Ho, ho, no – Not

It’s that time of the year again. The time when a jolly, old elf dressed in red passes the space/time continuum to visit all little girls and boys around the world leaving them gifts their little hearts have been yearning for.

Not.

This time of year is supposed to be a celebration of God becoming man so that we might never be able to say to God, “You just don’t understand!” He became human so that He would become a sacrifice so that we might live with Him forever, sins forgiven.

Every time I see a Santa or a Simpson decoration on a lawn it pierces my heart. When I asked my precious granddaughter what Christmas is and she said it is a time for presents; when I told her it is Jesus’ birthday and she was horrified and said, “No!” my soul was screaming out at the lies our children are told!

I will never go against parents’ wishes and tell a child that there is no Santa Claus. Indeed, if they have Santa as a “by the way” and have a Christ-centered message, fine. However, I could not tell my children there is a Santa. I explained about Nicholas and his generosity. My daughter, whose father was big into Santa, tried to get me to believe. My husband wanted to do Santa but we didn’t and my son says he never missed it. Actually, when he was around eleven, a friend of his was very angry that his mother had lied to him by teaching him Santa is real!

After discussing Christmas with my friends, I find that we agree that we would all have a wonderful time with the season if gifts were not involved. I can not afford to buy anything right now. Himself is willing to go into debt to make sure our children have something under the tree and we will get something for Isabella. Why do we have to have this pressure?

Now that I have spouted my Christmas phooey, may I now wish for you that the wonder, beauty and sacrifice of Christmas will be the center of your celebration.

Blessings from my home to yours, g

3 responses to “Ho, ho, no – Not

  1. Because he had a problem with what was real and what was not real, I told our son, Glenn, the truth about Santa when he was almost 6. I told him it was a secret between him and me. He walked into school the next morning and told everyone what I had told him. Children burst into tears and said he was wrong. The teacher called the principal and he told the class Glenn was wrong, Santa is real. I learned a lot that day; old habits die hard and Glenn can’t keep a secret.

  2. We decided to tell Kiki the truth – we told her about St. Nicholas, and how the story sort of morphed from there, but how Santa isn’t “real”. We never wanted her to question the “realness” of Jesus or wonder if we’d told her the truth about Him. The funny thing is that somewhere along the line she decided on her own to believe in him anyway! For several years we “did” Santa… writing him a letter, getting a gift just from him… it’s like she knew the truth but enjoyed “believing” in the magic of it. It’s really pretty sweet. (in fact, this year she still wants Santa to get a gift for “H” – her fave stuffie she’s had for 10 years!! don’t tell her I told you that, though!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

