Chicken Soup for the Cold

Despite the fact I have a chronic illness (fibromyalgia), I rarely get sick. An occasional stomach or headache maybe but I haven’t had the flu for maybe seventeen years.

On Wednesday, I started feeling under the weather. Thursday, I knew I was in for it. By Friday, a cold was full blown. I didn’t want to talk because it caused a coughing jag.

One of the last things I wanted to hear on Thursday was, “What’s for dinner?” (Can you ask who, besides Isabella, asked?) In my head I might have said, “What do you think, you idiot?” However, I had defrosted something that was easy to broil.

On Friday, leftovers were the only choice I gave.

Now Saturday, I was intrigued by a recipe for chicken soup a school mate I had caught up with on facebook offered and I was willing to work through the yuck to make it.

Roast a whole chicken at a high heat for twenty or thirty minutes to render out fat and increase flavor. Put the chicken into a pot with cold water, fresh peppercorns and dill, salt, carrots, onions and garlic. (I had to use dried peppercorns and dill and also added celery.) Simmer, I repeat simmer for several hours. I advise putting the pepper corns in cheese cloth, if at all possible, if you don’t strain your soup. Straining is the norm.

This is one of the best chicken soups I have ever eaten! I confess I added a bit of boxed chicken stock because it was already open in the refrigerator and I didn’t want it to spoil. Add a bit of orzo and it is so satisfying.

Now it is Sunday and I am about 57% better and I do believe I owe it all to what we call “Jewish penicillin,” chicken soup! Studies have shown that it truly helps one feel better. Research it and you will see that I am right!

Isn’t it wonderful that God has given us foods that help us when we are sick? Also, herbs and such to help keep us healthy?

Have a wonderful week. Blessings, g

3 responses to “Chicken Soup for the Cold

  1. I agree. I always keep a few cans of homestyle chicken soup on hand. But your chicken soup sounds so yummy. It’s just that when I’m sick I don’t feel up to cooking much. Good to hear you are feeling better!

  2. when we’re sick here, chicken soup is the way to go too. only we don’t roast it. We boil it for a while, throw the first stock away. Then boil again, add peppercorns, onions, carrots, radish, potatoes, salt and let boil for several hours. always good to have soup when sick. đŸ™‚ hope you’re better G.

Leave a Reply

