Oy Vey

One of my Jewish friends agrees that I am more Jewish than she is. I love Israel and Judaism!

A favorite expression is “oy vey” which is often shortened to “oy.” Oy vey is Yiddish (a combination of Hebrew and German) and short for “Oy vey iz mir,” Oh, woe is me! It can also express excitement.

What a perfectly wonderful expression! It expresses what I need to say when I have no other words.

Thank you, Children of Israel, for providing this Gentile with such a colorful expression!

What expression do you use all the time?

5 responses to “Oy Vey

  1. I love Israel and Judaism, too. Had the supreme joy of going to Israel in December. Loved every minute of that trip with a small group of Christians, led by a Christian with Educational Opportunity Tours.
    I love the honest and sincerity of your blog.

Leave a Reply

