first time they meet me. Within minutes they are telling me their deepest, darkest secrets…usually followed by, "I don’t know why I’m telling you this." If I had a special talent I guess that would be it. What special talent would you like to have? I’d love to play an instrument. Were you "forced" by your parents to take music lessons when you were a kid? Not forced. What is something you used to do that you would like to take up again? Knitting, Crocheting, Sewing… What were you "born" doing? Laughing. I love to laugh. 🙂

  5. they say IQ of sibblings are usually not very diff, probably a diff of just 5 points. :)but memory, ah, that is a diff thing altogether…. I retook an IQ test recently, coz i was beginning to doubt myself after finding my memory somewhat bad these days. I think lotsa things affect our memory, stress, lack of sleep, worries, too many things crowding the mind, hurrying… etc etc etc.but then again…. (sorry this is just rambling) after attending several programs and reading books on gifted children (coz someone told me my children were gifted), i began to wonder if I should really place great emphasis on that? I mean, teh parents I met were so into their children because of giftedness…they seemed almost obsess with this IQ thing as if their children were above everyone else’s (though they deny thinking that..you see it in their talk and walk.) I was alitte obsessed with that at one point.lately…..my thinking’s diff. my thinking is the emotional development of my child, the feelings of security my child needs…and most of all, are we living God’s ways, and obeying His commandments. THe world is gonna go along the lines of IQ, money, status to feel good…. but I hope I can bring my children to know that their worth lies in God, that they are loved no matter what.I’ve rambled a long way away from your topic haven’t i? haha….well bottom line G, we are loved andb lessed, simply because of our Heavenly Father’s love and mercy for us. God bless…and hugs.

  6. Gail, can you tell me how to get the "Tools" to appear on my space so my friends can see when I’ve updated? Don’t know who else to ask……thanks.John

  7. Hi Gail,Great Blog, I believe you came to the right conclusion… I get told I’m intelligent by others but never feel a need to tell anyone that or to take one of those I.Q. tests… My mum alaways says, that there are a lot of "educated fools" out there and I’m beginning to see what she means.As for helping your memory, get your sleep when you need it as well as the usual, good food and exercise…Try and do some research into the herb Ginko Biloba…see what you think…In answer to your question, I think we all have many talents and gifts… on a natural and spiritual level.Have a great weekend.

  8. Hey! I’d coment more often, but you know how I ramble on and on. You’d wind up spending all your free time just reading the comments. Seriously, I do mean to comment more frequently, but while reading other’s comments, I hop over to their space and just plain forget to come back to you.I told that memory thing you mentioned, ya know?xoxoDana

Leave a Reply

