Fairly Fun Falderal

 
As you may or may not recall, Isabella calls me Booboo.  As of today, I am her class Booboo!  My friend, M, didn’t think it was fair that Bells’ class, which her son is in, didn’t have a class parent so she volunteered.  Well, where M goes g goes!  I was so happy to be a part of their halloween party.  (I guess the parent association didn’t think kids with autism needed to have class parents.  They never met M!)The Dread Pirate Bella
 
Personally, I don’t like halloween.  It’s darkness disturbs my soul.  People are always telling me to lighten up and get into the spirit of it.  Problem is the "spirit" of it is not the spirit of God.  If it is not the Spirit of God the only thing left is an ugly spirit; the spirit of darkness. 
 
If anyone rings our bell I will hand out the bags of pretzels we bought and will be properly appreciative of the creativity involved in dressing the children up.  I will not, however, get into the "spirit" of this day we call halloween.
 
Do you ‘celebrate’ halloween?  See above.
 
Do you hand out treats?  Last year and this year we decided to hand out bags of pretzels to be a little less sugary.  Some years I was a grinch and didn’t have anything but I realized I wasn’t being a light to people.
 
Did you get the "Dread Pirate" reference I made?  Have you ever seen Princess Bride? You would have to have to get the reference!
 
What is your favorite holiday?  Any day I decide to have family over just because.  I am not a big fan of "calendar" holidays.  They stress us all out too much.
 
Anyone want to plan to not be around for the holidays (Thanksgiving and Christmas) with me?  We can make plans!
 
Here’s hoping all is well with you.  Let me know about customs where you are.  g
 
6 responses to “Fairly Fun Falderal

  1. no, I dont celebrate hallowen, but I was starting to think I was the only one who didnt. I agee the spirit of it , is not the spirit of god and I dont like the darkness of it either. a few pumpkins are okay, but the other stuff, no thank you – I dont agree with trick or treat, because it is an excuse to threaten people – ah well off my soapbox now, have a good weekend. god bless – nita

  2. Bella is so very very sweet and cute G. Its sure not hard to read how very proud you are of her. Im not a big fan of Halloween . I sure used to be but as time has gone on I think the same way you do to some respect. I dont have many kids that come around anymore as where I live is out of the way. We think alot alike as I have read this blog. Stay warm . It has to be winter there as well.Hugs my Dear FriendLisa

  3. Do you ‘celebrate’ halloween? No. And my parents didn’t allow us to go trick or treating also. We lived out in the country and there were miles between houses. Was at a women’s retreat for Halloween this year. Do you hand out treats? No. I don’t answer my door. Did you get the "Dread Pirate" reference I made? Have you ever seen Princess Bride? You would have to have to get the reference! No I haven’t seen the Princess Bride. What is your favorite holiday? Christmas, of course. Anyone want to plan to not be around for the holidays (Thanksgiving and Christmas) with me? We can make plans! LOL….I’ve always wanted to spend Christmas in NYC. Or at least visit during the holidays…..not necessarily on Christmas day.Thanks for the helpful comments. I responded back……: )

  4. Do I celebrate halloween? Mostly, no. I used to be staunchly no. I haven’t dressed up in costume for it since I became born again. I noticed this year I was less bugged by the whole thing. Maybe that’s just because I’ve had bigger fish to fry lately?At work, the kids from the Education center come to the office, and we hand out treats. I haven’t lived in a neighborhood with kids that come knocking on the door, so, no. But I don’t object to giving the kids the loot they come to collect…just hasn’t worked out is all.I DID!!! Dread Pirate Roberta, LOL!Favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. No gifts to buy. Just cook, gather folks round, give thanks to God, and EAT! Now, that’s my kinda holiday!Well….??? I love both holidays, soooo….

  5. No, I do not celebrate Halloween now that I understand its’ history etc. But, love Christmas! what a wonderful holiday :)Adrian

Leave a Reply

