Catching Up

Well, daylight savings gave us an extra hour of light today. It was nice but what a drag for the moms trying to get their kids to go to bed on time; especially special needs kids who have issues with melatonin. Oy.

The annual walk for Autism Speaks is coming up soon. I am overwhelmed with even thinking about putting it all together again: sponsors, contributors, walkers, t-shirts – ugh! Will anyone else step up to be Team Isabella’s team leader? Nah ah. Double oy.

My mother-in-love is not doing well. Having my father-in-law around until he was nearly 95 makes me think Mom’s 85 years is young but that is not the truth. Congestive heart failure and bad arthritis make her so uncomfortable. We all want her around for as long as possible but have to accept reality; life is frail. Oy, oy, oy. At least my parents are in great health. Phew.

I am pleased to report that Isabella is still progressing more than she is regressing. She actually recited the eleven months of the year whilst clapping! (She left out November.) It is thrilling to see that she is learning things that neurotypical children her age are learning. We had a phone conversation earlier that made more sense than any other we have ever had. She was able to relate to the fact that tomorrow is a school day. Me: “Tomorrow is Monday, Boo.” Bells: “I know that.” Hooray!

Yesterday was about the 28th year (less the three they moved out of state) I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with my bff and her husband. The corned beef, cabbage, potatoes and soda bread were good but the company was great. I have been blessed with a number of people I can call “friend.” So many of them are around for only a season. However, L is the one who I know will always be in my life. Another hooray!

Living in this part of the great Atlantic northeast is very expensive. Himself wants us to make plans to move to a state we can afford to live in. Leaving my grandbaby behind is not an option as far as I am concerned. The Girl doesn’t want to move. What to do? Hope God gives us perfect wisdom on this. It’s so hard.

Well, that’s about it for now. What’s up in your life?

blessings, g

3 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Hi Gail,

    Yes this daylight savings time always messes me up too. It’s going to be so hard to get up in the AM. Hawaii doesn’t do daylight savings time. Yet another reason to move back there. Maryland isn’t a reasonably priced area to live either. Missouri is…..just some suggestions….:D But I hope you can find a way to stay near Isabella. So good to hear she is doing so well! : )

    Have a great week!

  2. It’s really nice to hear she is doing well. Right now there isn’t that much going on down here. The weather is pretty warm, but that’s normal for Florida.

    I’m having a little bit of it time adjusting myself. Motivation seems to be the biggest problem I’m having presently. People don’t seem to be blogging as much and frankly I don’t seem to be as enthused about it either. I don’t particularly care for Facebook, but I do go there every now and then. I have been reading quite a bit more, but I really need to do something a little more productive.

    • It’s so good to hear from you, Billy. I miss the blogging community a lot. Oh, well. Hope to see some writing from you soon! gail btw, how is your dad doing?

Leave a Reply

