Breaking Up is Hard to Do

No, not Himself and me. We are moving and moving is not for the faint of heart. We have been in our house for over nineteen years but it has become too expensive for us to be home “owers.”

Today, a friend helped me go through some things that were stored in the boiler room/basement. Everything is being divided into keep/donate/toss. After forty-five minutes, we had three garbage bags full and enough dust to keep us sneezing.

Overwhelmed doesn’t even begin to explain how I am feeling. There is so much to do and so little time to do it (closing date is April 23rd). Even so, I am happy to be purging. The older I get the less clutter I want around me. Local friends, stop laughing! I know I tend to have a clutter problem but I am trying to reform!

A very important tip I want to impart to you is to not allow a spouse who is over sentimental to be a part of the purging. Himself doesn’t want to get rid of ANYTHING! We have black bags so he can’t see what is being thrown out.

If I could give one piece of advice it would be to never bring something new into your home without getting rid of something else. If you haven’t used it in a year get rid of it. If you don’t love it get rid of it. Oh, that was three pieces of advice. All three will help you to not have the overwhelming task I now face.

One of the biggest gifts my mother ever gave to my siblings and me was to get rid of everything in the ways mentioned above. She had seen a relative die and leave a mess of a home for the kids to take care of and she didn’t want her children to go through the same.

Another thing Mom and Dad did was to make advanced directives and living wills and to give us copies. They have told us what they want done after their deaths (cremation, no wake) and chose the child they thought would be able to handle the estate the best to be executor of their wills. When their times come, we won’t have any guess work.

Don’t make the mistakes I have made. Streamline your “stuff” and don’t let it take over your life!

Blessings all, g

7 responses to “Breaking Up is Hard to Do

  1. Moving can be so overwhelming. I know, I have moved to many times in my life time. I agree with your tips Gail. I have always donated items I do nor use in a year, and if not worth donating they went to the dump. But it seems that my spare bedroom since April moved out 11 years ago has become a storage room for other family members belongings.
    I know this is an emotional time for you and himself and I’m praying that God will fill you with His peace and comfort you during the transition. Know that this is a new beginning for your family and many more beautiful and lasting memories are to be made in your new home. I feel God has great things in store for you and himself.
    Love you my sweet sister. You hold very special place in my heart. Prayers being lifted up for you and your family. Warm hugs….

  2. I hope your moving all goes smoothly. It will simplify your life so much not to have all of that “stuff” around. It kind of feels refreshing too as you see the clutter getting less and less. Hopefully in your new place you can start fresh and clutter free!

  3. Gail, I think we all have that to keep things in that they say so much as to who were are and where we have been , yet I agree. Throw it or donate it if its just sitting making life harder to deal with. I know this one. Take it easy on yourself. Its your life in those bags so be gentle yet let go. And I may open a blog here. Tossing the idea. Too many photos to hang on too and I miss so much this creative outlook. Loved your blog by the way
    Hugs and Luv.

  4. I need to forward this to my husband. ;P Slowly, steadily you will get through it G. Times are tough, but we know GOd has you in HIs hands. We’re all keeping you in prayer G. Hugs

  5. Here’s hoping your job of purging will get easier and not so overwhelming. I feel for you. It was nice to move every few years when I was married to an Army man. Now I have been in the same place almost 10 years. I have purged a lot but so much more to do before I go back to work. Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

